The denaturation of the restaurant

Anonim

Reading time 2 minutes

Yesterday I talked for a while with Javier Alguacil, owner of El Faralló in Dénia (absolute temple of the red shrimp, essential to understand what this is about gastronomy without artifice) and I could not help asking him, before the noise of boxes and speakers, hey where are you "Taking a little while in the auction, there is auction." I almost cry with happiness.

That popular aphorism came to mind, "it is well known that the ratios are longer than the times", and I also imagine the lunch afterwards with the rest of the fishermen and cooks; I imagine the noise of the boxes, the humidity and the beautiful smell of the sea, how the saltpeter floods everything and time stops in the important ordering the apparently urgent ride.

Something like this happens in all our fish markets, gastronomic treasures of incalculable value (and much more accessible than we think) along our coasts: the Confraria de Pescadors de Roses, the fish market in Vigo or the fishing port from Barbate. My mother always reminds me: the tram to Malvarrosa on Saturday mornings and bags with fresh fish for the meal of the day. Treasures are not always hidden, right?

And yet we are doing just the opposite. Restaurants, gastronomic consultants, architecture studios, media and each of the characters that converge in that tailor's drawer called 'gastronomy': we are loading the naturalness of which we presumed so much.

The head of the shrimp, the clochinas on the ground or the bib in front of a lobster stew in Casa Manolo; the greasy batons of Loli in El Palentino, the shouts (what are we going to do, they had their charm) of Sento Aleixandre in his Ca´Sento del Cabanyal or the “I am already taking things from you” of so many honest chefs without another plan to feed the parish well. That is, we have become a bit of an asshole.

Clonic restaurants - which could be in Ponzano but also in Malaga or Milan, photocopied letters, minimalist scenarios and press releases that are always the same press release: “Madrid has a new fashion venue and we don't want you to miss your cocktails of design, its grill in sight and its cosmopolitan decoration ” . Tarts, carpaccios, ceviches, tatakis, baos and tiraditos. How lazy everything.

Places with soul; that is not bought with a marketing plan or a cool interior designer, much less with the visit of the influencer on duty. People and gestures . That perhaps has more to do with the smell of the bags after the market on Saturday morning and my mother opening the door of the house, with the colors of the fish market and each of those little moments in front of the sea. Like so many treasures that no one can ever snatch us.

Die Denaturierung des Restaurants | Gastronomie 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 2 Minuten

Gestern habe ich eine Weile mit Javier Alguacil gesprochen, dem Besitzer von El Faralló in Dénia (dem absoluten Tempel der roten Garnelen, der unabdingbar ist, um zu verstehen, was es mit Gastronomie ohne Kunstfertigkeit auf sich hat). Hey, wo bist du? "Es dauert eine Weile, bis die Auktion beendet ist." Ich weine fast vor Glück.

Dieser populäre Aphorismus kam mir in den Sinn: "Es ist bekannt, dass die Verhältnisse länger sind als die Zeiten", und ich stelle mir auch das Mittagessen danach mit dem Rest der Fischer und Köche vor. Ich stelle mir das Geräusch der Kisten, die Luftfeuchtigkeit und den schönen Geruch des Meeres vor, wie der Salpeter alles überflutet und die Zeit in der wichtigen Reihenfolge der scheinbar dringenden Fahrt stehen bleibt.

So etwas passiert in all unseren Fischmärkten, in gastronomischen Schätzen von unschätzbarem Wert (und viel zugänglicher als wir denken) entlang unserer Küsten: der Confraria de Pescadors de Roses, der Fischmarkt in Vigo oder der Fischereihafen von Barbate. Meine Mutter erinnert mich immer daran: die Straßenbahn nach Malvarrosa am Samstagmorgen und Taschen mit frischem Fisch für die Mahlzeit des Tages. Schätze sind nicht immer verborgen, oder?

Und doch machen wir genau das Gegenteil. Restaurants, Gastronomieberater, Architekturbüros, Medien und jede der Figuren, die in der Schneiderkiste „Gastronomie“ zusammenlaufen: Wir laden die Natürlichkeit auf, von der wir so viel angenommen haben.

Der Kopf der Garnele, die Clochinas auf dem Boden oder das Lätzchen vor einem Hummereintopf in Casa Manolo; die fettigen Schlagstöcke von Loli in El Palentino, die Rufe (was werden wir mit ihm machen, hatte seinen Charme) von Sento Aleixandre in seinem Ca´Sento del Cabanyal oder das „Ich nehme dir schon Dinge weg “ von so vielen ehrlichen Köchen ohne einen anderen Plan die Gemeinde gut zu füttern. Das heißt, wir sind ein bisschen ein Arschloch geworden.

Clonic-Restaurants - das kann in Ponzano, aber auch in Malaga oder Mailand sein, fotokopierte Briefe, minimalistische Szenarien und Pressemitteilungen, die immer die gleiche Pressemitteilung sind: „Madrid hat eine neue Modehalle und wir möchten, dass Sie Ihre Cocktails nicht verpassen Design, sein Grill in Sicht und seine weltoffene Dekoration “ . Torten, Carpaccios, Ceviches, Tatakis, Baos und Tiraditos. Wie faul alles.

Orte mit Seele; Das wird nicht mit einem Marketingplan oder einem coolen Innenarchitekten gekauft, geschweige denn mit dem Besuch des diensthabenden Influencers. Menschen und Gesten . Das hat vielleicht mehr mit dem Geruch der Taschen nach dem Markt am Samstagmorgen zu tun, als meine Mutter die Haustür öffnete, mit den Farben des Fischmarktes und jedem dieser kleinen Momente vor dem Meer. Wie so viele Schätze, die niemand uns jemals entreißen kann.