A cover like those of yesteryear

Anonim

Reading time 2 minutes

Go back to the place you frequented. Take a look back at those years when glamor was a matter of everyday life and sophistication emanated in spurts. With much dedication yes, but without effort and with excellent results.

In the office they wore suits and bow ties, at home elaborations of complicated techniques were served - carving a pineapple is what it has - and on the beach there was no loophole for the mistake with swimsuits that covered and held everything, hats that protected and combined and, as the protocol of the time commanded, fun suitable for all audiences.

American photographer Gray Malin is a master in portraying some of the most iconic sand and sun, skiing and surfing destinations on the planet from the air .

La portada de Traveler para el mes de julio

The cover of Traveler for the month of July © Gray Malin

From Antarctica to Namibia, through Bhutan. But in his most recent work, the same one that illustrates our cover, it was a swimming pool that calmed him deeply. Specifically, the Coral Casino Beach & Cabana Club in Santa Barbara (California), an oasis reminiscent of past times.

It was one of the first social clubs in the United States. It is located on the seashore and has a spectacular Olympic pool. I wanted to pay tribute to the splendor of that timeless elegance evoking the lifestyle of a 60's resort and imagining a collection of art that celebrated design and history and, at the same time, transported to the eye of those who admire the appeal of yesteryear ”Explains Gray.

Always at the edge of one of the most revered pools on the California coast and, of course, with an eye on the next dip .

Gray Malin es también autor de los best sellers Beaches y Escape, así como del libro para niños Be Our Guest!

Gray Malin is also the author of the best sellers Beaches and Escape, as well as the children's book Be Our Guest! © Gray Malin

* This report was published in issue 119 of the Condé Nast Traveler Magazine (July-August) . Subscribe to the print edition (11 printed numbers and digital version for € 24.75, by calling 902 53 55 57 or from our website). The July-August Condé Nast Traveler number is available in its digital version to enjoy on your preferred device.

Ein Cover wie damals | Reisende 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 2 Minuten

Geh zurück zu dem Ort, den du besucht hast. Werfen Sie einen Blick zurück auf jene Jahre, in denen Glamour eine Frage des Alltags war und Kultiviertheit in Schüben ausstrahlte. Mit viel Engagement ja, aber ohne Anstrengung und mit hervorragenden Ergebnissen.

Im Büro trugen sie Anzüge und Fliegen, zu Hause wurden komplizierte Techniken ausgearbeitet - eine Ananas zu schnitzen ist das, was sie hat - und am Strand gab es keine Lücke für den Fehler mit Badeanzügen, die alles bedeckten und hielten, Hüte, die schützten und kombinierten und als das Protokoll der Zeit befohlen, Spaß für alle Zielgruppen geeignet.

Der amerikanische Fotograf Grey Malin ist ein Meister darin, einige der berühmtesten Sand- und Sonnenorte der Welt aus der Luft darzustellen .

La portada de Traveler para el mes de julio

Das Cover von Traveller für den Monat Juli © Grey Malin

Von der Antarktis nach Namibia durch Bhutan. Aber in seiner jüngsten Arbeit, die auch unsere Titelseite zeigt, war es ein Schwimmbad, das ihn zutiefst beruhigte. Insbesondere der Coral Casino Beach & Cabana Club in Santa Barbara (Kalifornien), eine Oase, die an vergangene Zeiten erinnert.

Es war einer der ersten Social Clubs in den USA. Es befindet sich an der Küste und verfügt über ein spektakuläres olympisches Schwimmbecken. Ich wollte der Pracht dieser zeitlosen Eleganz Tribut zollen, die an den Lebensstil eines Resorts aus den 60er Jahren erinnert und eine Kunstsammlung vorstellt, die Design und Geschichte feiert und gleichzeitig die Aufmerksamkeit derjenigen erregt, die den Reiz vergangener Zeiten bewundern ”Erklärt Gray.

Immer am Rande eines der am meisten verehrten Pools an der kalifornischen Küste und natürlich mit Blick auf das nächste Bad .

Gray Malin es también autor de los best sellers Beaches y Escape, así como del libro para niños Be Our Guest!

Gray Malin ist auch Autor der Bestseller Beaches and Escape sowie des Kinderbuchs Be Our Guest! © Grauer Malin

* Dieser Bericht wurde in Ausgabe 119 des Condé Nast Traveller Magazins (Juli-August) veröffentlicht . Abonnieren Sie die Printausgabe (11 gedruckte Nummern und digitale Version für 24, 75 €, telefonisch unter 902 53 55 57 oder über unsere Website). Die Condé Nast Traveller-Nummer von Juli bis August ist in digitaler Version für Ihr bevorzugtes Gerät verfügbar.