Art under the Midnight Sun

Anonim

Reading time 5 minutes

The Kaurismäki brothers filmmakers found in the Arctic city of Sodankylä the ideal setting to bring the Midnight Sun Festival to life .

It is two o'clock in the morning in Sodankylä, it is summer, and in this city of Lapland findlanlesa to 120 kms. the Arctic Circle in summer does not set the sun. What better scenario to celebrate a summer film festival?

This was thought by Mika Kaurismäki established in Brazil and author among other Amazon and Tigrero films, and her brother Aki who, in the wide filmography that Le Havre directed , Lights at Sunset and his latest work, The Other Side of Hope, awarded by SIGNIS (World Catholic Association for Communication) for the best European film 2017 and for the Berlin International Film Festival (2017) for best director.

'Le Havre', by los hermanos Kaurismäki

'Le Havre', by the Kaurismäki brothers © Alamy

Together with the late director-historian Peter von Bagh, a writer of about twenty books, such as The History of World Cinema (1975) and director of the Film Library of Finland, they founded the festival in 1985 .

Curiously and contrary to what might be expected, the germ of the festival was fertilized in November, around four o'clock in the morning, when through the bar window where brothers Kaurismäki and Peter von Bagh had their usual drinks, showed the sadness of a bleak landscape.

At that dark moment they came up with the idea "Let's set up a Film Festival!" inviting filmmakers for those who felt frank admiration, so from the beginning a special bond was established.

Sodankylä

Landscapes of Sodankylä © Getty Images

The truth is that shortly after the festival began, the relaxed atmosphere of Sodankylä was transmitted, making each edition more attractive to the world of celluloid. When years ago, the guests took the railway from Helsinki to Sodankylä, on the same train some films chosen for the festival were projected and when they arrived in the Lappish city they were all friends.

Sodankylä is very small . It is not difficult to walk down the street named after famous directors and end up chatting with one of them.

The festival program involves the old and the new . The timeless masterpieces of veteran filmmakers are presented alongside the most exciting films of contemporaries. It also includes new Finnish productions, children's films and premieres ; a total of 80 films presented in more than 100 screenings . In conclusion, morning conversations are held with the main guests.

Que la taiga nos acompañe

May the taiga be with us © Alamy

The Festival, already its 33rd edition, is increasingly known and visited . There have paraded figures such as Francis Ford Coppola, Samuel Fuller, Carlos Saura, Fernando Trueba, or Julio Medem . In four rooms, one of them a circus tent, the chosen selection of films in a relaxed atmosphere, nothing of red carpets, are projected during the twenty-four hours of four days, continuing with the general tonic of Finnish art in all areas, whose premise is creativity as an approach to people.

One of the expected was The Ring (silent film by Alfred Hitchcock 1928) with the accompaniment of the award-winning foley artists, Heikki Kossi, Nicolas Becker and Peter Albrechtsen who achieved a unique climax.

The idea of ​​the Sing Along during the screening of the Yellow Submarine of the Beatles could not be more successful. The large audience welcomed the karaoke with euphoria and the Beatles songs were cheered before leaving the tent and at two in the morning walk to the lake to say goodbye and receive at the same time that sun that before bed is already coming out of new.

SUOMI AND SAMI ART IN LAPON FORESTS

The name of Lapland alone evokes lush forests and endless lakes. However, this lonely scenario hides a creativity that in the past has made Finland famous, becoming its hallmark. Suomi and Sami flaunt their talent with the brushes and inspiration of the excellent nature that surrounds them.

Near the city of Posio, on the shores of a lake, Anu Pentik, the queen of ceramics in Finland, who turned the Timisjärvi reindeer farm into an artist's refuge and turned Posio into an international ceramic reference that today welcomes the Arctic Ceramic Center and is home to international symposia.

Tuula-Majja Magga-Helta lives in the town of Vuotso and belongs to the Northern Sami as they show the colors of her dress, although married to a Sami Inari. She is small, dark hair, very white skin and full of love and humor when she tells how her husband built the wooden house where they live, why the designs of those tapestries woven by her, to finally sing a Thanks to life song accompanied by an oval drum made with reindeer skin.

A shared publication of Arctic Ceramic Center (@ arctic.ceramic.centre) on 2 Aug, 2016 at 11:57 PDT

The Sami Inari reindeer craft and farm shop is the ideal complement to understand the Sami universe a little more and observe the beautiful objects made with Lapp materials in which the reindeer antler and its skin predominate.

Design House Idoli in Ivalo is another beautiful surprise hidden in the thicket of the shore of Lake Inari (as large as Belgium) where the marriage Hanneli and Pekka Sillfors fulfilled their dream 20 years ago creating a concept of Gourmet Gallery that combines the best of Finnish design and gastronomy.

In his beautiful gallery creations of famous designers Suomi and Sami rub shoulders with those of those who begin and deserve a place on their shelves.

Kunst unter der Mitternachtssonne | Natur 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 5 Minuten

Die Filmemacher der Brüder Kaurismäki fanden in der arktischen Stadt Sodankylä den idealen Rahmen, um das Mitternachtssonnenfestival zum Leben zu erwecken .

Es ist zwei Uhr morgens in Sodankylä, es ist Sommer und in dieser Stadt Lapplands finden Sie Planlesa auf 120 km. Der Polarkreis im Sommer setzt die Sonne nicht unter. Welches Szenario ist besser, um ein Sommerfilmfestival zu feiern?

Dies wurde von Mika Kaurismäki gedacht, die in Brasilien gegründet wurde und unter anderem Filme von Amazon und Tigrero verfasste, sowie von ihrem Bruder Aki, der in der umfassenden Filmografie, die Le Havre drehte, Lights at Sunset und seine neueste Arbeit The Other Side of Hope, ausgezeichnet von SIGNIS (Weltkatholische Vereinigung für Kommunikation) für den besten europäischen Film 2017 und für die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (2017) für den besten Regisseur.

'Le Havre', by los hermanos Kaurismäki

'Le Havre', von den Brüdern Kaurismäki © Alamy

Gemeinsam mit dem verstorbenen Regisseur-Historiker Peter von Bagh, einem Autor von etwa zwanzig Büchern wie The History of World Cinema (1975) und Direktor der Filmbibliothek von Finnland, gründeten sie 1985 das Festival .

Seltsamerweise und entgegen den Erwartungen wurde der Keim des Festivals im November gegen vier Uhr morgens gedüngt, als die Brüder Kaurismäki und Peter von Bagh durch das Barfenster ihre üblichen Getränke aßen, zeigte die Traurigkeit einer trostlosen Landschaft.

In diesem dunklen Moment hatten sie die Idee "Lasst uns ein Filmfestival gründen!" Filmemacher für diejenigen einladen, die sich offen bewundert fühlten, so dass von Anfang an eine besondere Bindung hergestellt wurde.

Sodankylä

Landschaften von Sodankylä © Getty Images

Die Wahrheit ist, dass kurz nach Beginn des Festivals die entspannte Atmosphäre von Sodankylä übertragen wurde, wodurch jede Ausgabe für die Welt der Zelluloide attraktiver wurde. Als die Gäste vor Jahren mit der Eisenbahn von Helsinki nach Sodankylä fuhren, wurden im selben Zug einige für das Festival ausgewählte Filme projiziert, und als sie in der lappischen Stadt ankamen, waren sie alle Freunde.

Sodankylä ist sehr klein . Es ist nicht schwer, die Straße entlang zu gehen, die nach berühmten Regisseuren benannt ist, und sich mit einem von ihnen zu unterhalten.

Das Festivalprogramm umfasst das Alte und das Neue . Die zeitlosen Meisterwerke von erfahrenen Filmemachern werden neben den aufregendsten Filmen von Zeitgenossen präsentiert. Es enthält auch neue finnische Produktionen, Kinderfilme und Premieren ; Insgesamt wurden 80 Filme in mehr als 100 Vorführungen gezeigt . Abschließend finden morgendliche Gespräche mit den Hauptgästen statt.

Que la taiga nos acompañe

Möge die Taiga mit uns sein © Alamy

Das Festival, bereits seine 33. Ausgabe, wird zunehmend bekannt und besucht . Es haben Figuren wie Francis Ford Coppola, Samuel Fuller, Carlos Saura, Fernando Trueba oder Julio Medem vorgeführt . In vier Räumen, von denen einer ein Zirkuszelt ist, wird die ausgewählte Auswahl an Filmen in einer entspannten Atmosphäre und ohne rote Teppiche während der vierundzwanzig Stunden projiziert, wobei in allen Bereichen das allgemeine Tonikum der finnischen Kunst fortgeführt wird Voraussetzung ist Kreativität als Herangehensweise an Menschen.

Einer der erwarteten war The Ring (Stummfilm von Alfred Hitchcock 1928) mit den preisgekrönten Geräuschemachern Heikki Kossi, Nicolas Becker und Peter Albrechtsen, die einen einzigartigen Höhepunkt erreichten.

Die Idee des Mitsingens bei der Vorführung des Yellow Submarine of the Beatles könnte nicht erfolgreicher sein. Das große Publikum begrüßte das Karaoke mit Euphorie und die Beatles-Songs wurden angefeuert, bevor sie das Zelt verließen und um zwei Uhr morgens zum See gingen, um sich zu verabschieden und gleichzeitig die Sonne zu empfangen, die vor dem Schlafengehen bereits herauskommt neu

SUOMI UND SAMI KUNST IM LAPONENWALD

Schon der Name Lapplands erinnert an üppige Wälder und endlose Seen. Dieses einsame Szenario verbirgt jedoch eine Kreativität, die Finnland in der Vergangenheit berühmt gemacht und zu seinem Markenzeichen gemacht hat. Suomi und Sami zeigen ihr Talent mit den Pinseln und der Inspiration der hervorragenden Natur, die sie umgibt.

Nahe der Stadt Posio, am Ufer eines Sees, verwandelte Anu Pentik, die Königin der Keramik in Finnland, die Rentierfarm von Timisjärvi in ​​ein Künstlerhaus und verwandelte Posio in eine internationale Keramikreferenz, die heute das Museum begrüßt Arctic Ceramic Center und beherbergt internationale Symposien.

Tuula-Majja Magga-Helta lebt in der Stadt Vuotso und gehört zu den Nord-Sami, da sie die Farben ihres Kleides zeigen, obwohl sie mit einem Sami Inari verheiratet sind. Sie ist klein, dunkles Haar, sehr weiße Haut und voller Liebe und Humor, als sie erzählt, wie ihr Mann das Holzhaus gebaut hat, in dem sie leben, warum die Entwürfe dieser Wandteppiche von ihr gewebt wurden, um endlich ein Lied zu singen Dank des Lebensliedes begleitet von einer ovalen Trommel aus Rentierhaut.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung des Arctic Ceramic Center (@ arctic.ceramic.centre) am 2. August 2016 um 11:57 Uhr (Ortszeit)

Der Sami Inari Handwerks- und Rentierladen ist die ideale Ergänzung, um das samische Universum ein wenig besser zu verstehen und die schönen Gegenstände aus Lapon-Materialien zu betrachten, in denen das Rentiergeweih und seine Haut vorherrschen.

Das Design House Idoli in Ivalo ist eine weitere schöne Überraschung im Dickicht des Inari-Sees (so groß wie Belgien), in dem die Ehe Hanneli und Pekka Sillfors vor 20 Jahren ihren Traum verwirklicht und ein Konzept der Gourmet Gallery kreiert hat, das das Beste aus dem Besten vereint Finnisches Design und Gastronomie.

In seiner wunderschönen Galerie treffen Kreationen berühmter Designer wie Suomi und Sami auf diejenigen, die beginnen und einen Platz in ihren Regalen verdienen.