Mystic, Connecticut, or how to stroll through an 18th-century whaling villa

Anonim

Reading time 4 minutes

Who has never heard of the movie Mystic Pizza ? The film that launched a very young Julia Roberts to stardom, just a couple of years before Pretty Woman made her known worldwide, takes its name from a real pizzeria in the heart of the town of Mystic, Connecticut.

Forty-five years after its founding, the pizzeria of the Zelepos family continues to serve its “heavenly flavor” triangles in the heart of the village on the banks of the Mystic River .

Little has changed the essence of its old town since then, and that is that one of the things that this town boasts is its independence from the almighty American chains . Family businesses, both restaurants and craft establishments, clothes, toys or books are the protagonists of the main street , flanked by the same drawbridge that appears in the film .

A shared post by Andrew Steinthal (@schmooey) on Nov 26, 2017 at 7:09 PST

But the true claim of this fishing village goes back a long way, to the period between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, when Mystic was an important port in the bay of New England, with an economy focused on the construction of ships and the shelter of big sailboats during strong storms.

In 1929, Mystic Seaport was founded , one of the most important maritime museums in the world and the most prominent in the United States: an entire fishing village recreated in the traditions of the eighteenth century, where you can visit four historic sailboats, including merchant whaler more old of the country and the only one that can be accessed today.

Charles W. Morgan

Charles W. Morgan © Getty Images

The Charles W. Morgan, of 1841, is the jewel of the museum, and entering into it an interesting journey through time, without the pestilent smell that a ship dedicated to such a business should offer in its day. Actors dressed as sailors keep the ship in action up to the main mast, descending to a boat, singing period songs and explaining to the visitor stories and anecdotes of the ship, which made 37 expeditions to hunt whales.

After its restoration, the whaler sailed again in 2013, making a three-month journey through the most emblematic ports of New England, before returning to the museum.

In addition to the Charles W. Morgan, in Seaport Museum you can visit the interior of many other centenary ships of greater or lesser size, in addition to admiring the construction work of the second replica of the Mayflower, the first ship that records the arrival of immigrants from Europe to the United States, and whose construction is expected to be completed in 2020, coinciding with the 400th anniversary of the arrival of the original on the North American coast.

Museo Seaport de Mystic

Myport Seaport Museum © Getty Images

Throughout the town, with its bank, string factory, nautical instrument shop, printing press, pharmacy and home for sailors open to the public among other buildings, you will find actors to talk about on any given day in the century XVIII in the villa.

In addition to walking, there are multiple ways to enjoy the water, from sailboats that you can rent for hours, to different rare and historical boats that you can fly yourself (with credentials) or join an excursion. You can ride, for example, aboard the Sabino, the last steam ship that uses 1908 coal, completely restored and in which you can cross the Mystic river .

Barco Sabino

Sabino Ship © Getty Images

Among the traveling exhibitions, from May to September 30, Mystic Seaport offers 'The Vikings Begin', one of the best collections of Viking objects in the world, from the Gustavianum Museum of Uppsala University in Sweden.

Exposición de vikingos en el Mystic Seaport

Viking exhibition at the Mystic Seaport © Mystic Seaport

If all this time travel has opened your appetite, do not miss the opportunity to try the local seafood, well prepared in corners like S&P Oyster Co, with a delicious menu and river views. Engine Room, American style, is also a good option, with vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free dishes. For beer lovers, it is worth the visit to the only craft brewery in the town, Barley Head.

A shared publication of S&P Oyster Company (@spoystercompany) on 2 Jun, 2018 at 3:00 PDT

There are many small hotels with charm to stay in Mystic, but if you are looking for some old splendor, and good views, you could spend the night at the Mystic Inn, the corner that Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart chose to spend their honeymoon.

Before leaving the area, it is interesting to revisit the most recent, albeit military, past of the United States. In the nearby Groton is the Submarine Force Library & Museum, which houses everything related to the US marine submarine industry, including the visit to the authentic USS Nautilus, the historic nuclear submarine that was active between 1954 and 1980.

Mystic Inn

Bay views from Mystic Inn © Mystic Inn

Mystic, Connecticut oder wie man durch eine Walfangvilla aus dem 18. Jahrhundert schlendert | Städtereisen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 4 Minuten

Wer hat noch nie von dem Film Mystic Pizza gehört ? Der Film, der eine sehr junge Julia Roberts zum Star machte, nur ein paar Jahre bevor Pretty Woman sie weltweit bekannt machte, verdankt seinen Namen einer echten Pizzeria im Herzen der Stadt Mystic, Connecticut.

45 Jahre nach ihrer Gründung serviert die Pizzeria der Familie Zelepos ihre himmlischen Dreiecke im Herzen des Dorfes am Ufer des Mystic River .

Wenig hat seitdem das Wesen der Altstadt verändert, und das ist eines der Merkmale dieser Stadt, die Unabhängigkeit von den allmächtigen amerikanischen Ketten . Familienbetriebe, sowohl Restaurants als auch Handwerksbetriebe, Kleidung, Spielzeug oder Bücher sind die Protagonisten der Hauptstraße , die von derselben Zugbrücke flankiert wird, die auch im Film zu sehen ist .

Ein geteilter Beitrag von Andrew Steinthal (@schmooey) am November 26, 2017, um 7:09 Uhr PST

Aber die wahre Behauptung dieses Fischerdorfes reicht weit zurück, bis in die Zeit zwischen dem siebzehnten und achtzehnten Jahrhundert, als Mystic ein wichtiger Hafen in der Bucht von Neuengland war, mit einer Wirtschaft, die sich auf den Bau von Schiffen und die Unterbringung von Schiffen konzentrierte große Segelboote bei starken Stürmen.

Im Jahr 1929 wurde Mystic Seaport gegründet , eines der bedeutendsten Seefahrtsmuseen der Welt und das bekannteste in den Vereinigten Staaten: ein ganzes Fischerdorf, das in der Tradition des achtzehnten Jahrhunderts nachgebildet wurde und in dem Sie vier historische Segelboote besichtigen können, darunter auch Whaler alt vom Land und der einzige, auf den heute zugegriffen werden kann.

Charles W. Morgan

Charles W. Morgan © Getty Images

Die Charles W. Morgan aus dem Jahr 1841 ist das Juwel des Museums und bietet eine interessante Zeitreise ohne den Pestgeruch, den ein Schiff, das sich einem solchen Geschäft widmet, zu seiner Zeit bieten sollte. Als Seeleute verkleidete Schauspieler halten das Schiff bis zum Hauptmast in Aktion, steigen auf ein Boot, singen Lieder aus der Zeit und erklären den Besuchern Geschichten und Anekdoten des Schiffes, die 37 Expeditionen zur Jagd auf Wale unternommen haben.

Nach seiner Restaurierung segelte der Walfänger 2013 erneut und unternahm eine dreimonatige Reise durch die bedeutendsten Häfen Neuenglands, bevor er zum Museum zurückkehrte.

Neben der Charles W. Morgan können Sie im Seaport Museum das Innere vieler anderer mehr oder weniger großer Jubiläumsschiffe besichtigen und die Bauarbeiten für die zweite Nachbildung der Mayflower bewundern, die als erstes Schiff die Ankunft von Einwanderern aufzeichnet Europa in die USA, dessen Bau voraussichtlich im Jahr 2020 abgeschlossen sein wird, zeitgleich mit dem 400. Jahrestag der Ankunft des Originals an der nordamerikanischen Küste.

Museo Seaport de Mystic

Myport Seaport Museum © Getty Images

Überall in der Stadt, mit Bank, Saitenfabrik, Nautikgeschäft, Druckerei, Apotheke und einem für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglichen Seemannsheim, finden Sie Schauspieler, über die Sie an jedem beliebigen Tag im Jahrhundert sprechen können XVIII in der Villa.

Zusätzlich zum Wandern gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten, das Wasser zu genießen, von Segelbooten, die Sie stundenlang mieten können, bis zu verschiedenen seltenen und historischen Booten, die Sie selbst fliegen (mit Ausweis) oder an einem Ausflug teilnehmen können. Sie können zum Beispiel an Bord der Sabino fahren, dem letzten Dampfschiff, das 1908 komplett restaurierte Kohle verwendet und in dem Sie den Mystic River überqueren können .

Barco Sabino

Sabino Schiff © Getty Images

Unter den Wanderausstellungen bietet Mystic Seaport vom Mai bis 30. September 'The Vikings Begin', eine der besten Sammlungen von Wikingerobjekten der Welt, aus dem Gustavianum Museum der Universität Uppsala in Schweden.

Exposición de vikingos en el Mystic Seaport

Wikingerausstellung im Mystic Seaport © Mystic Seaport

Wenn all diese Zeitreisen Ihren Appetit geweckt haben, verpassen Sie nicht die Gelegenheit, die lokalen Meeresfrüchte zu probieren, die in Ecken wie S & P Oyster Co mit einer köstlichen Speisekarte und Blick auf den Fluss zubereitet werden. Der amerikanische Maschinenraum ist ebenfalls eine gute Option, mit vegetarischen, veganen und glutenfreien Gerichten. Für Bierliebhaber lohnt sich der Besuch der einzigen Handwerksbrauerei der Stadt, Barley Head.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von S & P Oyster Company (@spoystercompany) am 2. Juni 2018 um 3:00 PDT

Es gibt viele kleine Hotels mit Charme in Mystic, aber wenn Sie etwas von uralter Pracht und guter Aussicht suchen, können Sie die Nacht im Mystic Inn verbringen , der Ecke, die Lauren Bacall und Humphrey Bogart für ihre Flitterwochen ausgewählt haben.

Vor dem Verlassen des Gebiets ist es interessant, die jüngste, wenn auch militärische Vergangenheit der Vereinigten Staaten zu überdenken. Im nahe gelegenen Groton befindet sich die Submarine Force Library & Museum, in der alles rund um die US-amerikanische U-Boot-Industrie untergebracht ist, einschließlich des Besuchs der authentischen USS Nautilus, dem historischen Atom-U-Boot, das zwischen 1954 und 1980 aktiv war.

Mystic Inn

Blick auf die Bucht vom Mystic Inn © Mystic Inn