Lee Miller, the model who jumped into the trench

Anonim

Reading time 4 minutes

Perhaps that is why chance often played in his favor. She was going to cross a street in New York without paying attention to a truck that was heading towards her, when the arm of Mr. Condé Montrose Nast, founder of Vogue and Vanity Fair, saved her from being run over. It was 1926 and Lee was 19 years old . The following year would be cover under the illustration of George Lepape .

See 9 photos

Bold Travelers

Her cold and androgynous features made her the closest thing to a top model, and that involved working with photographers like Edward Steichen or George Hoyningen-Huene . But then the models had no control over their image, and one of Steichen's photographs was used without Lee's consent for an advertising campaign for compresses. There was a scandal and Lee's career vanished.

Lee en una sesión para Vogue

Read in a session for Vogue © Getty Images

She did not give excessive importance to the setback. Theodor Miller, his father, had always advocated that he devote his time to the same games as his two brothers. In the Poughkeepsie country setting that meant tree houses, toy trains and gadgets that revolved around Theodor's big hobby: photography . During his time as a model, Lee's interest was on the other side of the spotlights. The Kotex compress scandal broke the barrier.

Ten years before, a traumatic event had defined Lee's relationship with the camera. She was eight years old when, on a trip to New York, she was raped . The rapist transmitted gonorrhea. The pain, the shame and the sensation of dirt caused mood swings that worsened in adolescence.

Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

Lee Miller © Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

The psychiatric treatment was complemented with sessions in which, in the presence of his mother, Lee posed naked for Theodor . This peculiar form of reconciliation with his physicist established a vital and therapeutic link with the photographic process.

Therefore, when his modeling career ended, Lee was clear that his site was behind the goal . Attracted by the experimental surrealism of Man Ray, she showed up at her studio in Paris and offered to work with him. The artist not only agreed, but fell in love with her .

For five years she was his collaborator. The relationship was turbulent . To the conflict that caused the constant appropriation of his works, was added the struggle for an emotional independence that Lee had raised at the stroke of therapy .

Lee Miller o la belleza y locura de Man Ray

Lee Miller or the beauty and madness of Man Ray © Getty Images

The liberation of art was a masculine affair and the creators, with exceptions, remained in the background. In the same way, free love was an anti-bourgeois imperative that Man Ray practiced with enthusiasm, but that he did not see with good eyes in his partner. Lee did not yield . He enforced himself in the surreal circle and established a close relationship with Picasso, Paul Éluard and Jean Cocteau .

The latter offered to participate in his film The Blood of a Poet, in which it appears next to a plaster sculpture of itself.

The surreal aura favored the recognition of his work. In the International Photographers exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum he shared rooms with Cecil Beaton and Moholy-Nagy. But Lee was tired of the Parisian carousel and the altercations with Man Ray. In 1934 he brought his adventure with the Egyptian millionaire Eloui Bey to his final consequences and married him.

After his separation, the photographer created a metronome that includes the following legend:

Cut out the eye of someone you have loved and is no longer with you. Place it on the metronome pendulum and wait for it to reach the desired tempo. Take a hammer and destroy it with a blow.

Miller's years in Cairo left images of a marked surrealist style, but the desert and ruins eventually exhausted both his inspiration and his patience. When he returned to Paris three years later, Lee had become the myth of a languishing movement . It was then that he met Ronald Penrose, the English painter of Max Ernst's circle with whom he would share the rest of his life.

The war found them in London. During the Blitz, his house in Hampstead became one of the social centers of the city. Lee documented the effects of the bombings when the United States entered the contest. Despite the skepticism of the editor of Vogue, the photographer was credited and moved to France.

In Normandy lived the offensive that happened to the landing. He jumped from the hospitals to the front and was one of the first people of the Allied forces who entered the Dachau concentration camp . From there he went to Munich, where he settled in the house that had belonged to Hitler . He slept in his bed and took a picture in the bathtub.

According to David Sherman, the journalist who accompanied her those years, Lee lived a period of great plenitude during the war. Despite the horror that surrounded her, her talent grew in the movement, in the immediacy. He did not overcome the return to the routine. The attempts to return to normal collided with the hangover of the lived.

Motherhood did not help her overcome a depression that favored her dependence on alcohol. He retired with Melrose to a farm in Sussex, abandoned the photograph and directed his concern toward the kitchen. When Man Ray visited them, he offered him green chicken and blue macaroni.

Lee Miller, pura belleza

Lee Miller, pure beauty © Getty Images

Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

Lee Miller for Vogue © Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

See 9 photos

Bold Travelers

Anonim

Lesezeit 4 Minuten

Vielleicht spielte der Zufall deshalb oft zu seinen Gunsten. Sie wollte eine Straße in New York überqueren, ohne auf einen Lastwagen zu achten, der auf sie zukam, als der Arm von Mr. Condé Montrose Nast, dem Gründer von Vogue and Vanity Fair, sie davor bewahrte, überfahren zu werden. Es war 1926 und Lee war 19 Jahre alt . Das folgende Jahr würde unter der Illustration von George Lepape abgedeckt werden.

Siehe 9 Fotos

Mutige Reisende

Ihre kalten und androgynen Gesichtszüge machten sie zu einem Topmodel, und das beinhaltete die Arbeit mit Fotografen wie Edward Steichen oder George Hoyningen-Huene . Aber dann hatten die Models keine Kontrolle über ihr Image und eine von Steichens Fotografien wurde ohne Lees Einverständnis für eine Werbekampagne für Kompressen verwendet. Es gab einen Skandal und Lees Karriere verschwand.

Lee en una sesión para Vogue

Lesen Sie in einer Sitzung für Vogue © Getty Images

Sie hat dem Rückschlag keine übermäßige Bedeutung beigemessen. Theodor Miller, sein Vater, hatte sich immer dafür ausgesprochen, dass er sich den gleichen Spielen widmete wie seine beiden Brüder. In der ländlichen Umgebung von Poughkeepsie bedeutete dies Baumhäuser, Spielzeugeisenbahnen und Geräte, die sich um Theodors großes Hobby drehten: Fotografie . Während seiner Zeit als Model stand Lees Interesse auf der anderen Seite der Scheinwerfer. Der Kotex-Kompressenskandal durchbrach die Barriere.

Zehn Jahre zuvor hatte ein traumatisches Ereignis Lees Beziehung zur Kamera bestimmt. Sie war acht Jahre alt, als sie auf einer Reise nach New York vergewaltigt wurde . Der Vergewaltiger hat Gonorrhö übertragen. Der Schmerz, die Schande und das Gefühl von Schmutz verursachten Stimmungsschwankungen, die sich in der Jugend verschlechterten.

Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

Lee Miller © Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

Ergänzt wurde die psychiatrische Behandlung durch Sitzungen, in denen Lee in Gegenwart seiner Mutter für Theodor nackt posierte . Diese besondere Form der Versöhnung mit seinem Physiker stellte eine wichtige und therapeutische Verbindung zum fotografischen Prozess her.

Als seine Modelkarriere endete, war Lee daher klar, dass seine Website hinter dem Ziel steckte . Angezogen vom experimentellen Surrealismus von Man Ray, erschien sie in ihrem Atelier in Paris und bot an, mit ihm zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Künstlerin stimmte nicht nur zu, sondern verliebte sich in sie .

Fünf Jahre lang war sie seine Mitarbeiterin. Die Beziehung war turbulent . Zu dem Konflikt, der die ständige Aneignung seiner Werke verursachte, kam der Kampf um eine emotionale Unabhängigkeit hinzu, den Lee nach dem Schlaganfall der Therapie ausgelöst hatte .

Lee Miller o la belleza y locura de Man Ray

Lee Miller oder die Schönheit und der Wahnsinn von Man Ray © Getty Images

Die Befreiung der Kunst war eine männliche Angelegenheit, und die Schöpfer blieben mit Ausnahmen im Hintergrund. Ebenso war die freie Liebe ein anti-bürgerlicher Imperativ, den Man Ray mit Enthusiasmus praktizierte, den er jedoch bei seinem Partner nicht mit guten Augen sah. Lee gab nicht nach . Er setzte sich im surrealen Umfeld durch und knüpfte eine enge Beziehung zu Picasso, Paul Éluard und Jean Cocteau .

Letzterer bot sich an, an seinem Film Das Blut eines Dichters teilzunehmen , in dem es neben einer Gipsskulptur von sich selbst erscheint.

Die surreale Aura begünstigte die Anerkennung seiner Arbeit. In der Ausstellung International Photographers im Brooklyn Museum teilte er sich Zimmer mit Cecil Beaton und Moholy-Nagy. Aber Lee hatte genug vom Pariser Karussell und den Auseinandersetzungen mit Man Ray. 1934 brachte er sein Abenteuer mit dem ägyptischen Millionär Eloui Bey zu seinen letzten Konsequenzen und heiratete ihn.

Nach seiner Trennung erstellte der Fotograf ein Metronom mit der folgenden Legende:

Schneiden Sie das Auge von jemandem aus, den Sie geliebt haben und der nicht mehr bei Ihnen ist. Legen Sie es auf das Metronompendel und warten Sie, bis es das gewünschte Tempo erreicht hat. Nimm einen Hammer und zerstöre ihn mit einem Schlag.

Millers Jahre in Kairo ließen Bilder eines markanten surrealistischen Stils entstehen, aber die Wüste und die Ruinen erschöpften schließlich sowohl seine Inspiration als auch seine Geduld. Als er drei Jahre später nach Paris zurückkehrte, war Lee zum Mythos einer schwachen Bewegung geworden . Dann lernte er Ronald Penrose kennen, den englischen Maler aus Max Ernsts Kreis, mit dem er den Rest seines Lebens teilen würde.

Der Krieg fand sie in London. Während des Blitzes wurde sein Haus in Hampstead eines der sozialen Zentren der Stadt. Lee dokumentierte die Auswirkungen der Bombenanschläge, als die Vereinigten Staaten in den Wettbewerb eintraten. Trotz der Skepsis des Herausgebers der Vogue wurde der Fotograf gutgeschrieben und zog nach Frankreich.

In der Normandie lebte die Offensive, die der Landung geschah. Er sprang von den Krankenhäusern an die Front und war einer der ersten Alliierten, die das KZ Dachau betraten . Von dort ging er nach München, wo er sich in dem Haus niederließ, das Hitler gehört hatte . Er schlief in seinem Bett und machte ein Foto in der Badewanne.

Laut David Sherman, dem Journalisten, der sie in diesen Jahren begleitete, lebte Lee während des Krieges eine Zeit großer Fülle. Trotz des Grauens, das sie umgab, wuchs ihr Talent in der Bewegung, in der Unmittelbarkeit. Die Rückkehr zur Routine überwand er nicht. Die Versuche, wieder normal zu werden, kollidierten mit dem Kater der Lebenden.

Die Mutterschaft half ihr nicht, eine Depression zu überwinden, die ihre Abhängigkeit von Alkohol begünstigte. Er zog sich mit Melrose auf eine Farm in Sussex zurück, gab das Foto auf und richtete seine Besorgnis auf die Küche. Als Man Ray sie besuchte, bot er ihm grünes Huhn und blaue Makkaroni an.

Lee Miller, pura belleza

Lee Miller, pure Schönheit © Getty Images

Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

Lee Miller für Vogue © Vogue / George Hoyningen-Huene

Siehe 9 Fotos

Mutige Reisende