Forget Havana: Sagua la Grande awaits you in Cuba with all the rhythm

Anonim

Reading time 4 minutes

Rarely do you feel the excitement of arriving in a city where practically the entire population - children, adults, musicians, vendors - waits in their eagerness to entertain newcomers to the Cuban way, where music and dance are the genuine protagonists.

People took to the streets dressed in their best clothes to celebrate the day when the old city of Sagua la Grande, located between the Sierra de Jumagua and the sea, was presented as Cuba's new tourist destination.

El Palacio de Arenas, un gran exponente del Art Noveau, reconvertido en el hotel Palacio de Arena, en Sagua la Grande.

The Palacio de Arenas, a great exponent of Art Noveau, converted into the Palacio de Arena hotel, in Sagua la Grande. © Manena Munar

A SPECIAL DAY TO SAGUA LA GRANDE

The Minister of Tourism, Manuel Marrero Cruz, master of ceremonies during the visit to Sagua la Grande, reviewed the history of the city, whose historical center was declared a National Heritage in 2011, going back to the origins of this town in the province Central Villa Clara, once the province of Las Villas, founded on December 8, 1812 by Juan Caballero.

Sagua la Grande was not particularly involved in the War of Independence, so I enjoy a brilliant development during the second half of the 19th century and the first of the 20th century: royal neoclassical buildings and art noveau were built and it was one of the first towns to develop Progress such as sewage, rail, viaduct and the first telephone network of the center of Cuba.

Here the first romantic poem of the country, by Francisco Poveda and Armanteros, was written, it was published from the first scientific newspaper, El Eco de las VIllas, the first lay school, Luz y Verdad, was born, and was constituted from the first political party after the Spanish colonization .

It was one of the first Cuban cities to enjoy electric power, without forgetting its powerful sugar industry, the second most important in times of the Republic.

Sagua la Grande presume de espíritu artístico, en ella nacieron varios de los artistas cubanos más reconocidos a nivel mundial.

Sagua la Grande boasts an artistic spirit, in which several of the most recognized Cuban artists worldwide were born. © Manena Munar

CAYOS CULTURAL COMPLEMENT

During the presentation, the importance of Sagua la Grande was emphasized as a cultural complement to the sun and beach destination of the nearby Cayo Esquivel, since the city is a nest of native artists, such as the great Cuban painter Wilfredo Lam or Antonio Machín, author by Angelitos Negros, El Manisero …

Also born here are the sublime musician Rodrigo Pratts, the poet Rosalia Castro and Kid Gavilán, one of the many great boxers that the city has given.

Puente del Triunfo, enlace de las riberas del río Undoso y lugar de paseo para la población.

Puente del Triunfo, link of the banks of the Undoso river and place of walk for the population. © Manena Munar

SAGUA THE BIG OPENS ABROAD

Marrero also reported on the potential investments of well-known international hotel chains in the city. He took advantage of the event to announce the agreement between the French agency Louvre Hotels and the Cuban company Cubanacán to convert the Spanish Casino (one of the most beloved buildings in the city) into a hotel and recalled how the German agency Thomas Cook has incorporated Sagua la Grande in its winter catalog.

There was also talk about the works on the El Triunfo bridge, link of the banks of the Undoso river and place of walk of the population, which crosses it to contemplate the flow of the flow.

The river Sagua or Undoso, which divides the city, takes its navigators to the port of Isabela de Sagua, while showing them the unusual landscape of its meanders and the curious caves of river origin: the Mogotes de Jumagua.

Riberas del río Undoso por el que se navega hasta el puerto de Isabela de Sagua.

Banks of the Undoso River through which you navigate to the port of Isabela de Sagua. © Manena Munar

NEW TOURIST DESTINATION

After the event, the Minister of Tourism gave Carlos Amaury Figueredo, first secretary of the PCC, and Aurora González Sánchez, president of the government in the northern municipality, the distinction that formalizes Sagua la Grande as a new tourist destination.

And as proof of the beginning of this new stage, the official entourage inaugurated two emblematic and newly restored buildings converted into hotels: the Arenas Palace, a great exponent of Art Nouveau, and the Hotel Sagua.

On the street, the sagüeros had a great time. To the hope of a new future for his city, we would have to add the jaranero character that the good Cuban enjoys and the ease to have fun, qualities that turned that day into an authentic revelry where rum and beer ran, danced to the rhythm of the sauce and the Cuban son, he ate suckling pig and corn … There seemed to be nothing more important in the world than the opening of Sagua la Grande to international tourism.

Inaugurado hace un mes, el Gran Hotel Sagua, en Sagua la Grande (Cuba).

Opened a month ago, the Gran Hotel Sagua, in Sagua la Grande (Cuba). © Manena Munar

JOURNEY NOTEBOOK

There are many ways to get to Sagua la Grande, located about 270 kilometers from Havana. By boat from the port of Isabela de Sagua, by train or by road from the beaches of Varadero, passing near the hot springs of Elguea and the Corralillo campsites. Also from the city of Santa Clara, prelude to the keys of Santa María, Las Brujas and Ensenachos. More information at: www.cubatravel.cu

Los vecinos de Sagua la Grande esperaban para agasajar a los recién llegados.

The residents of Sagua la Grande waited to entertain the new arrivals. © Manena Munar

Uno de los vecinos de Sagua la Grande durante el evento.

One of the neighbors of Sagua la Grande during the event. © Manena Munar

Vergessen Sie Havanna: Sagua la Grande erwartet Sie in Kuba im ganzen Rhythmus | Städtereisen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 4 Minuten

Selten verspüren Sie die Aufregung, in eine Stadt zu kommen, in der praktisch die gesamte Bevölkerung - Kinder, Erwachsene, Musiker, Verkäufer - darauf wartet, Neulinge auf kubanische Art und Weise zu unterhalten, in der Musik und Tanz die Hauptrolle spielen echte Protagonisten.

Die Menschen gingen in ihren besten Kleidern auf die Straße, um den Tag zu feiern, an dem die alte Stadt Sagua la Grande, die zwischen der Sierra de Jumagua und dem Meer liegt, als neues Reiseziel Kubas vorgestellt wurde.

El Palacio de Arenas, un gran exponente del Art Noveau, reconvertido en el hotel Palacio de Arena, en Sagua la Grande.

Der Palacio de Arenas, ein großer Vertreter des Jugendstils, wurde in das Palacio de Arena Hotel in Sagua la Grande umgewandelt. © Manena Munar

EIN BESONDERER TAG NACH SAGUA LA GRANDE

Der Tourismusminister Manuel Marrero Cruz, Zeremonienmeister während des Besuchs in Sagua la Grande, berichtete über die Geschichte der Stadt, deren historisches Zentrum 2011 zum Nationalerbe erklärt wurde, und ging auf die Ursprünge dieser Stadt in der Provinz zurück Zentrale Villa Clara, einst die Provinz Las Villas, wurde am 8. Dezember 1812 von Juan Caballero gegründet.

Sagua la Grande war nicht besonders in den Unabhängigkeitskrieg verwickelt, daher habe ich in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts und in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts eine glänzende Entwicklung erlebt : Königliche neoklassizistische Gebäude und Jugendstilgebäude wurden gebaut, und es war eine der ersten Städte, die sich entwickelten Fortschritte wie Abwasser, Schiene, Viadukt und das erste Telefonnetz des Zentrums von Kuba.

Hier wurde das erste romantische Gedicht des Landes von Francisco Poveda und Armanteros geschrieben, es wurde aus der ersten wissenschaftlichen Zeitung, El Eco de las VIllas, veröffentlicht, die erste Laienschule, Luz y Verdad, wurde geboren und bildete sich aus der ersten politischen Partei nach der spanischen Kolonialisierung .

Es war eine der ersten kubanischen Städte, die Strom verbrauchte, ohne die mächtige Zuckerindustrie zu vergessen , die in Zeiten der Republik die zweitwichtigste war.

Sagua la Grande presume de espíritu artístico, en ella nacieron varios de los artistas cubanos más reconocidos a nivel mundial.

Sagua la Grande verfügt über einen künstlerischen Geist, in dem mehrere der weltweit anerkanntesten kubanischen Künstler geboren wurden. © Manena Munar

CAYOS KULTURELLE ERGÄNZUNG

Während der Präsentation wurde die Bedeutung von Sagua la Grande als kulturelle Ergänzung zum Sonnen- und Strandziel des nahe gelegenen Cayo Esquivel hervorgehoben, da die Stadt ein Nest einheimischer Künstler wie des großen kubanischen Malers Wilfredo Lam oder des Schriftstellers Antonio Machín ist von Angelitos Negros, El Manisero ...

Ebenfalls hier geboren sind der großartige Musiker Rodrigo Pratts, die Dichterin Rosalia Castro und Kid Gavilán, einer der vielen großartigen Boxer, die die Stadt geschenkt hat.

Puente del Triunfo, enlace de las riberas del río Undoso y lugar de paseo para la población.

Puente del Triunfo, Verbindung der Ufer des Flusses Undoso und Fußgängerzone für die Bevölkerung. © Manena Munar

SAGUA DAS GROSSE ÖFFNET SICH IM AUSLAND

Marrero berichtete auch über mögliche Investitionen bekannter internationaler Hotelketten in der Stadt. Er nutzte die Veranstaltung, um die Vereinbarung zwischen der französischen Agentur Louvre Hotels und der kubanischen Firma Cubanacán bekannt zu geben , das spanische Casino (eines der beliebtesten Gebäude der Stadt) in ein Hotel umzuwandeln, und erinnerte sich daran, wie die deutsche Agentur Thomas Cook Sagua la Grande übernommen hat in seinem Winterkatalog.

Es wurde auch über die Arbeiten an der El Triunfo-Brücke gesprochen, der Verbindung des Ufers des Undoso-Flusses und der Fußgängerzone der Bevölkerung, die ihn durchquert, um den Fluss des Flusses zu betrachten.

Der Fluss Sagua oder Undoso, der die Stadt trennt, bringt seine Seefahrer zum Hafen von Isabela de Sagua und zeigt ihnen die ungewöhnliche Landschaft seiner Mäander und die merkwürdigen Höhlen des Flussursprungs: die Mogotes de Jumagua.

Riberas del río Undoso por el que se navega hasta el puerto de Isabela de Sagua.

Ufer des Flusses Undoso, durch den Sie zum Hafen von Isabela de Sagua navigieren. © Manena Munar

NEUES TOURISTISCHES ZIEL

Nach der Veranstaltung überreichte der Tourismusminister Carlos Amaury Figueredo, dem ersten Sekretär des PCC, und Aurora González Sánchez, dem Präsidenten der Regierung der nördlichen Gemeinde, die Auszeichnung, die Sagua la Grande als neues Reiseziel auszeichnet.

Und als Beweis für den Beginn dieser neuen Etappe weihte das offizielle Gefolge zwei emblematische und neu restaurierte Gebäude ein, die in Hotels umgewandelt wurden: den Arenas-Palast, einen großen Vertreter des Jugendstils, und das Hotel Sagua.

Auf der Straße hatten die Sagüeros eine tolle Zeit. In der Hoffnung auf eine neue Zukunft für seine Stadt müssten wir den Jaranero-Charakter, den der gute Kubaner genießt, und die Leichtigkeit, Spaß zu haben, hinzufügen. Eigenschaften, die diesen Tag zu einem authentischen Festmahl machten, bei dem Rum und Bier im Rhythmus von getanzt wurden Die Sauce und der kubanische Sohn aßen Spanferkel und Mais ... Es schien nichts Wichtigeres auf der Welt zu geben als die Öffnung von Sagua la Grande für den internationalen Tourismus.

Inaugurado hace un mes, el Gran Hotel Sagua, en Sagua la Grande (Cuba).

Das Gran Hotel Sagua wurde vor einem Monat in Sagua la Grande (Kuba) eröffnet. © Manena Munar

REISE-NOTIZBUCH

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, nach Sagua la Grande zu gelangen, das etwa 270 Kilometer von Havanna entfernt liegt. Mit dem Boot vom Hafen von Isabela de Sagua, mit dem Zug oder mit dem Auto von den Stränden von Varadero, vorbei an den heißen Quellen von Elguea und den Campingplätzen von Corralillo. Auch aus der Stadt Santa Clara, Auftakt zu den Schlüsseln von Santa María, Las Brujas und Ensenachos. Weitere Informationen unter: www.cubatravel.cu

Los vecinos de Sagua la Grande esperaban para agasajar a los recién llegados.

Die Bewohner von Sagua la Grande warteten darauf, die Neuankömmlinge zu unterhalten. © Manena Munar

Uno de los vecinos de Sagua la Grande durante el evento.

Einer der Nachbarn von Sagua la Grande während der Veranstaltung. © Manena Munar