Spain through its breads

Anonim

Reading time 11 minutes

I could be confused with James Rhodes if we stick to the passion that puts him in his defense of the particularities and differences of our country. But luckily, or unfortunately, Ibán Yarza is not so mediatic, although he has made his little pinitos on television and is known as the great bread guru.

His latest book, which is already in the third edition, continues in the same path of what we already knew about this pro panarra: Spain is a place with an incredible culture and it is necessary to make it known.

Pan de Pueblo is the name of a volume that mixes the best of Anthony Bourdain's road movie; that little initiatory dot that the old Lonely Planet had, the ones that really discovered places that didn't appear in the usual travel guides; and some wisdom and good knowledge of Alan Lomax, the mythical ethnomusicologist who kicked the entire world to capture how the most recondite cultures of the planet sounded.

But Yarza, in the end, is much more local and closer. Their references should be sought in Felix Rodriguez de la Fuente, José Antonio Labordeta, Sergio del Molino (the author of empty Spain) or Joaquín Díaz, another folklorist who has managed to enlarge the idea of ​​a country that many of us have.

Pan de Pueblo

Pan de Pueblo, a journey through the bread and traditional bakeries of Spain © Abraham Rivera

Pan de Pueblo: Recipes and stories of the breads and bakeries of Spain is a trip, for more than 25, 000 kilometers of regional roads, where tradition is intertwined with the present.

A particularly delicate moment for bread. Well, although more than 350 varieties appear, some are about to disappear because of the little care we are taking with them. Conservation, militancy and reality. A fundamental work if we want to know what is happening right now in the other Spain.

A shared publication by Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:38 p.m. PDT

How did you propose the book to the publisher so that in the end it was almost 300 pages with so much information and images?

The book was going to be half at the beginning and would have many recipes. But that fell short. As soon as I started going to places and taking pictures I saw that this had a lot of potential. I managed to convey in the different meetings I had with the publishing house that bread is a cultural aspect.

In the end there is a very complete book: there is history, there are recipes, there are features of ethnography … I try to play many sticks. But the important thing was to reach as many people as possible and convey the importance of bread and its culture.

Panadero alt=

More than 350 varieties of bread appear in the Pan de Pueblo book, some in danger of disappearing © Getty Images

Tell me the whole process of the trip. The work behind it is amazing, community by community. How did you get organized?

I think if I think again I do not. You don't know the money I've left and the hours I've been in the car from one place to another. I live in Ibiza, on an island, so everything becomes more difficult. If I want to go to Cuenca one day I do not take the car and leave there. Everything required a thorough previous work.

I focused on areas and did a previous research work. Research everything. I prefer not to add what I have left in travel and books. If there was a small ethnography notebook in Guadalajara, there it was. The documentation has been very large.

But going from one place to another. How did you do it? In your story you can see that you have not slept for many hours …

The trips were real madness. I had been wanting to write the book for a long time, but I always threw back the fact that Spain is very large. If you put three loaves of bread in 50 provinces per province, you would need several years to do it and not live.

Panes alt=

"In the end there is a very complete book: there is history, there are recipes, there are ethnography features …", comments Ibán Yarza © Getty Images

And you did it in less than a year.

He took an area, flew to the nearest airport, rented a car, and ran out towards the bakery where he had an appointment. Those eight or ten days slept on average three hours. Two hours many days. I tried to concentrate a province in one day, which is absolute madness.

In A Coruña I made 500 kilometers of bakery in bakery. In Cáceres the same. Keep in mind that the baker's job is at dawn. I got up at two in the morning and went to see how they did the baking of the day.

You also had to take pictures and conduct the interviews. That you never knew how it would work. What did you find?

There was always a very good disposition. If you look, each chapter tells a different aspect of bread and what has happened around it. The baker told me a story, the techniques, the recipes … This at many in the morning, then go to another bakery in which he had cited me.

And from there the day was a continuum from road to road. My idea was to get the greatest diversity of breads possible, which has a lot to do with the diversity of customs in each region.

A shared publication by Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) on Jun 5, 2018 at 11:53 p.m.

What was your criteria for choosing the different bakeries and breads that appear in the book?

I see and read about breads, but I don't know everything about breads. It is absurd to say that you know everything about breads. I relied heavily on friends bakers or distributors of flour that had spread throughout Spain. So I was pulling people from the area.

But then all that had to be screened, because there were many things that recommended me that then I was not interested. Nor did he want to show equal breads. For example, in Cantabria a curious thing happened, almost all the remarkable bread was concentrated in the same area. That was a problem for me, because all the breads were very similar. I didn't want to make five equal cakes. What he did in the end was Palencia, Burgos and he was going down.

Another greatness of the book is the variety of criteria that you have managed to convey. In a moment of total uniformity, where it seems that the "official taste" is so marked, you have managed to give value to each variety. Did you find it very difficult?

I am from Bilbao and there is no candeal there. However, the candeal is the bread, what else is there throughout Spain. This bread does not belong to the taste that I have known, like the spicy curry or bittersweet, but you must do it. There are breads that must be appreciated for different factors: their flavor, their texture or because they are simply rare.

A shared publication by Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) on Mar 31, 2018 at 12:29 PM PDT

A clear case is the Balearic bread, where you live, which has no salt.

So is. At the first bite people say "this has no salt." And as time goes by, you appreciate that these breads are of such purity that the salt bothers them. I think it's a spectacular lesson. They are things that are not so obvious.

In the end, bread is the homeland of each one, even if you know there are better ones. What I have tried with the book is for people to open their minds and not think that their bread is the best.

What are the most curious or rare breads that you have encountered on this trip?

More than with curious breads, I have come across techniques. I had read in many places how the man began to make bread. In those beginnings the fermentation was not known and cakes were made without fermenting. Unleavened cakes, like the ones you get in the church when you receive communion. They are breads that are not fermented, do not have bubbles.

This is something you read in prehistory books, but you can't imagine that there are still places that keep making bread this way. And yes, in Alicante I have seen it. It is as if you find a countryman in Alicante making a flint gun. There are ancestral techniques that are still in use.

Panes grances Cillamayor

Large, typical Cillamayor breads in Jesús Martín Bakery © Abraham Rivera

All the photographs in the book are yours. There are more than a thousand. Many of them are difficult to describe: they are authentic, far removed from the Instagram effect. How did you get it?

You will not believe it, but many of the breads that appear in the photos were given to me by the bakers to photograph. So I found that I couldn't eat them until I arrived at the hostel on duty. The white funds that can be seen are the bedspreads of the pensions of all Spain. If you look, you will see that many funds have little costumes or flowers.

Others are taken in bakeries, in the case of breads that appear on the cover of the book. That day I was in a communal oven in El Bierzo, it is not a photography inn, the black is soot. Those breads for the general trend of bakery school are ugly because they are irregular.

They are not heavy and are for home consumption. But they really are beautiful. I remember that when I posted it on Facebook, a man complained: "They are the ugliest breads I've ever seen in my life, " he wrote. And it is true, they would not pass an exam test. But there is no gastroelitism.

That is another of the great values ​​of the book. There is no elitism, nor nostalgia, nor something as typical of today as it is to want to seem what it is not. What conclusion do you draw from your visits?

That we must be aware of the enormous heritage we have. Since the book came out there are already bakeries that have closed. That knowledge has already been lost. We must do something with all the cultural advisors of the different councils throughout Spain. Especially from Galicia, which has a heritage of brutal bread. It is unacceptable that Galicia does not have an encyclopedia of multi-volume bread.

We must be envious of the French, the Swiss or the Italians. They value bread more than us. The French have a law of the year 1993 in which they force you to knead, ferment and bake bread to have your own bakery. The Swiss in the sixties set up a national institute dedicated to defending the culture and history of bread. We have a culture of bread that is dying.

A shared publication by Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) on Apr 22, 2018 at 1:49 PDT

FIVE BREADS YOU SHOULD KNOW AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

Cañada, in David Muñoz Bakery (Crossing of Perones, 3, Biel, Zaragoza)

“Biel is a few hundred kilometers from Zaragoza, but, in the dark night of the eternal and winding road, one would seem to be traveling in time escorted by deer, rabbits and wild boar in each curve. Barely a hundred souls inhabit this corner of Zaragoza that feels almost Pyrenean, set apart in an unpopulated corner of the depopulated Aragon. David Muñoz carefully elaborates the bread that his father Felix taught him: the glen and the bun. The name of Glen comes from the marks that were made in each in each house with a cane to later recognize them ”.

Large breads, in Alejandro Iglesias Bakery (Plaza Iglesia, s / n, Cillamayor, Palencia)

“Alejandro Iglesias, forty-five years old, pulls a round and golden loaf from Cillamayor from his wood-burning oven while it dawns below zero to almost a thousand meters of altitude. This town of just fifty inhabitants is in the northern limit of Palencia and announces its summits. The population has reduced a lot, but the region lived for almost two centuries the trajín of the exploitation of the coal mines ”.

Torta de Pascua

Easter cake of Panadería Moreno (Torreagüera, Murcia) © Abraham Rivera

Easter cake, in Panadería Moreno (José Alegría Nicolás, 2, Torreagüera, Murcia)

“Easter cake is a typical Christmas fermented dough, but that is consumed today throughout the year. In Torreagüera, the Moreno brothers teach me this incredible elaboration. The crescent (bread dough) is mixed with large amounts of fried almonds, cooked sweet potatoes, orange juice, matalahúva grains and aniseed spirits. With all this load, the resulting dough is almost liquid and would seem to be unfit for baking, but after twenty-four hours of fermentation the miracle works: a superlative product. "

Loaf, in Bakery Montserrat Lopez (B.º Central, 5, Quintana de Valdivielso, Burgos)

“Baker Montse Lopez transfers the cakes and loaves to the shovel with a masterful blow of the wrist. I have not met many people with the ease and self-confidence with the shovel that this woman from Quintana de Valdivieso has, in the north of Burgos. During the fermentation, the pieces already formed rest in the masseurs (the fabrics), and it is usual to help themselves with a small palette to pass them from there to the big shovel of the oven. Working alone, by force, Montse had to learn to skip that intermediate step, and giving the cloth a dry tug flips the loaves, which rotate in the air until they land on their master shovel. ”

Panadería Montserrat Lopez

Mari and Montse, two generations of bakers in Quintana de Valdivieso, Burgos © Abraham Rivera

Bread baked with anise, 100% Bread and pastry (La Graciosa, 4, Playa San Juan, Santa Cruz de Tenerife)

“In Playa de San Juan (Tenerife), Alexis García also learned bakery at home. However, he always had a lot of restlessness, wanted to learn and do new things, which sometimes clashes with the more traditional family business plans, and practically led him to hate the bakery. With a thoughtful voice, he remembers that luckily he had the opportunity to go to a bakery in Strasbourg, where he realized that he had lost time and saw what he really wanted to do. Ten years ago he opened his business, in which, in addition to bread, he makes a high-level bakery (Alexis is a baker with the soul of a baker). ”

Pan sobado con anís

The bread baked with aniseed by Alexis García © Abraham Rivera

Spanien durch seine Brote | Gastronomie 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 11 Minuten

Ich könnte mit James Rhodes verwechselt werden, wenn wir an der Leidenschaft festhalten, mit der er die Besonderheiten und Unterschiede unseres Landes verteidigt. Glücklicherweise oder leider ist Ibán Yarza nicht so medial, obwohl er seine kleinen Pinitos im Fernsehen gemacht hat und als der große Brotguru bekannt ist .

Sein neuestes Buch, das bereits in der dritten Auflage erscheint, folgt dem, was wir bereits über dieses Pro Panarra wussten: Spanien ist ein Ort mit einer unglaublichen Kultur und es ist notwendig, es bekannt zu machen.

Pan de Pueblo ist der Name eines Bandes, der das Beste aus Anthony Bourdains Roadmovie mischt . dieser kleine Einweihungspunkt, den der alte Lonely Planet hatte, der Orte entdeckte, die in den üblichen Reiseführern nicht vorkamen; und etwas Weisheit und Wissen über Alan Lomax, den mythischen Ethnomusikologen, der die Welt getreten hat, um zu erfassen, wie die am weitesten entwickelten Kulturen des Planeten geklungen haben.

Aber am Ende ist Yarza viel lokaler und näher. Ihre Referenzen sollten bei Felix Rodriguez de la Fuente, José Antonio Labordeta, Sergio del Molino (dem Autor des leeren Spaniens) oder Joaquín Díaz, einem anderen Folkloristen, der es geschafft hat, die Idee eines Landes, das viele von uns haben, zu erweitern, gesucht werden.

Pan de Pueblo

Pan de Pueblo, eine Reise durch das Brot und die traditionellen Bäckereien Spaniens © Abraham Rivera

Pan de Pueblo: Rezepte und Geschichten der spanischen Brote und Bäckereien sind eine Reise über mehr als 25.000 Kilometer Landstraßen, auf denen Tradition und Gegenwart miteinander verbunden sind.

Ein besonders heikler Moment für Brot. Nun, obwohl mehr als 350 Sorten auftauchen, sind einige wegen der geringen Sorgfalt, die wir mit ihnen nehmen , im Begriff zu verschwinden . Erhaltung, Militanz und Realität. Eine grundlegende Arbeit, wenn wir wissen wollen, was gerade im anderen Spanien passiert.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) am 28. Juni 2018 um 12:38 PDT

Wie haben Sie dem Verlag das Buch vorgeschlagen, so dass es am Ende fast 300 Seiten mit so vielen Informationen und Bildern umfasste?

Das Buch würde am Anfang halb sein und viele Rezepte enthalten. Aber das hat versagt. Sobald ich angefangen habe, Orte zu besuchen und Fotos zu machen, habe ich gesehen, dass dies viel Potenzial hat. Ich habe es geschafft, in den verschiedenen Gesprächen mit dem Verlag zu vermitteln, dass Brot ein kultureller Aspekt ist.

Am Ende gibt es ein sehr vollständiges Buch: Es gibt Geschichte, es gibt Rezepte, es gibt Merkmale der Ethnographie ... Ich versuche, viele Stöcke zu spielen. Wichtig war jedoch, möglichst viele Menschen zu erreichen und die Bedeutung des Brotes und seiner Kultur zu vermitteln.

Panadero title=

Mehr als 350 Brotsorten erscheinen im Buch Pan de Pueblo, von denen einige vom Verschwinden bedroht sind. © Getty Images

Erzähl mir den ganzen Prozess der Reise. Die Arbeit dahinter ist erstaunlich, Community für Community. Wie bist du organisiert?

Ich denke, wenn ich wieder denke, denke ich nicht. Sie wissen nicht, wie viel Geld ich noch habe und wie viele Stunden ich von einem Ort zum anderen im Auto verbracht habe. Ich lebe auf Ibiza, auf einer Insel, also wird alles schwieriger. Wenn ich eines Tages nach Cuenca fahren möchte, nehme ich nicht das Auto und fahre dorthin. Alles erforderte eine gründliche Vorarbeit.

Ich habe mich auf bestimmte Gebiete konzentriert und habe bereits früher geforscht. Alles erforschen. Ich ziehe es vor, nicht hinzuzufügen, was ich in Reisen und Büchern übrig habe. Wenn es in Guadalajara ein kleines Ethnographie-Heft gab, dann war es da. Die Dokumentation war sehr umfangreich.

Aber von einem Ort zum anderen gehen. Wie hast du das gemacht In deiner Geschichte kannst du sehen, dass du viele Stunden nicht geschlafen hast ...

Die Ausflüge waren echt Wahnsinn. Ich wollte das Buch schon lange schreiben, aber ich habe immer die Tatsache zurückgeworfen, dass Spanien sehr groß ist. Wenn Sie drei Brote in 50 Provinzen pro Provinz legen, würden Sie mehrere Jahre brauchen, um dies zu tun und nicht zu leben.

Panes title=

"Am Ende gibt es ein sehr vollständiges Buch: Es gibt Geschichte, es gibt Rezepte, es gibt ethnografische Merkmale ...", kommentiert Ibán Yarza © Getty Images

Und Sie haben es in weniger als einem Jahr geschafft.

Er nahm ein Gebiet, flog zum nächsten Flughafen, mietete ein Auto und rannte zur Bäckerei, wo er einen Termin hatte. Diese acht oder zehn Tage schliefen durchschnittlich drei Stunden. Zwei Stunden viele Tage. Ich habe versucht, eine Provinz an einem Tag zu konzentrieren, was ein absoluter Wahnsinn ist.

In A Coruña habe ich 500 Kilometer Bäckerei in Bäckerei gemacht. In Cáceres das gleiche. Denken Sie daran, dass der Job des Bäckers im Morgengrauen ist. Ich stand um zwei Uhr morgens auf und ging, um zu sehen, wie sie das Backen des Tages machten.

Sie mussten auch Fotos machen und die Interviews führen. Dass du nie wusstest, wie es funktionieren würde. Was hast du gefunden?

Es gab immer eine sehr gute Disposition. Wenn Sie sich das ansehen, erzählt jedes Kapitel einen anderen Aspekt des Brotes und was damit passiert ist. Der Bäcker erzählte mir eine Geschichte, die Techniken, die Rezepte ... So oft am Morgen, dann ging er zu einer anderen Bäckerei, in der er mich zitiert hatte.

Und von da an war der Tag ein Kontinuum von Straße zu Straße. Meine Idee war es, die größtmögliche Vielfalt an Broten zu erhalten, was viel mit der Vielfalt der Bräuche in jeder Region zu tun hat.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) am 5. Juni 2018 um 23:53 Uhr.

Was waren Ihre Kriterien für die Auswahl der verschiedenen Bäckereien und Brote, die im Buch erscheinen?

Ich sehe und lese über Brot, aber ich weiß nicht alles über Brot. Es ist absurd zu sagen, dass Sie alles über Brot wissen. Ich verließ mich stark auf befreundete Bäcker oder Händler von Mehl, die sich in ganz Spanien ausgebreitet hatten. Also zog ich Leute aus der Gegend.

Aber dann musste alles gescreent werden, denn es gab viele Dinge, die mich empfahlen, dass ich damals nicht interessiert war. Er wollte auch kein gleiches Brot zeigen. Zum Beispiel geschah in Kantabrien etwas Merkwürdiges, fast alles bemerkenswerte Brot war in der gleichen Gegend konzentriert. Das war ein Problem für mich, weil alle Brote sehr ähnlich waren. Ich wollte nicht fünf gleiche Kuchen machen. Was er am Ende tat, war Palencia, Burgos und er ging unter.

Eine weitere Größe des Buches ist die Vielzahl der Kriterien, die Sie vermittelt haben. In einem Moment völliger Einheitlichkeit, in dem der "offizielle Geschmack" so ausgeprägt zu sein scheint, ist es Ihnen gelungen, jeder Sorte einen Wert zu verleihen. Fanden Sie es sehr schwierig?

Ich komme aus Bilbao und dort gibt es kein Candeal. Das Candeal ist jedoch das Brot, was es sonst in ganz Spanien gibt. Dieses Brot gehört nicht zu dem Geschmack, den ich gekannt habe, wie das scharfe Curry oder das bittersüße, aber Sie müssen es tun. Es gibt Brote, die aufgrund verschiedener Faktoren geschätzt werden müssen: ihres Geschmacks, ihrer Textur oder weil sie einfach selten sind.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) am 31. März 2018 um 12:29 Uhr PDT

Ein klarer Fall ist das balearische Brot, in dem Sie leben und das kein Salz enthält.

Das ist richtig Beim ersten Bissen sagen die Leute "das hat kein Salz." Und im Laufe der Zeit werden Sie es zu schätzen wissen, dass diese Brote so rein sind, dass das Salz sie stört. Ich denke, es ist eine spektakuläre Lektion. Sie sind Dinge, die nicht so offensichtlich sind.

Am Ende ist Brot die Heimat eines jeden, auch wenn man weiß, dass es bessere gibt. Was ich mit dem Buch versucht habe, ist, dass die Leute sich öffnen und nicht denken, dass ihr Brot das Beste ist.

Was sind die neugierigsten oder seltensten Brote, denen Sie auf dieser Reise begegnet sind?

Mehr als bei neugierigen Broten bin ich auf Techniken gestoßen. Ich hatte an vielen Stellen gelesen, wie der Mann anfing, Brot zu backen. In jenen Anfängen war die Gärung nicht bekannt und Kuchen wurden ohne Gärung hergestellt. Ungesäuerte Kuchen, wie man sie in der Kirche bekommt, wenn man Kommunion empfängt. Es sind Brote, die nicht fermentiert sind, keine Blasen haben.

Dies ist etwas, was Sie in vorgeschichtlichen Büchern gelesen haben, aber Sie können sich nicht vorstellen, dass es immer noch Orte gibt, die auf diese Weise Brot backen. Und ja, in Alicante habe ich es gesehen. Es ist, als ob man in Alicante einen Landsmann findet, der eine Feuersteinwaffe herstellt. Es gibt althergebrachte Techniken, die immer noch verwendet werden.

Panes grances Cillamayor

Große, typische Cillamayor-Brote in der Bäckerei Jesús Martín © Abraham Rivera

Alle Fotos im Buch gehören dir. Es gibt mehr als tausend. Viele von ihnen sind schwer zu beschreiben: Sie sind authentisch, weit entfernt vom Instagram-Effekt. Wie bist du darauf gekommen?

Sie werden es nicht glauben, aber viele der Brote, die auf den Fotos erscheinen, wurden mir von den Bäckern zum Fotografieren gegeben. Also stellte ich fest, dass ich sie nicht essen konnte, bis ich im diensthabenden Hostel ankam. Die weißen Fonds, die zu sehen sind, sind die Bettdecken der Renten in ganz Spanien. Wenn Sie schauen, werden Sie sehen, dass viele Fonds kleine Kostüme oder Blumen haben.

Andere werden in Bäckereien eingenommen, bei Broten, die auf dem Umschlag des Buches erscheinen. An diesem Tag war ich in einem Gemeinschaftsofen in El Bierzo, es ist keine Fotostube, das Schwarze ist Ruß. Diese Brote für den allgemeinen Trend der Bäckereischule sind hässlich, weil sie unregelmäßig sind.

Sie sind nicht schwer und für den Eigenverbrauch bestimmt. Aber sie sind wirklich wunderschön. Ich erinnere mich, dass sich ein Mann beschwerte, als ich es auf Facebook veröffentlichte: "Das sind die hässlichsten Brote, die ich je in meinem Leben gesehen habe", schrieb er. Und es ist wahr, sie würden keine Prüfung bestehen. Es gibt aber keinen Gastroelitismus.

Das ist ein weiterer großer Wert des Buches. Es gibt keinen Elitismus, keine Nostalgie und nichts, was für heute so typisch ist, wie es ist, scheinen zu wollen, was es nicht ist. Welche Schlussfolgerung ziehen Sie aus Ihren Besuchen?

Dass wir uns des enormen Erbes bewusst sein müssen, das wir haben. Seit dem Erscheinen des Buches gibt es bereits geschlossene Bäckereien. Dieses Wissen ist bereits verloren gegangen. Wir müssen mit allen Kulturberatern der verschiedenen Räte in ganz Spanien etwas unternehmen. Besonders aus Galizien, das ein Erbe brutalen Brotes hat. Es ist nicht hinnehmbar, dass es in Galizien keine Enzyklopädie mit mehrbändigen Broten gibt.

Wir müssen neidisch auf die Franzosen, die Schweizer oder die Italiener sein. Sie schätzen Brot mehr als wir. Die Franzosen haben ein Gesetz aus dem Jahr 1993, in dem sie dich zwingen, Brot zu kneten, zu gären und zu backen, um deine eigene Bäckerei zu haben. In den sechziger Jahren gründeten die Schweizer ein nationales Institut, das sich der Verteidigung der Kultur und Geschichte des Brotes widmete. Wir haben eine Brotkultur, die im Sterben liegt.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Ibán Yarza (@ibanyarza) am 22. April 2018 um 1:49 PDT

FÜNF BROTE, DIE SIE WISSEN SOLLTEN UND WO SIE FINDEN

Cañada, Bäckerei David Muñoz (Kreuzung der Peronen, 3, Biel, Zaragoza)

„Biel ist ein paar hundert Kilometer von Saragossa entfernt, aber in der dunklen Nacht der ewigen und kurvenreichen Straße scheint man in jeder Kurve mit Rehen, Kaninchen und Wildschweinen in der Zeit unterwegs zu sein . In dieser Ecke von Saragossa, die sich fast wie ein Pyrenäenstaat anfühlt, leben kaum hundert Menschen. Sie befinden sich in einer unbewohnten Ecke des entvölkerten Aragons. David Muñoz arbeitet das Brot, das sein Vater Felix ihm beigebracht hat, sorgfältig aus: das Glen und das Brötchen. Der Name Glen leitet sich von den Markierungen ab, die in jedem Haus mit einem Stock versehen wurden, um sie später wiederzuerkennen. “

Große Brote in der Bäckerei Alejandro Iglesias (Plaza Iglesia, s / n, Cillamayor, Palencia)

„Alejandro Iglesias, 45 Jahre alt, holt ein rundes und goldenes Brot aus seinem Holzofen in Cillamayor, während es unter null auf fast tausend Meter ansteigt. Diese Stadt mit nur fünfzig Einwohnern liegt an der nördlichen Grenze von Palencia und kündigt ihre Gipfel an. Die Bevölkerung hat stark abgenommen, aber die Region lebte fast zwei Jahrhunderte lang von der Ausbeutung der Kohlengruben. “

Torta de Pascua

Osterkuchen von Panadería Moreno (Torreagüera, Murcia) © Abraham Rivera

Osterkuchen in Panadería Moreno (José Alegría Nicolás, 2, Torreagüera, Murcia)

„Osterkuchen ist ein typischer weihnachtlich fermentierter Teig, der heute das ganze Jahr über konsumiert wird. In Torreagüera bringen mir die Brüder Moreno diese unglaubliche Ausarbeitung bei. Der Halbmond (Brotteig) wird mit großen Mengen gebratener Mandeln, gekochten Süßkartoffeln, Orangensaft, Matalahúva-Körnern und Anis-Spirituosen gemischt. Bei all dieser Ladung ist der resultierende Teig fast flüssig und scheint nicht zum Backen geeignet zu sein, aber nach vierundzwanzig Stunden Fermentation wirkt das Wunder: ein Produkt der Superlative. "

Brot, in der Bäckerei Montserrat Lopez (B.º Central, 5, Quintana de Valdivielso, Burgos)

„Bäcker Montse Lopez übergibt die Kuchen und Brote mit einem meisterhaften Schlag auf das Handgelenk an die Schaufel. Ich habe mit der Schaufel, die diese Frau aus Quintana de Valdivieso im Norden von Burgos hat, nicht viele Menschen mit Leichtigkeit und Selbstvertrauen getroffen. Während der Gärung ruhen die bereits gebildeten Stücke in den Masseuren (den Stoffen), und es ist üblich, sich mit einem kleinen Paddel zu helfen, um sie von dort zur großen Ofenschaufel zu führen. Montse musste gewaltsam lernen, diesen Zwischenschritt zu überspringen, und indem er dem Stoff einen trockenen Ruck gab, drehte er die Brote, die sich in der Luft drehten, bis sie auf ihrer Meisterschaufel landeten. “

Panadería Montserrat Lopez

Mari und Montse, zwei Generationen von Bäckern in Quintana de Valdivieso, Burgos © Abraham Rivera

Mit Anis gebackenes Brot, 100% Brot und Gebäck (La Graciosa, 4, Playa San Juan, Santa Cruz de Tenerife)

„In Playa de San Juan (Teneriffa) hat Alexis García auch zu Hause Bäckerei gelernt. Er hatte jedoch immer viel Unruhe, er wollte lernen und neue Dinge tun, was manchmal mit den traditionelleren Familiengeschäftsplänen kollidierte und ihn praktisch dazu brachte, die Bäckerei zu hassen. Mit nachdenklicher Stimme erinnert er sich, dass er zum Glück die Gelegenheit hatte, in eine Bäckerei in Straßburg zu gehen, wo er feststellte, dass er Zeit verloren hatte und sah, was er wirklich wollte. Vor zehn Jahren eröffnete er sein Geschäft, in dem er neben Brot eine Bäckerei auf hohem Niveau herstellt (Alexis ist ein Bäcker mit der Seele eines Bäckers). “

Pan sobado con anís

Das mit Anis gebackene Brot von Alexis García © Abraham Rivera