This pool is a mine (of art)

Anonim

Reading time 2 minutes

25 summers ago, the last workers of the coke plant - a type of coal - from Zollverein, in Essen (Germany), hung their helmets forever.

On June 30, 1993, the one that was one of the main steel complexes in all of Europe was bound to be completely abandoned. And yet, where the rusty machines used to squeak, today the relentless uproar of a pool reverberates .

Zollverein alt=

The Essen mining pool © Zollverein

The factory, as with many others in the Ruhr basin, had to find life in the face of the threat of deindustrialization.

During the 90s and the first decade of this century, the government of North Rhine became obsessed that none of its large cities were paralyzed, as had happened to Detroit.

Therefore, as soon as the steel industry began to show signs of economic paleness, local institutions moved to buy until the last pipe and open a period of reflection.

And then the creative duo Dirk Paschke and Daniel Milohnic appeared, who in 2001 surprised by installing a huge pool as a disruptive conceptual element to celebrate that wells 12 and 13 became World Heritage by Unesco. Since then, this work rejoices the children and grandchildren of the post-industrial revolution.

Producción de teatro durante la Ruhrtriennale.

Theater production during the Ruhrtriennale. © Ruhrtriennale

In parallel to the success of soaking, Zollverein has made creativity his incentive for reconversion. Thus, in 2010, taking advantage of the European cultural capital of the Ruhr, he opened a vindictive museum about the relevance of this basin designed by Rem Koolhas where the astonishment is divided between the history of the place and the strident stairs that the Dutch architect devised .

And the soulless and tiled bathrooms of the old complex flourish in August hosting the dance, theater and performances of the Ruhrtriennale contemporary scenography festival . An evening program that takes the baton witness to provide stimuli and dialogues to the new steel summers.

* This report was published in issue 119 of the Condé Nast Traveler Magazine (July-August) . Subscribe to the print edition (11 printed numbers and digital version for € 24.75, by calling 902 53 55 57 or from our website). The July-August Condé Nast Traveler number is available in its digital version to enjoy on your preferred device.

Dieser Pool ist eine Mine (der Kunst) | Erfahrungen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 2 Minuten

Vor 25 Sommern hängten die letzten Arbeiter der Kokerei - eine Art Kohle - aus Zollverein in Essen (Deutschland) ihre Helme für immer auf.

Am 30. Juni 1993 musste der Stahlkomplex , der zu den wichtigsten in ganz Europa gehörte, endgültig aufgegeben werden. Und doch, wo früher die rostigen Maschinen quietschten, hallt heute der unerbittliche Lärm eines Pools nach.

Zollverein title=

Das Essener Bergbaubad © Zollverein

Die Fabrik musste wie viele andere im Ruhrgebiet angesichts der drohenden Deindustrialisierung Leben finden.

In den 90er Jahren und im ersten Jahrzehnt dieses Jahrhunderts war die Regierung von Nordrhein davon besessen, dass keine ihrer Großstädte wie Detroit gelähmt war .

Sobald die Stahlindustrie Anzeichen wirtschaftlicher Blässe zeigte, begannen die lokalen Institutionen, bis zur letzten Pfeife zu kaufen und eine Phase des Nachdenkens einzuleiten.

Und dann erschienen das Kreativduo Dirk Paschke und Daniel Milohnic, die 2001 überraschten, indem sie einen riesigen Pool als störendes konzeptionelles Element installierten, um zu feiern, dass die Brunnen 12 und 13 von der Unesco zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt wurden. Seitdem freut sich diese Arbeit über die Kinder und Enkel der postindustriellen Revolution.

Producción de teatro durante la Ruhrtriennale.

Theaterproduktion während der Ruhrtriennale. © Ruhrtriennale

Parallel zum Erfolg des Einweichens hat Zollverein Kreativität zu seinem Ansporn zur Umstellung gemacht. So eröffnete er 2010 unter Ausnutzung der europäischen Kulturhauptstadt des Ruhrgebiets ein rachsüchtiges Museum über die Relevanz dieses von Rem Koolhas entworfenen Beckens, in dem das Erstaunen zwischen der Geschichte des Ortes und den schroffen Treppen des niederländischen Architekten aufgeteilt ist.

Und die seelenlosen und gefliesten Bäder des alten Komplexes blühen im August und beherbergen Tanz, Theater und Performances des zeitgenössischen Szenografie- Festivals der Ruhrtriennale. Ein Abendprogramm, bei dem der Staffelzeuge Anregungen und Dialoge für die neuen Stahlsommer liefert .

* Dieser Bericht wurde in Ausgabe 119 des Condé Nast Traveller Magazins (Juli-August) veröffentlicht . Abonnieren Sie die Printausgabe (11 gedruckte Nummern und digitale Version für 24, 75 €, telefonisch unter 902 53 55 57 oder über unsere Website). Die Condé Nast Traveller-Nummer von Juli bis August ist in digitaler Version für Ihr bevorzugtes Gerät verfügbar.