50 years of miniatures

Anonim

Reading time 4 minutes

For five decades, Hot Wheels boxes have locked the fantasies of millions of children around the world. Its flamed brand has been synonymous with action and speed on wheels for those who still did not have a driving license and for many who had it but were still captivated by the scale realism of these emblematic miniatures.

From 1968 to the present, Hot Wheels has sold more than six billion units and has maintained that "crazy enthusiasm" that according to its senior vice president and general manager, Chris Down, awakens the company globally.

Hot Wheels

Hot Wheels, the cars we all wanted in real size when we were little © Photo by Alex Zabavsky on Unsplash

It all started when a co-founder of Mattel (the playful owner of the Hot Wheels brand) wanted to diversify different products and start a line of toy cars . There were times when it was more about collecting and showing that only playing and Handler knew clearly that those miniature vehicles would have a safe place in the market.

For this he knew how to maintain the balance between cars that were flashy and fun but without neglecting an iota some engineering details as realistic as its swivel wheels.

Earned the respect of the most fundamentalist of the engine thanks to that sensitivity for details, Hot Wheels has also managed to successfully cross the barriers of popular culture thanks to the numerous licenses that Mattel has of franchises such as Star Wars, DC Comics or Marvel

In cases where he has recreated such pop models, he has also shown exquisite respect for his references. For example, this happened with his car Darth Vader, who used the mask of the black character of George Lucas as an air intake.

Beattle by Hot Wheels

Beattle by Hot Wheels © Alamy

Precisely that Darth Vader model represents one of the few cases in which one of the Hot Wheels miniatures has ended up becoming a real-size vehicle . It is a fully operational car, with an LS3 engine of 526 hp and custom tires with a red line that was presented at the San Diego Comic-Con Festival in 2014. A very recent custom is to build some Hot Wheels to real scale. The first time it was done was in 2001 with a 1969 Hot Wheels Twin Mill with two V8 engines protruding from the hood.

Hot Wheels continues to be the number one brand worldwide selling toys, although it seems that the years of unstoppable growth experienced in the past have been left behind due to the technological revolution we have lived in the last five years.

Hot Wheels a tamaño real de Darth Vader

Real-size hot Wheels by Darth Vader © Getty Images

Now digital native children live abducted by the screens and look much less at analog toys than digital . This has caused Mattel to have experienced losses of nearly 900 million euros in just the last year. A balance of results that has caused four different people to occupy the position of chief executive in the last four years.

Hot Wheels seems to have understood that he has to go out in the street in search of his potential audience and to celebrate this 50th anniversary he has organized a tour called 'Legends Tour' that will end in 12 American cities and that also implies a contest.

To that competition you can sign up all those custom cars that want to participate and from each city there will be a finalist who will go to the grand final at the SEMA in Las Vegas at the end of October.

A shared publication of Hot Wheels (@hotwheelsofficial) on Jun 23, 2018 at 10:35 PDT

The winning car will be the next model that will launch Hot Wheels and can be purchased on the shelves of toy stores around the world.

The tour started on April 28 in Los Angeles (where a 49-year Ford F-5 Truck Dually Rat Rod was classified) and has already passed through Kansas City (where a 1938 Dodge Superior bus passed to the final) Bentonville, Nashville and New York. His next stops will be Atlanta, Chicago, Charlotte, Seattle, Detroit, Dallas, Miami, Scottsdale, Washington, to finish again in Los Angeles on October 20.

Also to celebrate this half century of existence, Hot Wheels has launched a special edition called 'Black & Gold' and dedicated to seven of the brand's most iconic models painted in black and gold. Those seven models are the Bone Shaker, the Twin Mill, the Rodger Dodger, the Dodge Dart, the Chevrolet Impala, the Ford Ranchero and the Camaro.

Not only the brand is celebrating, but also its huge legion of followers throughout the world. Throughout this year numerous conventions are taking place so that these diehard fans meet and can share their experiences. The most massive took place last April in Mexico City and summoned more than 30, 000 people.

All to keep the flame of miniatures that do not understand age, race or gender. According to statistics, one in three girls in the United States has a Hot Wheel car, another sign that these magical toys will survive the digital catastrophe. For another fifty years on wheels!

A shared publication of Hot Wheels (@hotwheelsofficial) on Jun 22, 2018 at 9:00 PDT

50 Jahre Miniaturen | Erfahrungen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 4 Minuten

Seit fünf Jahrzehnten haben Hot Wheels- Boxen die Fantasien von Millionen von Kindern auf der ganzen Welt erfüllt. Die geflammte Marke ist ein Synonym für Action und Geschwindigkeit auf Rädern für diejenigen, die noch keinen Führerschein besaßen und für viele, die es besaßen, aber immer noch vom Skalenrealismus dieser emblematischen Miniaturen fasziniert waren .

Von 1968 bis heute hat Hot Wheels mehr als sechs Milliarden Einheiten verkauft und die "verrückte Begeisterung" bewahrt, die laut seinem Senior Vice President und General Manager Chris Down das Unternehmen weltweit erweckt.

Hot Wheels

Hot Wheels, die Autos, die wir alle in Originalgröße haben wollten, als wir noch klein waren © Foto von Alex Zabavsky bei Unsplash

Alles begann, als ein Mitbegründer von Mattel (dem verspielten Besitzer der Marke Hot Wheels) verschiedene Produkte diversifizieren und eine Reihe von Spielzeugautos auf den Markt bringen wollte . Es gab Zeiten, in denen es mehr darum ging, zu sammeln und zu zeigen, dass nur das Spielen und Handler klar wussten, dass diese Miniaturfahrzeuge einen sicheren Platz auf dem Markt haben würden.

Dafür wusste er, wie er die Balance zwischen auffälligen und lustigen Autos halten konnte, ohne dabei ein paar technische Details zu vernachlässigen, die so realistisch waren wie die Lenkräder.

Dank dieser Liebe zum Detail wurde Hot Wheels von den meisten Fundamentalisten des Motors geschätzt und hat es dank der zahlreichen Lizenzen, die Mattel für Franchise-Unternehmen wie Star Wars, DC Comics oder. Besitzt, auch geschafft, die Grenzen der Popkultur zu überwinden Wunder

In Fällen, in denen er solche Popmodels nachgebildet hat, hat er auch seinen Referenzen großen Respekt entgegengebracht. Dies geschah zum Beispiel mit seinem Auto Darth Vader, der die Maske des schwarzen Charakters von George Lucas als Lufteinlass verwendete.

Beattle by Hot Wheels

Beattle von Hot Wheels © Alamy

Genau dieses Modell von Darth Vader ist einer der wenigen Fälle, in denen eine der Hot Wheels-Miniaturen zu einem Fahrzeug in Originalgröße geworden ist . Es ist ein voll funktionsfähiges Auto mit einem LS3- Motor mit 526 PS und benutzerdefinierten Reifen mit einer roten Linie, die 2014 auf dem San Diego Comic-Con Festival vorgestellt wurden. Ein sehr neuer Brauch ist es, einige Hot Wheels zu bauen realer Maßstab Das erste Mal wurde es 2001 mit einer 1969er Hot Wheels Twin Mill mit zwei aus der Motorhaube herausragenden V8-Motoren durchgeführt.

Hot Wheels ist nach wie vor die weltweit führende Marke für Spielwaren, obwohl die Jahre des unaufhaltsamen Wachstums, die wir in der Vergangenheit erlebt haben, aufgrund der technologischen Revolution, die wir in den letzten fünf Jahren erlebt haben, zurückgeblieben zu sein scheinen.

Hot Wheels a tamaño real de Darth Vader

Hot Wheels in Originalgröße von Darth Vader © Getty Images

Jetzt leben digital eingeborene Kinder entführt von den Bildschirmen und betrachten analoges Spielzeug viel weniger als digital . Dies hat Mattel im letzten Jahr Verluste in Höhe von fast 900 Millionen Euro beschert. Eine Bilanz der Ergebnisse, die dazu geführt hat, dass in den letzten vier Jahren vier verschiedene Personen die Position des Chief Executive übernommen haben.

Hot Wheels scheint verstanden zu haben, dass er auf der Suche nach seinem potentiellen Publikum auf die Straße gehen muss, und um dieses 50-jährige Jubiläum zu feiern, hat er eine Tour namens "Legends Tour" organisiert, die in 12 amerikanischen Städten enden wird und auch einen Wettbewerb beinhaltet.

Zu diesem Wettbewerb können Sie alle Custom Cars anmelden, die teilnehmen möchten, und aus jeder Stadt wird es einen Finalisten geben, der Ende Oktober im SEMA in Las Vegas zum Finale kommt .

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Hot Wheels (@hotwheelsofficial) am 23. Juni 2018 um 10:35 PDT

Das siegreiche Auto wird das nächste Modell sein, das Hot Wheels auf den Markt bringt und in den Regalen von Spielwarengeschäften auf der ganzen Welt erhältlich ist.

Die Tour begann am 28. April in Los Angeles (wo ein 49-jähriger Ford F-5 Truck Dually Rat Rod klassifiziert wurde) und führte bereits durch Kansas City (wo ein 1938er Dodge Superior Bus zum Finale fuhr) in Bentonville, Nashville und New York. Seine nächsten Stationen sind Atlanta, Chicago, Charlotte, Seattle, Detroit, Dallas, Miami, Scottsdale und Washington, um am 20. Oktober in Los Angeles erneut zu enden.

Um dieses halbe Jahrhundert zu feiern, hat Hot Wheels eine Sonderedition mit dem Titel "Black & Gold" herausgebracht, die sieben der bekanntesten Modelle der Marke gewidmet ist, die in Schwarz und Gold lackiert sind. Diese sieben Modelle sind der Bone Shaker, der Twin Mill, der Rodger Dodger, der Dodge Dart, der Chevrolet Impala, der Ford Ranchero und der Camaro.

Nicht nur die Marke feiert, sondern auch ihre riesige Zahl von Anhängern auf der ganzen Welt. In diesem Jahr finden zahlreiche Kongresse statt, auf denen sich die eingefleischten Fans treffen und ihre Erfahrungen austauschen können. Die massivste fand im vergangenen April in Mexiko-Stadt statt und forderte mehr als 30.000 Menschen auf.

Alles, um die Flamme von Miniaturen zu bewahren, die Alter, Rasse oder Geschlecht nicht verstehen. Laut Statistik hat jedes dritte Mädchen in den USA ein Hot Wheel-Auto, ein weiteres Zeichen dafür, dass diese magischen Spielzeuge die digitale Katastrophe überleben werden. Noch fünfzig Jahre auf Rädern!

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von Hot Wheels (@hotwheelsofficial) am 22. Juni 2018 um 9:00 Uhr (Ortszeit)