The secret of Oriol Balaguer: ten years falling in love with Madrid

Anonim

Reading time 5 minutes

Oriol Balaguer is one of those geniuses who wins over short distances and hides, behind an apron and glasses, an innate ability to surprise with a first impression.

See 14 photos

Sites in Madrid where to claim the snack

I still remember the first time he opened the doors of La Duquesita; He offered without questioning a blind tasting of various chocolates, from the finest to the most filthy, without fear of being tested.

Because above all, Balaguer is a very thrown guy, almost like a child who has been given his first skateboard and ignores the fear of slopes or the very law of gravity.

Oriol Balaguer

"I also wanted to risk and do something different, perhaps more current and avant-garde, something that fit perfectly in Madrid" © Oriol Balaguer

ALL A LIFE DOING MAGIC WITH CHOCOLATE

Balaguer is Catalan of pure strain, originally from Calafell (Tarragona). Since he was a child, he watched his father carefully make cakes in the workshop, almost without realizing that it would be his first contact with the world of candy. And more specifically of chocolate, because playing to be his father led him to study at the School of the Pastry Guild of Barcelona and to be part of ElBulli de Ferrán Adriá for years.

His meticulous character, his explosive creativity and his artisan soul were and will be his best travel companions, architects of great achievements as the best dessert in the world in 2001, best pastry chef in Spain in 2008 and best pastry chef according to the International Academy of Gastronomy this year 2018 .

Landing in Madrid and conquering the capital was not going to be too complicated for a talent like his, although he acknowledges that it was an adventure that required a great effort. He chose a noble area, in the heart of the Salamanca neighborhood to begin his magic through a chocolate shop that continues to make us dream every day.

And at the same time, in all these years, he has known how to take time to take his courses, write some books, and pamper his family, possibly his most precious treasure.

Oriol Balaguer

The chef chose the heart of the Salamanca district to open his chocolate shop © Oriol Balaguer

A CATALAN IN MADRID: 10 YEARS OF SUCCESS

Oriol brought to Madrid a new concept of chocolate shop, more elegant and modern, with a unique product based many times on the game and observation, defining new textures, looking for impossible shapes, flavors and unrepeatable aromas.

Entering your boutique is light years away from the chocolate shop where it is shipped next to a cash register. “I am crazy and I really like challenges. I also wanted to risk and do something different, perhaps more current and avant-garde, something that in Madrid fit perfectly. The truth is that I am delighted because in Madrid people have welcomed me phenomenally, they stop me on the street and congratulate me, ”says the chef.

The experience in the space of Balaguer is almost like entering a jewelry store, without dependents, almost rather with advisors of the palate.

The look is lost in the entire perimeter of the premises, crammed with the most unique chocolates. It is an earthly paradise where chocolate cannot be a sin. It is impossible.

Oriol Balaguer

8 chocolate textures: mousse, creamy sponge cake, caramel sauce, biscuit and chocolate sponge © Oriol Balaguer

True to the creations that raised it to the top, Balaguer has maintained throughout this decade the 8 chocolate textures (Best Dessert in the World 2001), the Fruit Panettone (Best Artisan Panettone of Spain) and its fantastic frozen fruits .

“We have also maintained our emblems a bit for consistency, because it identifies us and because the people who come here love it. The line of chocolates has been a resounding success, ”says Oriol.

And it has created a collection of chocolates inspired by the city of Madrid, much appreciated by the people of Madrid, and in which it recreates fantasies with an exotic fruit flavor among others.

There is no birthday without cake, and it is not necessary to be a sweet teacher to have this clear concept. But this time, and to celebrate this first decade of success in Madrid, Oriol has decided to invent a fabulous dessert. This is a chocolate mousse with crunchy biscuit “exotic jelly”, a delicious madness that is already in the boutique available to the most passionate about chocolate.

Definitely, the best kept secret of Oriol Balaguer is easy to discover. You just have to let yourself be guided by smell and dream again.

Oriol Balaguer

To celebrate its first decade in Madrid, Oriol has decided to invent a fabulous dessert: Chocolate mousse with crunchy biscuit “exotic jelly” © Oriol Balaguer

WE DON'T FORGET ABOUT THE DUQUESITA

Recently we told you the history of Madrid from its bakeries of more than 100 years. One of them, La Duquesita, which began its journey in 1914, closed last 2015 causing a great commotion among the Madrid public.

The decision to recover that mythical temple of the sweet was not easy for Oriol, whose commitment to Mr. Santamaría to maintain the tradition was evident from the first moment.

“Many people tell us that La Duquesita is part of the culture of Madrid, and thanks us for recovering it. It really was a safe bet if we followed the tradition even if we gave it our stamp. Before a centenary company it is impossible to say no, ”explains Oriol.

To enter La Duquesita de Balaguer is to enter La Duquesita as usual, although with a more sophisticated air. He who goes to La Duquesita knows that he will find the best palm trees and the best croissants in Madrid.

“Palm trees both normal and chocolate, croissants and panettone that has had a brutal success. As a result of the prize, people queue to buy it and even commission it to avoid running out of it, ”says the teacher.

Oriol has managed to keep the clientele of a lifetime still relying on this centenary corner that still puts the hair as scarp when the scent of paradise escapes from the inside when opening the door. Only for this, we can almost say that Oriol Balaguer has well become the favorite son of the capital. He has earned it.

Oriol Balaguer

The best pastry chef by the International Academy of Gastronomy pays homage to Madrid on its tenth anniversary © Getty Images

Oriol Balaguer

"The line of chocolates has been a resounding success, " says Oriol © Oriol Balaguer

See 14 photos

Sites in Madrid where to claim the snack

Das Geheimnis von Oriol Balaguer: Zehn Jahre in Madrid verliebt | Gastronomie 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 5 Minuten

Oriol Balaguer ist eines jener Genies, die auf kurzen Strecken gewinnen und hinter einer Schürze und einer Brille die Fähigkeit verbergen, mit einem ersten Eindruck zu überraschen.

Siehe 14 Fotos

Orte in Madrid, an denen Sie den Snack einnehmen können

Ich erinnere mich noch an das erste Mal, als er die Türen von La Duquesita öffnete. Er bot ohne zu hinterfragen eine blinde Verkostung verschiedener Schokoladen an, von den feinsten bis zu den dreckigsten, ohne Angst davor, getestet zu werden.

Vor allem, weil Balaguer ein sehr geworfener Typ ist, fast wie ein Kind, das sein erstes Skateboard bekommen hat und die Angst vor Pisten oder das Gesetz der Schwerkraft ignoriert.

Oriol Balaguer

"Ich wollte auch etwas anderes riskieren und machen, vielleicht aktueller und avantgardistischer, etwas, das perfekt zu Madrid passt" © Oriol Balaguer

ALLES LEBEN ZAUBER MIT SCHOKOLADE

Balaguer ist katalanisch und stammt ursprünglich aus Calafell (Tarragona). Schon als Kind beobachtete er, wie sein Vater in der Werkstatt sorgfältig Kuchen backte, ohne zu ahnen, dass dies sein erster Kontakt mit der Welt der Süßigkeiten sein würde. Und zwar in Bezug auf Schokolade, denn das Spiel, sein Vater zu sein, führte ihn dazu, an der Schule der Konditorengilde von Barcelona zu studieren und jahrelang bei ElBulli de Ferrán Adriá zu sein.

Sein akribischer Charakter, seine explosive Kreativität und seine handwerkliche Seele waren und sind seine besten Reisebegleiter, Architekten großer Erfolge als bester Nachtisch der Welt im Jahr 2001, bester Konditor Spaniens im Jahr 2008 und bester Konditor der Internationalen Akademie von Gastronomie in diesem Jahr 2018 .

In Madrid zu landen und die Hauptstadt zu erobern, würde für ein Talent wie ihn nicht zu kompliziert werden, obwohl er zugibt, dass es ein Abenteuer war, das große Anstrengungen erforderte. Er wählte eine noble Gegend im Herzen des Viertels Salamanca, um seine Magie durch einen Schokoladenladen zu beginnen , der uns jeden Tag zum Träumen bringt.

Gleichzeitig hat er in all den Jahren gelernt, sich die Zeit zu nehmen, Kurse zu belegen, Bücher zu schreiben und seine Familie, möglicherweise seinen wertvollsten Schatz, zu verwöhnen.

Oriol Balaguer

Der Küchenchef wählte das Herz des Viertels Salamanca, um seinen Schokoladenladen zu eröffnen. © Oriol Balaguer

EIN KATALAN IN MADRID: 10 JAHRE ERFOLG

Oriol brachte ein neues Konzept des Schokoladengeschäfts nach Madrid , eleganter und moderner, mit einem einzigartigen Produkt, das viele Male auf dem Spiel und der Beobachtung basiert, neue Texturen definiert und nach unmöglichen Formen, Aromen und unwiederholbaren Aromen sucht.

Das Betreten Ihrer Boutique ist Lichtjahre von dem Schokoladengeschäft entfernt, in dem es neben einer Registrierkasse versandt wird. „Ich bin verrückt und mag Herausforderungen. Ich wollte auch etwas anderes riskieren und machen, vielleicht aktueller und avantgardistischer, etwas, das in Madrid perfekt passt. Die Wahrheit ist, dass ich mich sehr freue, denn in Madrid haben mich die Leute phänomenal begrüßt, sie halten mich auf der Straße an und gratulieren mir “, sagt der Koch.

Die Erfahrung im Raum von Balaguer ist fast wie das Betreten eines Juweliergeschäfts, ohne abhängige Angehörige, fast eher mit Gaumenberatern.

Der Blick verliert sich auf dem gesamten Gelände, angefüllt mit den einzigartigsten Pralinen. Es ist ein irdisches Paradies, in dem Schokolade keine Sünde sein kann. Es ist unmöglich

Oriol Balaguer

8 Schokoladentexturen: Mousse, cremiger Biskuitkuchen, Karamellsauce, Keks und Schokoladenbiskuit © Oriol Balaguer

Getreu den Kreationen, die ihn an die Spitze gebracht haben, hat Balaguer in diesem Jahrzehnt die 8 Schokoladentexturen (Bestes Dessert der Welt 2001), den Fruit Panettone (Bester Artisan Panettone Spaniens) und seine fantastischen gefrorenen Früchte beibehalten .

„Wir haben unsere Embleme auch ein bisschen konsistent gehalten, weil sie uns identifizieren und weil die Leute, die hierher kommen, es lieben. Die Schokoladenlinie war ein voller Erfolg “, sagt Oriol.

Und es hat eine Sammlung von Pralinen kreiert, die von der Stadt Madrid inspiriert und von den Madrider Menschen sehr geschätzt wird und in der unter anderem Fantasien mit einem exotischen Fruchtgeschmack nachgebildet werden.

Es gibt keinen Geburtstag ohne Kuchen und es ist nicht notwendig, ein süßer Lehrer zu sein, um dieses klare Konzept zu haben. Doch dieses Mal hat Oriol beschlossen, um dieses erste Jahrzehnt des Erfolgs in Madrid zu feiern, ein fabelhaftes Dessert zu erfinden. Dies ist eine Schokoladenmousse mit knusprigem Keks „Exotengelee“, ein köstlicher Wahnsinn, der bereits in der Boutique für die leidenschaftlichsten Schokoladenhändler erhältlich ist.

Auf jeden Fall ist das bestgehütete Geheimnis von Oriol Balaguer leicht zu entdecken. Sie müssen sich nur wieder von Geruch und Traum leiten lassen.

Oriol Balaguer

Um sein erstes Jahrzehnt in Madrid zu feiern, hat Oriol beschlossen, ein fabelhaftes Dessert zu erfinden: Schokoladenmousse mit knusprigem Keks „exotisches Gelee“ © Oriol Balaguer

DIE DUQUESITA VERGESSEN WIR NICHT

Kürzlich haben wir Ihnen die Geschichte Madrids aus über 100 Jahren Bäckerei erzählt. Eines davon, La Duquesita, das 1914 seine Reise antrat, wurde im vergangenen Jahr geschlossen und sorgte in der Madrider Öffentlichkeit für Aufsehen .

Die Entscheidung, diesen mythischen Tempel der Süßen wiederherzustellen, fiel Oriol nicht leicht, dessen Verpflichtung gegenüber Herrn Santamaría, die Tradition aufrechtzuerhalten, vom ersten Moment an offensichtlich war.

„Viele Leute sagen uns, dass La Duquesita Teil der Kultur Madrids ist, und bedanken uns für die Wiedererlangung. Es war wirklich eine sichere Sache, wenn wir der Tradition folgen würden, selbst wenn wir ihr unseren Stempel aufdrücken würden. Vor einem hundertjährigen Firmenjubiläum ist es unmöglich, nein zu sagen “, erklärt Oriol.

Um nach La Duquesita de Balaguer zu gelangen, muss man wie gewohnt nach La Duquesita fahren, wenn auch mit einer etwas anspruchsvolleren Atmosphäre. Wer nach La Duquesita geht, weiß, dass er die besten Palmen und Croissants in Madrid finden wird.

„Normale Palmen und Schokolade, Croissants und Panettone, die einen brutalen Erfolg hatten. Infolge des Preises stehen die Leute an, um ihn zu kaufen und sogar in Auftrag zu geben, damit er nicht ausgeht “, sagt der Lehrer.

Oriol hat es geschafft, dass die Kundschaft ihres Lebens sich immer noch auf diese hundertjährige Ecke verlässt, in der die Haare immer noch zu Scharten werden, wenn der Duft des Paradieses beim Öffnen der Tür von innen entweicht. Nur dafür kann man fast sagen, dass Oriol Balaguer der Lieblingssohn der Hauptstadt geworden ist. Er hat es verdient.

Oriol Balaguer

Der beste Konditor der Internationalen Akademie für Gastronomie feiert sein zehnjähriges Bestehen in Madrid © Getty Images

Oriol Balaguer

"Die Schokoladenlinie war ein voller Erfolg", sagt Oriol © Oriol Balaguer

Siehe 14 Fotos

Orte in Madrid, an denen Sie den Snack einnehmen können