The great gastronomic market of José Andrés y los Adrià in New York already has a name and date

Anonim

Reading time 3 minutes

Italy had long had its official gastronomic space thanks to Eataly. France got its not long ago in Le District. But the presence of Spanish cuisine in New York, the great gastronomic capital of the world, did not go beyond tapas restaurants with irregular success. So far … Finally!

See 21 photos

Things to eat in New York (and they are not hamburgers)

After a first and brief announcement a few months ago, yesterday chef José Andrés, the most successful Spanish in the United States, confirmed the creation of a (great) corner of first-class Spanish cuisine in Manhattan. It is no longer just a project, it is underway, it will be called Mercado Little Spain and will open in the spring of 2019.

A post shared by José Andrés Foods (@joseandresfoods) on Mar 15, 2018 at 1:37 pm PDT

Located in the new neighborhood of the island, Hudson Yards, in the west, at the corner of Avenida 10 and Calle 30, below the High Line, Little Spain Market will be a place where Spanish cuisine shines. José Andres and the brothers Ferran and Albert Adrià, who join forces to get the best of our borders and take it to the other side of the puddle, will take care of it. The clichés are over, not only tapas will be eaten.

For José Andrés, who landed in the United States in 1991 is also a project with a lot of personal emotion. “I have dreamed of opening in New York since I first came here to this amazing country through the port of New York, ” he explains in the official presentation statement. "I can't wait to tell many stories of Spain with my friends, Ferran and Albert, collaborating with this project."

A post shared by José Andrés Foods (@joseandresfoods) on Apr 3, 2016 at 12:31 pm PDT

With the name, Mercado Little Spain, they wink at those immigrant neighborhoods in Manhattan where they settled by nationalities. Although Little Italy was and is the most famous, Little Spain also existed: it was on 14th Street around where it still resists (and recently reopened) a famous bar and restaurant, La Nacional.

And as a concept, Little Spain Market will be “a true love letter to Spain”, where they will try to offer products from all corners of the country, in different formats.

The huge space that will also have tables outside, will be divided into three restaurants, with different culinary styles, and several stalls that will give that life more market in. Each specialized in a dish or in a product. There will be tapas, of course, and pintxos, but also snacks, salads and a candy section. And you can eat there or buy typical products to take away and give away. They will try to give presence to traditional cuisine and the most avant-garde chefs of today's Spanish cuisine.

Who else loves the view of Hudson Yards from across the river? Swipe left to go back in time and see what it looked like in March of 2012. #HelloHudsonYards A post shared by HudsonYardsNYC (@_hudsonyardsnyc) on Mar 14, 2018 at 10:29 am PDT
See 21 photos

Things to eat in New York (and they are not hamburgers)

Der große Gastronomiemarkt von José Andrés y los Adrià in New York hat bereits einen Namen und ein Datum | Gastronomie 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 3 Minuten

Italien hatte dank Eataly lange Zeit seinen offiziellen gastronomischen Raum . Frankreich hat es vor kurzem in Le District geschafft. Die Präsenz der spanischen Küche in New York, der großen gastronomischen Hauptstadt der Welt, reichte jedoch nicht mit unregelmäßigem Erfolg über Tapas-Restaurants hinaus. Soweit ... Endlich!

Siehe 21 Fotos

Dinge zu essen in New York (und sie sind keine Hamburger)

Nach einer ersten und kurzen Ankündigung vor einigen Monaten bestätigte der gestrige Chefkoch José Andrés, der erfolgreichste Spanier der Vereinigten Staaten, die Schaffung einer (großartigen) Ecke erstklassiger spanischer Küche in Manhattan. Es ist nicht mehr nur ein Projekt, es ist im Gange, es heißt Mercado Little Spain und wird im Frühjahr 2019 eröffnet.

Ein Beitrag von José Andrés Foods (@joseandresfoods) am 15. März 2018 um 13:37 Uhr PDT

In der neuen Nachbarschaft der Insel, Hudson Yards, im Westen, an der Ecke Avenida 10 und Calle 30, unterhalb der High Line, wird der Little Spain Market ein Ort sein, an dem die spanische Küche glänzt. José Andres und die Brüder Ferran und Albert Adrià, die sich zusammenschließen, um das Beste aus unseren Grenzen herauszuholen und es auf die andere Seite der Pfütze zu bringen, werden sich darum kümmern. Die Klischees sind vorbei, nicht nur Tapas werden gegessen.

Für José Andrés, der 1991 in den USA gelandet ist, ist das auch ein Projekt mit viel persönlicher Emotion. „Ich habe davon geträumt, in New York zu eröffnen, seit ich zum ersten Mal durch den Hafen von New York in dieses erstaunliche Land gekommen bin“, erklärt er in der offiziellen Präsentation. "Ich kann es kaum erwarten, mit meinen Freunden Ferran und Albert, die mit diesem Projekt zusammenarbeiten, viele Geschichten über Spanien zu erzählen."

Ein Beitrag geteilt von José Andrés Foods (@joseandresfoods) am 3. April 2016, um 12:31 Uhr PDT

Mit dem Namen Mercado Little Spain zwinkern sie den Einwanderern in Manhattan zu, in denen sie sich nach Nationalitäten niedergelassen haben. Obwohl Little Italy das berühmteste war und ist, existierte Little Spain auch: Es befand sich in der 14. Straße, in der es noch immer eine berühmte Bar und ein Restaurant, La Nacional, gibt (und vor kurzem wiedereröffnet wurde).

Als Konzept wird Little Spain Market „ein wahrer Liebesbrief an Spanien“ sein, wo versucht wird, Produkte aus allen Ecken des Landes in verschiedenen Formaten anzubieten.

Der riesige Raum, der auch draußen Tische haben wird, wird in drei Restaurants mit unterschiedlichen kulinarischen Stilen und mehreren Ständen unterteilt, die dem Leben mehr Markt bringen. Jeder hat sich auf ein Gericht oder auf ein Produkt spezialisiert. Natürlich gibt es Tapas und Pintxos, aber auch Snacks, Salate und eine Süßigkeitenabteilung. Und Sie können dort essen oder typische Produkte zum Mitnehmen und Verschenken kaufen. Sie werden versuchen, der traditionellen Küche und den avantgardistischen Köchen der heutigen spanischen Küche Präsenz zu verleihen.

Wer sonst mag die Aussicht auf Hudson Yards von der anderen Seite des Flusses? Wischen Sie nach links, um eine Zeitreise zu unternehmen und zu sehen, wie es im März 2012 ausgesehen hat
Siehe 21 Fotos

Dinge zu essen in New York (und sie sind keine Hamburger)