Trat, Thailand in green

Anonim

Reading time 8 minutes

When I get off the plane that in just one hour has taken me from the chaotic Bangkok to the peaceful province of Trat, I don't know what I'm going to find. And with the innocence and enthusiasm of those who enter a new territory to explore, I am ready to be surprised. To let me seduce.

See 10 photos

Koh Yao Yai, the last paradise

Trat is the name of both the easternmost province of Thailand and the city that serves as capital. Located next to the border with Cambodia, it has 52 paradisiacal islands bathed by the most turquoise waters of the Gulf of Thailand, with small villages where it seems that time was anchored in the past, and with a culture that stands out for respect to nature

Vista cenital de la costa tailandesa de Trat

Definition of 'green' level Thailand © Getty Images

If we add to all these qualities that, in addition, it is a territory still unknown to most of the tourism - with what this implies: a population overturned with travelers and zero crowds - what more can we ask for?

But to understand what I'm talking about, it is best to stop beating around and get to the point. Where had we left it? Ah, yes: on our arrival at Trat airport, consisting of a small takeoff / landing strip in the middle of a lush landscape in which elephant-shaped bushes welcome us. Great, the thing looks good!

After checking in at the Hotel Toscana Trad, a three star with that Asian air that we like so much and that will serve as our base camp during our days in the province, we will go directly to know one of the communities that inhabit these lares

Hotel Toscana Trad

A three star with an Asian air © Hotel Toscana Trad

The Ban Nam Chiao have a characteristic that makes them admirable: 50% of their population is Buddhist, while the other 50% is Muslim . And, despite what many may think, in this corner of Thailand, living together is absolutely friendly and peaceful .

We dare to walk along its high wooden walkways, those that run a few meters above the channel that serves as the backbone of the town. The colored boats of its fishermen rest quietly in the calm waters. On one side and another, the small houses where the members of the community live leaving their privacy aside. Open doors, lunch on the terraces or naps in the hammocks at the sight of everyone who passes. And what else gives?

Life takes place at a much slower pace in these latitudes. The good atmosphere feels, feels, and that is an added bonus to the experience . Few places are so authentic.

The generosity and hospitality of the Ban Nam Chiao is demonstrated at every step we take, something that is further accentuated when lunch time comes … Has anyone said food? The neighbors will not hesitate a second to show the most representative culinary techniques and flavors of this area for the joy of our palates.

Captando el atardecer en Trat

Catching the sunset in Trat © Getty Images

But the culinary side can go further: we ride in the boat of one of the fishermen to throw us at the mouth of the canal and witness the curious technique they have to capture one of the star products: the “clam tongue” -o tongue shells -. So easy - or not - how to dive into the water, dive deeper and return to the surface with clam-laden hands … Can there be anything more surprising? Yes, its flavor, that will have to taste as we set foot on the ground.

And for dessert? Perhaps a bit of tangme krop, the candy they make in the village by hand and that is eaten, especially during Ramadan. This will leave us the best taste, although we can not reject some of its tropical fruits. Papaya, mango or lychee? The list of exotic flavors is endless.

Un coco fresco nunca puede fallar

A fresh coconut can never fail © Getty Images

But the experience can still be completed more. A bike ride along the trails that surround the community will be perfect for lowering the food. And on two wheels we stop at the house of Pee-Noy, an elderly lady who continues to elaborate by hand, with palm leaves, the famous ngop hats so typical of the area.

Back to the city ​​of Trat we stop at your market, open until night. Life takes place in the most daily way through its corridors, where huge pieces of meat and vegetables with unpronounceable names rest on the counter. Meanwhile, shopkeepers unfailingly frighten flies with the most effective technique: a stick with a bag attached to the end, in continuous movement, is more than enough.

If we are left wanting to try more flavors, this will be the ideal place to liven up with street food. The difficult thing will be to choose between multiple positions. Just do not say goodbye and, eye to spicy! That which you least suspect will make you feel that you throw real fire through your mouth.

Pee Noy

Pee Noy © Tourist Office of Thailand

Chong Changtune is the name of another of the communities that inhabit the area and practice ecotourism . The motto that its members always keep in mind is very simple: "Everything we take from nature, we have to give it back . " And with this philosophy of life they make health and well-being their maximum, with which they demonstrate their passion and dedication for natural and cultural conservation.

The experience with them can begin, for example, by putting us in a human-sized basket for chickens. And no, we have not lost our minds, don't worry.

The Chong Changtune have developed a peculiar type of sauna that will leave you speechless. After 10 minutes -which, we warn, are made eternal- sweating non-stop inside this huge basket, with kettle to which up to 10 types of herbs and medicinal plants have been added inside, and with the only escape that that of a hole through which to get the head out, we will have released all kinds of impurities and toxins from our body. Or, at least, that assures us while we feel the intense heat that we undergo during the experience. Then, a good cold shower and we will be a new person.

Acceso a la comunidad Huai Raeng

Access to the Huai Raeng community © Tourist Office of Thailand

A complete Thai massage performed by the Chong women or an impromptu beauty session with white clay next to the riverbank will be other of the native customs that we can enjoy. Seriously: you'll get out of there feeling 20 years younger.

A menu based on banana stem with curry and fried pork with salt will be the best way to say goodbye to these women - because eye, it is they, and not them, who work on this project to make the virtues known to the rest of the world of his way of life -. After resting in the hotel and taking a good shower, an ideal place to dine will be the Krung Thai Chicken restaurant, where everything is cooked based on organic vegetables .

Before leaving the continental Trat we will meet the Huai Raeng, who live in “The Land of the Three Waters”, a kind of mangrove where fresh water, brackish water and salt water are mixed . The conference takes place in this small village facing its channel, from which they extract all those natural resources that are necessary for their day to day.

Paquetes de comida con hojas de palma en Huai Raeng

Food packages with palm leaves in Huai Raeng © Tourist Office of Thailand

They strive to plant the entire shore of palm trees, of which they take advantage of everything, starting with their thick stems, which they use for constructions, and continuing with the leaves, with which they make the roofs, hats, various utensils and even khanom chack, an exquisite Thai dessert made with flour, coconut and sugar, wrapped in palm leaves and toasted.

In addition, the plantations are the perfect place to place small cages with those that fish lobster, the same with which they prepare many of their most typical dishes. Recipes that subsequently wrapped in palm leaves - once again - perfectly folded: the most peculiar and ecological tupperware you've ever seen.

Vista cenital del paraíso de Koh Chang

Aerial view of Koh Chang's paradise © iStock

And, after knowing the culture well, it's time to relax. We head to the pier and ride a ferry that, in just one hour, brings us to the beautiful island of Koh Chang.

Elephant Island, as it is popularly known, is presented to us as an ungovernable jungle universe. From a distance it only looks green and greener: the vegetation is the owner and lady of the place. We predict an unconventional island.

And so it is: the densest jungle we can imagine begins almost along its beaches, the same white and fine sand that could well star in any paradise postcard. Now it's time to choose what lifestyle we want to lead during our days on the island: do we stay in one of the luxurious resorts of northern Koh Chang, such as the Koh Chang Resort Spa, where you can enjoy healthy treatments, detox retreats, Massages and organic food in a unique environment? Or do we go south to one of their cabins for 6 euros a night next to dream beaches?

The SPA Koh Chang

The spa in the middle of Trat's nature © The SPA Koh Chang

Whatever the choice - also combinable, of course - there will be no need to go on an excursion through the jungle to crown the highest point of the island. Nor should we stop discovering the wonders in the form of waterfalls that hides inside. And, of course, we must spend a day touring the neighboring islands by boat and snorkeling, enjoying the colorful underwater universe.

And in this way, lying in the hammock of any of its beaches while we enjoy, Fresh Singha in hand, a beautiful sunset, will say goodbye to this authentic paradise. From this secret Thailand that today we wanted to share with you.

Esnórquel en las aguas de Koh Chang

Snorkeling in the waters of Koh Chang © iStock

See 10 photos

Koh Yao Yai, the last paradise

Trat, Thailand in grün | Natur 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 8 Minuten

Als ich aus dem Flugzeug aussteige, das mich in nur einer Stunde vom chaotischen Bangkok in die friedliche Provinz Trat gebracht hat, weiß ich nicht, was ich finden werde. Und mit der Unschuld und Begeisterung derer, die ein neues Territorium betreten, bin ich bereit, überrascht zu werden. Um mich verführen zu lassen.

Siehe 10 Fotos

Koh Yao Yai, das letzte Paradies

Trat ist der Name der östlichsten Provinz Thailands und der Stadt, die als Hauptstadt dient. Es liegt an der Grenze zu Kambodscha und hat 52 paradiesische Inseln, die vom türkisblausten Wasser des Golfs von Thailand umspült werden , mit kleinen Dörfern, in denen es so aussieht, als ob die Zeit in der Vergangenheit verankert war, und mit einer Kultur, die sich durch Respekt auszeichnet zur Natur

Vista cenital de la costa tailandesa de Trat

Definition des 'grünen' Niveaus Thailand © Getty Images

Wenn wir zu all diesen Qualitäten hinzufügen, dass es sich außerdem um ein Gebiet handelt, das den meisten Touristen noch unbekannt ist - womit dies zu tun hat: eine Bevölkerung, die von Reisenden und null Menschenmassen überschwemmt wird - was können wir mehr verlangen?

Aber um zu verstehen, wovon ich spreche, hört man am besten auf herumzuschlagen und kommt auf den Punkt. Wo hatten wir es gelassen? Ah ja: bei unserer Ankunft am Flughafen Trat, bestehend aus einer kleinen Start- / Landebahn inmitten einer üppigen Landschaft, in der uns elefantenförmige Büsche begrüßen. Toll, das Ding sieht gut aus!

Nachdem wir im Hotel Toscana Trad eingecheckt haben, einem Drei-Sterne- Hotel mit der asiatischen Atmosphäre, die wir so sehr mögen und die während unserer Tage in der Provinz als Basislager dienen wird, werden wir direkt eine der Gemeinden kennenlernen, die diese bewohnen lares

Hotel Toscana Trad

Ein Drei-Sterne-Hotel mit asiatischem Flair © Hotel Toscana Trad

Die Ban Nam Chiao haben eine Besonderheit, die sie bewundernswert macht: 50% ihrer Bevölkerung sind Buddhisten, während die anderen 50% Muslime sind . Und trotz allem, was viele denken, ist das Zusammenleben in dieser Ecke Thailands absolut freundlich und friedlich .

Wir wagen es, über die hohen Holzstege zu laufen, die einige Meter über dem Kanal verlaufen, der als Rückgrat der Stadt dient. Die bunten Boote seiner Fischer ruhen leise in den ruhigen Gewässern. Auf der einen und der anderen Seite die kleinen Häuser, in denen die Mitglieder der Gemeinschaft leben und ihre Privatsphäre beiseite lassen. Offene Türen, Mittagessen auf den Terrassen oder Nickerchen in den Hängematten beim Anblick aller, die vorbeikommen. Und was macht es sonst noch aus?

In diesen Breiten spielt sich das Leben viel langsamer ab. Die gute Atmosphäre fühlt sich an, fühlt sich an, und das ist ein zusätzlicher Bonus für das Erlebnis . Nur wenige Orte sind so authentisch.

Die Großzügigkeit und Gastfreundschaft des Ban Nam Chiao zeigt sich bei jedem Schritt, den wir unternehmen, was sich in der Mittagspause noch verstärkt ... Hat jemand etwas zu Essen gesagt? Die Nachbarn werden keine Sekunde zögern, um die repräsentativsten kulinarischen Techniken und Aromen dieser Gegend zur Freude unserer Gaumen zu zeigen.

Captando el atardecer en Trat

Den Sonnenuntergang in Trat einfangen © Getty Images

Aber die kulinarische Seite kann noch weiter gehen: Wir fahren mit dem Boot eines der Fischer, um uns an der Mündung des Kanals zu starten, und werden Zeuge der seltsamen Technik, mit der sie eines der Hauptprodukte einfangen: die „Venusmuschelzungen“ –o Zungenschalen -. So einfach - oder auch nicht - wie man ins Wasser taucht, tiefer taucht und mit muschelbeladenen Händen an die Oberfläche zurückkehrt ... Kann es etwas Überraschenderes geben? Ja, sein Geschmack, der schmecken muss, wenn wir den Boden betreten.

Und zum Nachtisch? Vielleicht ein bisschen Tangme Krop, die Süßigkeiten , die sie im Dorf von Hand herstellen und die vor allem im Ramadan gegessen werden. Dies wird uns den besten Geschmack hinterlassen, obwohl wir einige seiner tropischen Früchte nicht ablehnen können. Papaya, Mango oder Litschi? Die Liste der exotischen Aromen ist endlos.

Un coco fresco nunca puede fallar

Eine frische Kokosnuss kann niemals scheitern © Getty Images

Aber die Erfahrung kann noch mehr vervollständigt werden. Eine Radtour entlang der Wanderwege, die die Gemeinde umgeben, ist perfekt, um das Essen abzusenken. Und auf zwei Rädern halten wir am Haus von Pee-Noy, einer älteren Dame, die weiterhin mit Palmblättern die für die Gegend typischen berühmten Ngop-Hüte von Hand ausarbeitet .

Zurück in der Stadt Trat halten wir an Ihrem Markt, der bis in die Nacht geöffnet ist. Das Leben spielt sich am alltäglichsten in den Korridoren ab, in denen riesige Fleisch- und Gemüsestücke mit unaussprechlichen Namen auf der Theke liegen. In der Zwischenzeit erschrecken Ladenbesitzer Fliegen immer wieder mit der effektivsten Technik: Ein Stock mit einem am Ende befestigten Beutel in kontinuierlicher Bewegung ist mehr als genug.

Wenn wir mehr Geschmacksrichtungen probieren möchten, ist dies der ideale Ort, um mit Streetfood zu beleben . Es wird schwierig sein, zwischen mehreren Positionen zu wählen. Nur nicht auf Wiedersehen sagen und, Auge zu scharf! Das, was Sie am wenigsten vermuten, lässt Sie das Gefühl haben, dass Sie echtes Feuer durch Ihren Mund werfen.

Pee Noy

Pee Noy © Fremdenverkehrsamt von Thailand

Chong Changtune ist der Name einer anderen Gemeinde, die in der Gegend lebt und Ökotourismus betreibt . Das Motto, an das seine Mitglieder immer denken, ist ganz einfach: "Alles, was wir aus der Natur nehmen, müssen wir zurückgeben . " Und mit dieser Lebensphilosophie setzen sie auf Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden, mit der sie ihre Leidenschaft und ihr Engagement für den Natur- und Kulturschutz unter Beweis stellen.

Die Erfahrung mit ihnen kann zum Beispiel damit beginnen, dass wir in einen Körbchen für Hühner in Menschengröße gesetzt werden. Und nein, wir haben nicht den Verstand verloren, keine Sorge.

Die Chong Changtune haben eine besondere Art von Sauna entwickelt, die Sie sprachlos macht. Nach 10 Minuten, die, wie wir warnen, ununterbrochen zum Schwitzen gebracht werden, befindet sich in diesem riesigen Korb ein Wasserkocher, in den bis zu 10 Arten von Kräutern und Heilpflanzen eingefüllt wurden Das Loch, durch das wir den Kopf herausholen können. Wir werden alle möglichen Unreinheiten und Giftstoffe aus unserem Körper freigesetzt haben. Zumindest versichert uns das, während wir die intensive Hitze spüren, die wir während der Erfahrung erfahren. Dann eine gute kalte Dusche und wir werden eine neue Person sein.

Acceso a la comunidad Huai Raeng

Zugang zur Huai Raeng Community © Tourismusbüro von Thailand

Eine komplette Thai-Massage, die von den Chong-Frauen durchgeführt wird, oder eine spontane Schönheitssitzung mit weißem Ton neben dem Flussufer gehören zu den Bräuchen der Einheimischen, die wir genießen können. Im Ernst: Sie werden sich 20 Jahre jünger fühlen.

Ein Menü aus Bananenstängeln mit Curry und gebratenem Schweinefleisch mit Salz ist die beste Art, sich von diesen Frauen zu verabschieden - denn das Auge ist es, und nicht sie, die an diesem Projekt arbeiten, um die Tugenden dem Rest der Welt bekannt zu machen von seiner Lebensweise -. Nachdem Sie sich im Hotel ausgeruht und gut geduscht haben, ist das Krung Thai Chicken Restaurant der ideale Ort, um zu Abend zu essen. Hier wird alles mit Bio-Gemüse zubereitet .

Bevor wir das kontinentale Trat verlassen, werden wir den Huai Raeng treffen, der im „Land der drei Gewässer“ lebt, einer Art Mangrove, in der Süßwasser, Brackwasser und Salzwasser gemischt werden . Die Konferenz findet in diesem kleinen Dorf vor seinem Kanal statt, aus dem sie all die natürlichen Ressourcen gewinnen, die für ihren Alltag notwendig sind.

Paquetes de comida con hojas de palma en Huai Raeng

Lebensmittelverpackungen mit Palmblättern in Huai Raeng © Fremdenverkehrsbüro von Thailand

Sie bemühen sich, das gesamte Flussufer von Palmen zu bepflanzen, von denen sie alles nutzen, angefangen mit ihren dicken Stielen, die sie zum Bauen verwenden, bis hin zu den Blättern, mit denen sie Dächer, Hüte und verschiedene Utensilien herstellen und sogar Khanom Chack, ein exquisites thailändisches Dessert aus Mehl, Kokosnuss und Zucker, in Palmblättern gewickelt und geröstet.

Darüber hinaus sind die Plantagen der perfekte Ort, um kleine Käfige mit denen, die Hummer fischen, zu platzieren, mit denen sie auch viele ihrer typischsten Gerichte zubereiten. Rezepte, die anschließend - wieder einmal - perfekt gefaltet in Palmblättern verpackt wurden: die eigenartigste und ökologischste Tupperware, die Sie je gesehen haben.

Vista cenital del paraíso de Koh Chang

Luftaufnahme des Paradieses von Koh Chang © iStock

Und nachdem Sie die Kultur gut kennen, ist es Zeit, sich zu entspannen. Wir gehen zum Pier und fahren mit der Fähre, die uns in nur einer Stunde zur wunderschönen Insel Koh Chang bringt .

Elephant Island, wie es allgemein bekannt ist, wird uns als unregierbares Dschungeluniversum präsentiert. Von weitem sieht es nur grüner und grüner aus: Die Vegetation ist der Besitzer und die Dame des Ortes. Wir sagen eine unkonventionelle Insel voraus.

Und so ist es: Der dichteste Dschungel, den wir uns vorstellen können, beginnt fast am Rande seiner Strände, derselbe aus feinem weißem Sand, der in jeder paradiesischen Postkarte strahlen könnte. Jetzt ist es Zeit zu entscheiden, welchen Lebensstil wir während unserer Tage auf der Insel führen möchten: Bleiben wir in einem der luxuriösen Resorts von Nord- Koh Chang, wie dem Koh Chang Resort Spa, wo Sie gesunde Behandlungen, Detox-Retreats, Massagen und Bio-Lebensmittel in einer einzigartigen Umgebung? Oder fahren wir für 6 Euro pro Nacht nach Süden in eine ihrer Hütten neben den Traumstränden?

The SPA Koh Chang

Das Spa inmitten der Natur von Trat © The SPA Koh Chang

Was auch immer die Wahl ist - natürlich auch kombinierbar - es ist kein Ausflug durch den Dschungel nötig, um den höchsten Punkt der Insel zu krönen. Wir sollten auch nicht aufhören, die Wunder in Form von Wasserfällen zu entdecken, die sich im Inneren verstecken. Und natürlich müssen wir einen Tag damit verbringen, die Nachbarinseln mit dem Boot zu erkunden und zu schnorcheln und dabei das farbenfrohe Unterwasseruniversum zu genießen.

Und auf diese Weise wird sich Fresh Singha in der Hand von diesem authentischen Paradies verabschieden, wenn wir in der Hängematte eines seiner Strände liegen und den wunderschönen Sonnenuntergang genießen. Aus diesem geheimen Thailand, das wir heute mit Ihnen teilen wollten.

Esnórquel en las aguas de Koh Chang

Schnorcheln in den Gewässern von Koh Chang © iStock

Siehe 10 Fotos

Koh Yao Yai, das letzte Paradies