Picos de Europa: Yosemite can wait

Anonim

Reading time 8 minutes

Let us surrender to the magnificence of the Naranjo de Bulnes, let us lose ourselves in the thicket of the Matona forest, challenge the throat of the Cares river and breathe very deeply when we reach Lake Enol.

These are the Picos de Europa, the domains of King Pelayo and the virgin of Covadonga; the first national park in Spain for a hundred years and to which we will pay the tribute it deserves with a trekking through its most emblematic places. But, first of all, how was the Covadonga Mountain National Park born?

Lago Enol

Enol Lake © iStock

YOUR FAVORITE REBECOS HUNTER

Asturias, 1904. The French, in a military desire to map half the world reach the Picos de Europa and crown their main summits except for one.

The Naranjo de Bulnes or Pico Urriellu, among Asturians, was the last great peak yet to be conquered; a calcareous monolith of 2, 519 meters above the Massif Central that still seems inaccessible today.

At that time, Pedro Pidal, Marqués de Villaviciosa and deputy to Cortes, in a show of patriotism decides to climb the most mythical mountain of the Cantabrian Mountains. And he does it in the company of Gregorio Pérez “El Cainejo” thus starring in the first great feat of Spanish mountaineering.

"That's when he begins to be interested in the landscape, sports and tourism value of the Picos de Europa" explains Luis Aurelio González, doctor of political philosophy with several publications about the region, "until then his favorite chamois hunter."

With his new “eco” mentality he travels to the USA. UU. to discover the sanctuaries of nature tourism: Yellowstone and Yosemite parks. In the latter, go up to Glacier Point to see the colossal pattern of canyons, waterfalls, redwood forests and granite mountains that were already beginning to be a magnet for tourists.

"If they can, why can't we?" Pidal must have thought. The bulk of the Naranjo de Bulnes has little to envy to that of El Capitan ; neither the Cares gorge to the Tenaya canyon, nor the Urdiales viewpoint to the Glacier Point gorge. The latter only lacked a road to compete with the Californian, but the Marquis would take care of it.

Vega Urriellu

Vega Urriellu © Getty Images

And in this way, on July 22, 1918, to the surprise of the press that saw him as another of the eccentricities of Pidal , the first national park in Spain, that of Covadonga Mountain, where history, the Nature and mysticism merge into one.

FROM PELAYO TO PIDAL

And we will merge with him ; starting at the place where King Pelayo would forge his legend, Covadonga, (Cangas de Onís) to finish where Pedro Pidal would also forge his: the Naranjo de Bulnes.

But let's be cautious, that the mountain does not forgive. The Picos de Europa (67, 455 ha) are formed by three massifs between Asturias, León and Cantabria, with a changing climate and nature, from sharp ridges of 2, 600 meters to bucolic meadows almost at sea level.

A sunny day on this hill can become rainy when you reach the next valley, or foggy, which is much worse. But don't panic that we have everything under control.

In our team of "Pico explorers" you can not miss the mountain boots, waterproof and warm clothes (welcome to the north), sunscreen, map, first aid kit and enough water.

Covadonga desde la Cruz de Priena

Covadonga from the Cruz de Priena © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Consulting the weather will avoid us more than a dislike and planning the route with time is always the most advisable. We will do it with Fernando Ruiz, the guide of Picos de Europa (and there are a few) that for more than 30 years have organized tailor-made excursions from their lodge in the House of the Mountain (Cangas de Onís).

In the Sanctuary of Covadonga we forget the car and let spirituality take over us as it does throughout the valley among an exuberant nature. A deep beech and oak forest climbs from the Vega del Vega river to the Matona, Cruz de Priena and Auseva mountains where the virgin of Covadonga hides in her Holy Cave over a waterfall.

We climb the stairs that lead to the Basilica, with neo-Gothic elegance and pinkish complexion that makes it shine in the middle of the foliage. At its doors, a statue of King Pelayo still defends the site today and since 722, commemorating the place where the first great battle of the Reconquest would win.

After this natural explosion and between a mystical halo we take east to cross the Massif del Cornión (Western) and conquer the imposing Urrieles (Central) until we reach the most emblematic of the Asturian mountains. Let's get ready to climb.

Basílica de Covadonga

Basilica of Covadonga © Getty Images

The slope of San Ginés allows us to dominate the slope of the Cruz de Priena and witness the monumental panoramic view of the Sanctuary from above.

We walk along the path that runs between hazelnuts, streams, sidewalks and hills to the Covadonga Lakes road (CO-4), where buses give way to leisurely cows and heroic cyclists that emulate one of the most iconic stages of the Tour of Spain . Before taking the car, you should consult the access plan on the park website.

A stony track frees us from the tired asphalt and leads us to the Collado de Uberdón, which protects the Vega de Comeya from the strong wind. From this muddy plain we will climb the El Escaleru tunnel to the outskirts of the Covadonga lakes.

It is now time for rest and meditation, to lie on the banks of the Enol and Ercina and see the snowy peaks reflected in its waters. A picture of the most bucolic, if the herds of tourists do not spoil it.

The House of Shepherds of Vega de Enol (€ 35), will be a good place to spend our first night on the mountain.

Las ovejas reinan junto a las cabañas invernales de Sotres

The sheep reign next to the winter huts of Sotres © Javier Martínez Mansilla

The path that departs from Tiese's fields and is lost on the mountain evokes our Pidal spirit and invites us to continue the march. Heading southwest, we go up to the Majada de las Bobias to continue along the hill of the Head of the Form (1, 717 m) to the Collado de Jito.

These are the Picos de Europa of which they had spoken to us. The soft pastures are giving way to the sharp limestone ridges and the nice cow cows are giving way to the chamois, which climb as if nothing snowy slopes.

Before us, one of the most spectacular prints of the national park with the Urrieles peaks unfolds, forming a gigantic wall of limestone ridges on which the Torrecerredo (2, 648 m), the roof of the Cantabrian Mountains, rises. Who remembers Yosemite now?

The jokes are over, we have risen to 1, 631 meters and we still want more, but let's rest first in the shelter of Vega de Ario (€ 15), and let's review our next stage with the mountaineers : the Trea canal.

Slowly and very carefully. This breathtaking path, 1, 200 meters of unevenness through caves, boulders and the occasional oak, ends in the park's most famous gorge, the Cares, and demands a good physical form and little fear of heights.

Vega de Ario

Vega de Ario © Getty Images

After Trea, walking along the "divine throat" becomes a peaceful walk with wonderful views of this gorge carved by Cares between mountains of more than two thousand meters.

In two hours we arrive at Poncebos where we will make an ascent (yes, another) through the Tejo river channel (GR-202) until we reach Bulnes (Cabrales).

The funicular that connects Poncebos Bridge with this village is also a very valid option (€ 22 round trip), although quite expensive.

Isolated in the middle of the mountain, Bulnes is one of the most picturesque villages in Asturias, with just 20 inhabitants and endless anecdotes to tell. We asked the locals for the best route to Naranjo de Bulnes. "Orange? Of that nothing, " they correct. Here (and throughout Asturias) is called Picu Urriellu. And that's it

We talked for a while about Cabrales cheese, grazing and life in general with the wisest of the place until we resume the climb to Urriellu. In a couple of hours we reach the Pandébano hill (1, 200 m), one of the best viewpoints of the Naranjo, which challenges us and invites us to take the pulse from the top of its wall of 550 meters of limestone. Small heroes were made Pidal and "El Cainejo".

Aldea de Bulnes

Village of Bulnes, isolated in the middle of the mountain © Javier Martínez Mansilla

The path leads us through the Majada de la Terenosa to the Collau Vallejo. We follow the silhouette of the huge Jou Lluengo, a valley of glacial origin where the fog begins to appear and the goats watch our way. How small Bulnes looks down there and how big the Urriellu up there.

Finally we reach the valley of Urriellu, at 1, 960 meters from altitu d, where the mountain environment reigns around the refuge (€ 15) and the camp at the foot of the legendary peak.

Un pastor vigila su rebaño

A shepherd watches over his flock © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Here the climbers prepare to crown one of the most tempting mountain peaks in the world and we … we will enjoy the atmosphere and the views from the base camp and begin to consider our way back to end in Sotres, at the gates of the massif Oriental (or Ándara). We have lived enough adventure.

El Parador de Cangas de Onís

The Parador de Cangas de Onís © Javier Martínez Mansilla

To eat, we chose the Peña Castil Restaurant in Sotres. Quality traditional cuisine to regain strength after the ascent of Urriellu (€ 20)

And to sleep, luxury and sobriety in a historic monastery on the banks of the Sella: the Parador de Cangas de Onís (€ 100-200). Or we can also choose the option of Heredad de la Cueste, a wonderful village house in Llenín (Cangas de Onís) with views of the western massif (from € 60).

Collado de Pandébano

Pandébano pass © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Picos de Europa: Yosemite kann warten | Natur 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 8 Minuten

Lassen Sie uns der Pracht des Naranjo de Bulnes hingeben, uns im Dickicht des Matona-Waldes verlieren, die Kehle des Cares-Flusses herausfordern und tief durchatmen, wenn wir den Enol-See erreichen .

Dies sind die Picos de Europa, die Domänen von König Pelayo und die Jungfrau von Covadonga; Der erste Nationalpark Spaniens seit hundert Jahren, dem wir die gebührende Ehre erweisen, wenn wir durch seine bedeutendsten Orte wandern. Aber wie ist der Covadonga Mountain National Park entstanden?

Lago Enol

Enol See © iStock

IHR LIEBLINGSREBECOS-JÄGER

Asturien, 1904. Die Franzosen, die die halbe Welt militärisch kartografieren wollen, erreichen die Picos de Europa und krönen ihre Hauptgipfel mit einer Ausnahme.

Der Naranjo de Bulnes oder Pico Urriellu unter den Asturiern war der letzte große Gipfel, der noch erobert werden musste. Ein kalkhaltiger Monolith in 2.519 Metern Höhe über dem Zentralmassiv, der heute noch unzugänglich zu sein scheint.

Zu dieser Zeit beschließen Pedro Pidal, Marqués de Villaviciosa und der Stellvertreter von Cortes in einer Schau des Patriotismus , den mythischsten Berg des Kantabrischen Gebirges zu besteigen. Und er tut es in Begleitung von Gregorio Pérez „El Cainejo“, der die Hauptrolle in der ersten großen Leistung des spanischen Bergsteigens spielt.

"Dann beginnt er sich für die Landschaft, den Sport und den Tourismus der Picos de Europa zu interessieren", erklärt Luis Aurelio González, Doktor der politischen Philosophie mit mehreren Veröffentlichungen über die Region.

Mit seiner neuen "Öko" -Mentalität reist er in die USA. UU. um die heiligtümer des naturtourismus zu entdecken: die parks yellowstone und yosemite. In letzterer steigen Sie zum Glacier Point hinauf, um das kolossale Muster von Canyons, Wasserfällen, Rotholzwäldern und Granitbergen zu sehen, die bereits Touristen anzogen.

"Wenn sie können, warum können wir nicht?", Musste Pidal nachgedacht haben. Der größte Teil des Naranjo de Bulnes hat wenig zu beneiden um den von El Capitan ; Weder die Cares-Schlucht bis zur Tenaya-Schlucht noch der Urdiales-Aussichtspunkt bis zur Glacier Point-Schlucht. Letzterer fehlte nur eine Straße, um mit dem Kalifornier zu konkurrieren, aber der Marquis würde sich darum kümmern.

 Vega Urriellu

Vega Urriellu © Getty Images

Und auf diese Weise, am 22. Juli 1918, zur Überraschung der Presse, die ihn als einen weiteren der Exzentrizitäten von Pidal ansah , dem ersten Nationalpark in Spanien, dem von Covadonga Mountain, wo die Geschichte, der Natur und Mystik verschmelzen.

VON PELAYO BIS PIDAL

Und wir werden mit ihm verschmelzen ; Beginnend an der Stelle, an der König Pelayo seine Legende Covadonga (Cangas de Onís) schmiedete, bis zum Ende, an der Pedro Pidal auch seine schmiedete: den Naranjo de Bulnes.

Aber seien wir vorsichtig, dass der Berg nicht verzeiht. Die Picos de Europa (67.455 ha) bestehen aus drei Massiven zwischen Asturien, León und Kantabrien mit wechselndem Klima und Natur, von scharfen Kämmen von 2.600 Metern bis hin zu bukolischen Wiesen fast auf Meereshöhe.

Ein sonniger Tag auf diesem Hügel kann regnerisch werden, wenn Sie das nächste Tal erreichen, oder neblig, was viel schlimmer ist. Aber keine Panik, wir haben alles im Griff.

In unserem Team von "Pico Explorers" dürfen Bergschuhe, wasserdichte und warme Kleidung (Willkommen im Norden), Sonnencreme, Karte, Erste-Hilfe-Kasten und genügend Wasser nicht fehlen .

Covadonga desde la Cruz de Priena

Covadonga aus dem Cruz de Priena © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Das Wetter zu konsultieren, wird uns mehr als nur Abneigung ersparen, und die zeitliche Planung der Route ist immer am ratsamsten. Wir werden es mit Fernando Ruiz tun, dem Führer der Picos de Europa (und es gibt einige), der seit mehr als 30 Jahren maßgeschneiderte Ausflüge von seiner Lodge im Haus des Berges (Cangas de Onís) aus organisiert.

Im Heiligtum von Covadonga vergessen wir das Auto und lassen uns von Spiritualität überraschen wie im Tal inmitten einer üppigen Natur. Ein tiefer Buchen- und Eichenwald steigt vom Fluss Vega del Vega zu den Bergen Matona, Cruz de Priena und Auseva, wo sich die Jungfrau von Covadonga in ihrer heiligen Höhle über einem Wasserfall versteckt.

Wir steigen die Treppe hinauf, die zur Basilika führt. Sie hat eine neugotische Eleganz und einen rosafarbenen Teint, der sie mitten im Laub erstrahlen lässt. Vor seinen Toren verteidigt eine Statue von König Pelayo noch heute und seit 722 den Ort, an dem die erste große Schlacht der Rückeroberung siegen würde.

Nach dieser natürlichen Explosion und zwischen einem mystischen Heiligenschein begeben wir uns nach Osten, um das Massif del Cornión (West) zu überqueren und die imposanten Urrieles (Zentral) zu erobern, bis wir das emblematischste der asturischen Berge erreichen. Machen wir uns bereit zum Klettern.

Basílica de Covadonga

Basilika von Covadonga © Getty Images

Der Hang von San Ginés ermöglicht es uns, den Hang des Cruz de Priena zu dominieren und den monumentalen Panoramablick auf das Heiligtum von oben zu beobachten.

Wir wandern auf dem Weg, der zwischen Haselnüssen, Bächen, Gehsteigen und Hügeln verläuft, zur Covadonga Lakes Road (CO-4), auf der Busse gemächlichen Kühen und heldenhaften Radfahrern Platz machen, die eine der berühmtesten Etappen von nachahmen die Tour durch Spanien . Bevor Sie mit dem Auto anreisen, sollten Sie den Zufahrtsplan auf der Website des Parks einsehen.

Ein steiniger Pfad befreit uns vom müden Asphalt und führt uns zum Collado de Uberdón, der die Vega de Comeya vor dem starken Wind schützt. Von dieser schlammigen Ebene aus werden wir den El Escaleru-Tunnel bis zum Rand der Covadonga-Seen erklimmen.

Jetzt ist es Zeit für Ruhe und Meditation, sich an die Ufer des Enol und des Ercina zu legen und die schneebedeckten Gipfel in seinem Wasser zu sehen. Ein Bild der Bukoliker, wenn die Touristenherden es nicht verderben.

Das Hirtenhaus von Vega de Enol (35 €) ist ein guter Ort, um unsere erste Nacht auf dem Berg zu verbringen.

Las ovejas reinan junto a las cabañas invernales de Sotres

Die Schafe regieren neben den Winterhütten von Sotres © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Der Weg, der von Tieses Feldern abweicht und auf dem Berg verloren geht, ruft unseren Pidal-Geist hervor und lädt uns ein, den Marsch fortzusetzen. In südwestlicher Richtung steigen wir zur Majada de las Bobias hinauf und folgen dem Hügel des Head of the Form (1.717 m) bis zum Collado de Jito.

Dies sind die Picos de Europa, von denen sie mit uns gesprochen hatten. Die weichen Weiden weichen den scharfen Kalkkämmen und die netten Kuhkühe den Gämsen, die klettern, als ob nichts Schneehänge.

Vor uns entfaltet sich einer der spektakulärsten Abdrücke des Nationalparks mit den Urrieles-Gipfeln und bildet eine gigantische Wand aus Kalksteinkämmen, auf der sich das Dach des Kantabrischen Gebirges, das Torrecerredo (2.648 m) erhebt. Wer erinnert sich jetzt an Yosemite?

Die Witze sind vorbei, wir sind auf 1.631 Meter gestiegen und wollen noch mehr, aber ruhen wir uns zuerst im Schutz von Vega de Ario aus (15 €) und schauen wir uns unsere nächste Etappe mit den Bergsteigern an : den Trea-Kanal.

Langsam und sehr vorsichtig. Dieser atemberaubende Weg, 1.200 Meter uneben durch Höhlen, Felsbrocken und gelegentliche Eichen, endet in der berühmtesten Schlucht des Parks, den Cares, und erfordert eine gute körperliche Verfassung und wenig Höhenangst.

Vega de Ario

Vega de Ario © Getty Images

Nach Trea wird ein Spaziergang entlang der "göttlichen Kehle" zu einem friedlichen Spaziergang mit herrlichem Blick auf diese von Cares geschnitzte Schlucht zwischen über zweitausend Meter hohen Bergen.

In zwei Stunden erreichen wir Poncebos, wo wir über den Tejo-Kanal (GR-202) einen Aufstieg (ja, noch einen) machen, bis wir Bulnes (Cabrales) erreichen.

Die Standseilbahn, die die Poncebos-Brücke mit diesem Dorf verbindet, ist ebenfalls eine sehr gültige Option (22 € Hin- und Rückfahrt), obwohl sie recht teuer ist.

Mitten in den Bergen gelegen, ist Bulnes eines der malerischsten Dörfer Asturiens mit nur 20 Einwohnern und endlosen Anekdoten. Wir fragten die Einheimischen nach dem besten Weg nach Naranjo de Bulnes. "Orange? Davon nichts", korrigieren sie. Hier (und in ganz Asturien) heißt Picu Urriellu. Und das war es auch schon

Wir sprachen eine Weile über Cabrales Käse, Weiden und das Leben im Allgemeinen mit den Klügsten des Ortes, bis wir den Aufstieg nach Urriellu fortsetzen. In ein paar Stunden erreichen wir den Pandébano-Pass (1.200 m), einen der besten Aussichtspunkte des Naranjo, der uns herausfordert und uns einlädt, den Puls von der Spitze seiner 550 Meter langen Kalksteinwand zu nehmen. Kleine Helden wurden zu Pidal und "El Cainejo" gemacht.

Aldea de Bulnes

Dorf Bulnes, isoliert in der Mitte des Berges © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Der Weg führt uns durch die Majada de la Terenosa zum Collau Vallejo. Wir folgen der Silhouette des riesigen Jou Lluengo, einem Tal eiszeitlichen Ursprungs, in dem der Nebel aufzutauchen beginnt und die Ziegen über unsere Passage wachen. Wie klein Bulnes dort unten aussieht und wie groß der Urriellu dort oben.

Schließlich erreichen wir das Tal von Urriellu auf 1.960 Metern Höhe, wo die Bergwelt um die Schutzhütte (15 €) und das Lager am Fuße des legendären Gipfels herrscht.

Un pastor vigila su rebaño

Ein Hirte wacht über seine Herde © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Hier bereiten sich die Kletterer darauf vor, einen der verlockendsten Berggipfel der Welt zu erklimmen, und wir ... werden die Atmosphäre und die Aussicht vom Basislager aus genießen und uns auf den Weg zurück nach Sotres, vor den Toren des Massivs, machen Orientalisch (oder Ándara). Wir haben genug Abenteuer erlebt.

El Parador de Cangas de Onís

Der Parador von Cangas de Onís © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Zum Essen haben wir uns für das Peña Castil Restaurant in Sotres entschieden. Hochwertige traditionelle Küche, um nach dem Aufstieg von Urriellu wieder zu Kräften zu kommen (20 €)

Und um zu schlafen, Luxus und Nüchternheit in einem historischen Kloster am Ufer der Sella: der Parador de Cangas de Onís (100-200 €). Oder wählen Sie Heredad de la Cueste, ein wunderschönes Dorfhaus in Llenín (Cangas de Onís) mit Blick auf das Westmassiv (ab 60 €).

Collado de Pandébano

Pandébano-Pass © Javier Martínez Mansilla