Stoneybatter: the metamorphosis of Dublin's working class neighborhood

Anonim

Reading time 6 minutes

Few talked about Dublin's working-class neighborhood and none approached here. We cross the Liffey River to leave the bourgeois and sophisticated Dublin of Grafton Street and Merrion Square to the south and enter the proletarian, hipster and effervescent Dublin .

Raised in red brick, Stoneybatter still remembers the sweat spilled in its smoking factories, the barricades raised in front of its warehouses and its gloomy alleys.

But things have changed a lot in recent years. "The Batter" is now the place of exclusive signature coffees, pubs with Celtic pedigree, independent cinemas, recording studios and even a book publisher.

La Última Cena en el Café Cagliostro

The Last Supper at Café Cagliostro © Javier Martínez Mansilla

THE NORTH DOES NOT FORGET

First the Celts and then the Vikings. "The Batter" is one of the oldest neighborhoods in Dublin whose origins date back to the Iron Age and the stony road that connected Dublin with Tara Hill, a sacred place for Celtic kings.

With the Norman invasion of Dublin (12th century) the Vikings, who had endorsed the city since the s. IX, they were expelled north of the Liffey, where they founded the Ostmenstown (village of the men of the east), today known as Oxmantown and located in the current Stoneybatter.

Good proof of the former northern neighbors of the neighborhood are the names of their streets: Thor Place, Sigurd Road, Ivar Street or Viking Road . Only Ragnar is missing.

But let's get back to that cool Stoneybatter. A mestizo town between the manufacturing tradition and Celtic spirit of yesteryear with the new cosmopolitan and cultural air granted by the young artists and artisans who have taken root here.

Observation Tower en Smithfield Square

Observation Tower in Smithfield Square © Javier Martínez Mansilla

In spite of the continuous gentrification of the neighborhood, and the rise in prices, this feeling of community is still preserved, the taste for the "old school" style and respect for the traditions that are increasingly difficult to find in the capital.

Let's sit down. We are twenty minutes walk from the center of Dublin or ten if we take the red line of the Luas tram. To the south, the Liffey separates us from the elegant The Liberties; To the east, Smithfield of the O'Connell Street commercial while the Phibsborough neighborhood adjoins the northern part and the Phoenix Park jungle in the west.

Deer are the masters of the Phoenix since 1662, when this 700-hectare reserve was created through which they run freely between forests, meadows and gardens.

The dimensions make it the largest urban park in Western Europe and make the bike the best ally to travel the roads that pass along the Wellington obelisk, the Papal Cross, the Dublin Zoo or the Presidential Residence. They say it is not uncommon to find hallucinogenic mushrooms around here, but that is another story.

Smithfield Square, un espacio peatonal moderno

Smithfield Square, a modern pedestrian space © Javier M.Mansilla

SMITHFIELD, BETWEEN WHISKEYS AND GAITAS

Smithfield Square is the gateway to old Dublin worker. The historic horse and cattle market has been reinvented as a modern pedestrian space, illuminated at night by twelve futuristic street lamps and easily located by the Observation Tower, the old chimney of the Jameson distillery with more than fifty meters high. A pity that is no longer accessible for security reasons.

The museum and visitor center of the Old Jameson Distillery (from 14 euros) is the legacy in Smithfield of the most famous liquor distillery in Ireland, whose current headquarters are in Cork.

El santuario del Whiskey, Jameson Distillery

The Sanctuary of Whiskey, Jameson Distillery © Javier M.Mansilla

Take a tour of the history of the purest whiskey in the world, at least according to the Irish, for its triple distillation versus double the Scotch whiskey. Everything is between Celts. They call it the "water of life", so take the glass, take a deep breath, give the cry of slainté and taste the essence of Ireland.

Other essential places in Smithfield are the Generator Hostel (from 16 euros), the largest hostel in Dublin where the adventurous atmosphere and international parties are never lacking; the internationally renowned Lighthouse Cinema and The Cobblestone pub, which deserves a separate chapter.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Dublin's biggest hostel © Generator Hostel Dublin

ONE DAY ANY IN "THE BATTER"

Avant-garde coffee shops, craft breweries, pubs, restaurants … The offer of trendy stores has become almost unattainable in Stoneybatter, so the only way not to go crazy is to plan (or try) the day in the working heart of Dublin. We can also follow the smell of coffee, the rhythm of folk or our own intuition directly. Anything goes.

After a day entrusted to the Phoenix Park, Smithfield and Cobblestone we will begin the next as mandated by "The Batter", with a coffee reactivator at Love Supreme (57 Manor St).

Love Supreme o el amor por el café

Love Supreme or love for coffee © Javier Martínez Mansilla

They had told us that in this small place, with chairs and pots hanging on their brick walls, they served the best coffee in the neighborhood. We ask for an express to take away, we try it and we believe it.

Before approaching the brunch of rigor in A SLICE of a Cake (56 Manor Place) we walk to The Lilliput Press (62 Sitric Road) to discover one of Dublin's most famous (and small) publishers.

A shared publication of SLICE (@ slicedublin7) on 12 Jun, 2018 at 11:54 PDT

Antony Farrell shows us his extensive collection and tells us the history of the bookstore while he sits in a reading chair with his greyhound dog at his feet.

Since 1984 Lilliput Press distributes biographies, historical novels, memoirs and books of all kinds from Stoneybatter.

Farrell explains that the publisher's name comes from a town in Westmeath, the bookseller's home county, where Jonathan Swift was inspired to baptize the Lilliput of "Gulliver's Travels."

Antony Farrel en The Lilliput Press

Antony Farrel in The Lilliput Press © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Back to the table. Another succulent alternative to A SLICE of a Cake (10 euros) is to surrender to the veal of My Meat Wagon (25 euros), specialist in roasts and grilled meat, although the salad and duck fillet of the Wuff (20 euros) also They are usually very tempting.

Sweet lovers will go to Green Door Bakery without hesitation and choose the almond croissant from the wide assortment of desserts and sweets from this flirtatious confectionery.

In the afternoon, we will discuss between visiting the National Museum of Ireland and walking to the Arbor Hill Cemetery, where the leaders of the Easter Rising of 1916 rest; or take a "street art" walk through the murals of the SUBSET project in Smithfield.

This group of artists have set out to turn Dublin into an open-air museum with its rebellious spirit and airbrush painting.

My Meat Wagon

Specialists in coals and roasts © My Meat Wagon

As night falls we approach L. Mulligan Grocer, a gastro pub with a taste for organic and detail.

The stewed lamb accompanied with a Yellowbelly Red Noir beer is a safe bet. So is testing your gin catalog. May the Old Jameson forgive us.

The Frank Ryan´s Bar is your place to live a football or rugby game like in the stadium and the Dice Bar for a pint before the night starts.

The Glimmer Man Pub, with its esthetic Irish pub, is a wise choice for those who go in search of a cocktail or a whiskey of level and, with permission of The Cobblestone, the Walsh´s does not disappoint if we talk about traditional music live. Not even for a Guinness, more would be missing.

The Cobblestone, una oda a la cultura celta

The Cobblestone, an ode to Celtic culture © Javier M.Mansilla

Stoneybatter: die Metamorphose von Dublins Arbeiterviertel | Städtereisen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 6 Minuten

Nur wenige sprachen über Dublins Arbeiterviertel und keiner kam hierher. Wir überqueren den Liffey River, um das bürgerliche und raffinierte Dublin der Grafton Street und des Merrion Square im Süden zu verlassen und betreten das proletarische, hipsterische und sprudelnde Dublin .

Stoneybatter ist aus rotem Backstein erzogen und erinnert sich noch heute an den Schweiß, der in seinen Rauchfabriken, den Barrikaden vor seinen Lagern und seinen düsteren Gassen verschüttet wurde .

Aber die Dinge haben sich in den letzten Jahren sehr verändert. "The Batter" ist heute der Ort für exklusive Kaffees, Pubs mit keltischem Stammbaum, unabhängige Kinos, Aufnahmestudios und sogar einen Buchverlag.

La Última Cena en el Café Cagliostro

Das letzte Abendmahl im Café Cagliostro © Javier Martínez Mansilla

DER NORDEN VERGESST NICHT

Erst die Kelten und dann die Wikinger. "The Batter" ist eines der ältesten Viertel in Dublin, dessen Ursprünge bis in die Eisenzeit zurückreichen und dessen steinige Straße Dublin mit Tara Hill verband, einem heiligen Ort für keltische Könige.

Mit der normannischen Invasion in Dublin (12. Jahrhundert) wurden die Wikinger, die die Stadt seit dem s befürwortet hatten. IX, sie wurden nördlich des Liffey vertrieben, wo sie das Ostmenstown (Dorf der Ostmänner ) gründeten, das heute als Oxmantown bekannt ist und sich im heutigen Stoneybatter befindet.

Ein guter Beweis für die ehemaligen nördlichen Nachbarn der Nachbarschaft sind die Namen ihrer Straßen: Thor Place, Sigurd Road, Ivar Street oder Viking Road . Nur Ragnar fehlt.

Aber lasst uns zu diesem coolen Stoneybatter zurückkehren. Eine Mestizenstadt zwischen der Herstellungstradition und dem keltischen Geist vergangener Zeiten mit dem neuen kosmopolitischen und kulturellen Flair der jungen Künstler und Handwerker, die hier Fuß gefasst haben.

Observation Tower en Smithfield Square

Aussichtsturm auf dem Smithfield Square © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Trotz der ständigen Aufwertung der Nachbarschaft und des Preisanstiegs bleibt dieses Gemeinschaftsgefühl, der Geschmack für den "old school" -Stil und der Respekt für die Traditionen, die in der Hauptstadt immer schwerer zu finden sind, erhalten.

Lass uns hinsetzen. Wir sind zwanzig Minuten zu Fuß vom Zentrum Dublins entfernt oder zehn, wenn wir mit der roten Linie der Luas-Straßenbahn fahren. Im Süden trennt uns der Liffey vom eleganten The Liberties; Im Osten befindet sich Smithfield in der O'Connell Street, während sich das Viertel Phibsborough an den nördlichen Teil und den Dschungel von Phoenix Park im Westen anschließt.

Hirsche sind die Meister des Phönix seit 1662, als dieses 700 Hektar große Reservat angelegt wurde, durch das sie frei zwischen Wäldern, Wiesen und Gärten laufen .

Die Dimensionen machen es zum größten Stadtpark Westeuropas und machen es zum besten Verbündeten, die Straßen entlang des Wellington-Obelisken, des Papstkreuzes, des Dubliner Zoos oder der Präsidentenresidenz zu befahren. Sie sagen, es sei nicht ungewöhnlich, hier halluzinogene Pilze zu finden, aber das ist eine andere Geschichte.

Smithfield Square, un espacio peatonal moderno

Smithfield Square, eine moderne Fußgängerzone © Javier M.Mansilla

SMITHFIELD, ZWISCHEN WHISKYS UND GAITAS

Der Smithfield Square ist das Tor zum alten Dubliner Arbeiter. Der historische Pferde- und Viehmarkt wurde als moderner Fußgängerbereich neu erfunden , der nachts von zwölf futuristischen Straßenlaternen beleuchtet wird und vom Aussichtsturm, dem alten Schornstein der Jameson-Brennerei mit einer Höhe von mehr als fünfzig Metern, leicht zu erreichen ist . Schade, dass aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht mehr erreichbar ist.

Das Museum und Besucherzentrum der Old Jameson Distillery (ab 14 Euro) ist das Erbe der berühmtesten Spirituosenbrennerei Irlands in Smithfield , deren heutiger Hauptsitz sich in Cork befindet.

El santuario del Whiskey, Jameson Distillery

Das Heiligtum des Whiskys, Jameson Distillery © Javier M.Mansilla

Machen Sie eine Tour durch die Geschichte des reinsten Whiskys der Welt, zumindest nach Ansicht der Iren. Alles ist zwischen Kelten. Sie nennen es das "Wasser des Lebens", also nehmen Sie das Glas, atmen Sie tief ein, schreien Sie nach Slainté und probieren Sie die Essenz Irlands.

Andere wichtige Orte in Smithfield sind das Generator Hostel (ab 16 Euro), das größte Hostel in Dublin, in dem es nie an abenteuerlicher Atmosphäre und internationalen Partys mangelt. das international bekannte Lighthouse Cinema und The Cobblestone Pub, die ein eigenes Kapitel verdienen .

Generator Hostel Dublin

Dublins größtes Hostel © Generator Hostel Dublin

EIN TAG IM "BATTER"

Avantgardistische Cafés, Handwerksbrauereien, Pubs, Restaurants ... Das Angebot an trendigen Läden ist in Stoneybatter fast unerreichbar geworden. Der einzige Weg, nicht verrückt zu werden, besteht darin, den Tag im geschäftigen Herzen Dublins zu planen (oder zu versuchen) . Wir können auch den Geruch von Kaffee, den Rhythmus des Volkes oder unsere eigene Intuition direkt verfolgen. Alles geht

Nach einem Tag, der dem Phoenix Park, Smithfield und Cobblestone anvertraut wurde, werden wir den nächsten Tag mit einem Kaffeereaktivator im Love Supreme (57 Manor St) beginnen.

Love Supreme o el amor por el café

Liebe Supreme oder Liebe zum Kaffee © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Sie hatten uns erzählt, dass sie an diesem kleinen Ort mit Stühlen und Töpfen an den Ziegelwänden den besten Kaffee in der Nachbarschaft servierten. Wir bitten um einen Express zum Mitnehmen, wir versuchen es und wir glauben es.

Bevor wir in A SLICE of a Cake (56 Manor Place) an Bord des rigorosen Brunch gehen, begeben wir uns zur Lilliput Press (62 Sitric Road), um einen der berühmtesten (und kleinsten) Verlage Dublins zu entdecken.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von SLICE (@ slicedublin7) am 12. Juni 2018 um 11:54 PDT

Antony Farrell zeigt uns seine umfangreiche Sammlung und erzählt uns die Geschichte des Buchladens, während er mit seinem Windhundhund zu seinen Füßen auf einem Lesesessel sitzt.

Seit 1984 vertreibt Lilliput Press Biografien, historische Romane, Memoiren und Bücher aller Art von Stoneybatter.

Farrell erklärt, dass der Name des Verlegers aus einer Stadt in Westmeath stammt, der Heimatstadt des Buchhändlers, in der Jonathan Swift inspiriert wurde, den Liliput von "Gullivers Reisen" zu taufen .

Antony Farrel en The Lilliput Press

Antony Farrel in der Lilliput-Presse © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Zurück zum Tisch. Eine weitere saftige Alternative zu A SLICE of a Cake (10 Euro) ist das Verzichten auf das Kalbfleisch von My Meat Wagon (25 Euro), einem Spezialisten für Braten und Grillfleisch, aber auch auf das Salat- und Entenfilet von the Wuff (20 Euro) Sie sind normalerweise sehr verlockend.

Süße Liebhaber werden ohne zu zögern zur Green Door Bakery gehen und das Mandelcroissant aus dem breiten Sortiment an Desserts und Süßigkeiten aus dieser koketten Konditorei auswählen.

Am Nachmittag diskutieren wir zwischen dem Besuch des irischen Nationalmuseums und dem Spaziergang zum Arbor Hill Cemetery, wo sich die Führer des Osteraufstands von 1916 ausruhen. Oder machen Sie einen "Street Art" Spaziergang durch die Wandgemälde des SUBSET- Projekts in Smithfield.

Diese Gruppe von Künstlern hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Dublin mit seinem rebellischen Geist und seiner Airbrush-Malerei in ein Freilichtmuseum zu verwandeln.

My Meat Wagon

Spezialist für Kohlen und Braten © My Meat Wagon

Bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit nähern wir uns L. Mulligan Grocer, einem Wirtshaus mit Sinn für Bio und Details.

Das gedämpfte Lammfleisch, begleitet von einem Yellowbelly Red Noir-Bier, ist eine sichere Sache. Testen Sie also Ihren Gin-Katalog. Möge der alte Jameson uns vergeben.

In der Frank Ryan´s Bar können Sie ein Fußball- oder Rugbyspiel wie im Stadion und in der Dice Bar ein Bier trinken, bevor die Nacht beginnt.

Der Glimmer Man Pub mit seinem ästhetischen Irish Pub ist eine kluge Wahl für diejenigen, die einen Cocktail oder einen Whisky der Spitzenklasse suchen, und mit Erlaubnis von The Cobblestone enttäuschen die Walsh´s nicht, wenn wir über traditionelle Musik sprechen leben Nicht einmal für ein Guinness würde mehr fehlen.

The Cobblestone, una oda a la cultura celta

Der Kopfsteinpflaster, eine Ode an die keltische Kultur © Javier M.Mansilla