Lucía Freitas, renewing Galician cuisine in Santiago (and in New York)

Anonim

Reading time 6 minutes

Like so many other chefs, Lucia Freitas discovered cooking in her family. “Whenever something special had to be cooked, my father and I did it in Bilbao, the wood stove, ” he says. His father was the one who discovered the fire and also the raw material.

See 53 photos

The most influential women on the planet of gastronomy

“He put the little seed for me to be a cook. Although in my house they were all of letters, they realized immediately that I liked to go alone in the kitchen and I spent the hours, ”he says by phone returning from Madrid to Santiago, after cooking at the pop-up fair Galician crafts and gastronomy up Knowledge and flavors. And today you can boast your first Michelin star.

But no one said that getting to the award was simple. When I was not in the kitchen, Freitas was on television attached to “the Arguiñano program or the Kitchen Channel”. The Arzak book they gave him became his bedside reading. That is why when he decided to dedicate himself professionally to what had been more than a hobby of a girl and teenager, leaving to study in the Basque Country was the most obvious. "And it was ignorance, " he admits now. “I didn't know that in Santiago there is one of the best schools in Spain. But my idea of ​​cooking always came from there: my book by Arzak, Arguiñano… For me, the Basque Country was a reference and it was a dream to go there ”.

A Tafona

The sea and the garden is his world. © Arxina

From Bilbao he went to Barcelona, ​​to the pastry school of Jordi Butrón. “I always set some goals, I analyze my life well in advance and my life was always to have a restaurant. That was always my dream, ”he explains. “I never understood very well why cooking and pastry did not go together, for me they go hand in hand, it was incomprehensible to have a restaurant and not be a cook and a good pastry chef. You want everything to be yours in the restaurant. ”

Lucia Freitas enjoys both cooking and pastry. “I don't like being bounded, when I've worked for other people - he worked at Celler Can Roca, Mugaritz, Tàpies, El Bohío -, he was changing, he couldn't be alone in the kitchen or just in the bakery. I define myself as a cook and pastry chef, ”he says.

And he adds: “When you have a restaurant, you have to be a good cook, a good pastry chef, a good manager, to know how to organize a pica, you have to enjoy everything… I enjoy cooking some cheeks, as well as organizing the washing of dishes in the most effective. It's everything, it's a life, you have to enjoy all the parts of having a restaurant. ”

Lucía Freitas

Always raw material first. © Ovid Aldegunde

Because cooking is not a trade, it is your life. She is not cook the hours she spends in the kitchen of her house, A Tafona, her restaurant, her dream, she is always cook and pastry chef.

After years out of his homeland, when it was time to shape his dream he decided to return home, to Galicia, to Santiago. “I was working in Mallorca, and the morriña strip, I had been out since I was 19 and when you work in this sector you don't have much free time to go back and visit your family, ” he says.

His idea was to "work for others", with 27 years he still had, he seemed ready to set up his own restaurant, but he had no choice. "There were no restaurants that wanted to do what I did, " he recalls. Today he also admits that being a woman at this level of cooking is not easy either: "Because they don't trust you to give you a restaurant."

"And sometimes trains pass and you have to catch them: I had the opportunity to take care of a restaurant, I had the money I had, which was not much." He opened A Tafona and began to develop his cuisine that he defines as "very based on the sea and seasonality." But as it is for any Galician, he says.

Lucia Freitas

Curly oyster Freitas is a cook from the sea, from her Galician sea. © Knowledge and flavors

The market of the Plaza de Abastos, which is next door, is its supplier and the heart of that kitchen in which it continues to create. "In my house I like to give things that are not usual, to cook things that people do not do in their homes, " he said last Monday in Madrid while preparing a curly oyster or a rooster's crest.

"A creative chef who only makes jack, horse and king has to be horrible, " he also said. Freitas believes she is fortunate to have clients that allow her to continue creating and growing. A Tafona began as a restaurant with “a good menu of the day and a gastronomic part”. Until two years ago everything changed.

A Tafona

© Arxina

“I was a mother two years and three months ago, a month after being a mother, some Americans ate at my house and I had the opportunity to advise on the opening of a Galician restaurant in New York - Tomiño -. I was in charge of designing the menu, the kitchen, looking at suppliers … It comforted me a lot because when you go through bad times, such an opportunity reinforces you when it comes to valuing your work. And economically he supposed to encourage me to invest in my dream. ”

He reformed A Tafona, removed the menu of the day and focused on the gastronomic part. Nine and a half years after opening it, the experience "has been very hard, but also very rewarding." Now he has fulfilled his dream completely and every day upon entering it he still does not believe it.

Lucía Freitas is one of the cooks who is valuing Galician cuisine beyond her product. Perhaps what failed in Galicia for many years, he believes. And the job she and other chefs have now is to “recover the tradition and renew it. ” “We have to realize the cuisine we have here in which respect for the product is above all, ” he says.

Lucía Freitas

To Tafona, Tomiño in New York and now Lume. © Ovid Aldegunde

And from that respect to the product and its desire to continue growing, in "little more than a month and a half", opens his second dream, very close to the first, only separated by his favorite place, the Plaza de Abastos de Santiago: it is called Lume, will be in Rúa das Ameas, "one of the most gastronomic" of the city and will be for all audiences, he explains.

“It's going to be a direct kitchen, it's the center, so much that the diners look at the kitchen only and exclusively, ” he says . “It's like a theater, to see how the chefs prepare the ingredients we are going to buy every day with the fire in the square. It will be a more informal version, where to take a couple of dishes to share. ”

“So I close the circle, I am complete, I no longer have to give up any client, I want Tafona to be seen as something special, not every day, to come, get carried away and enjoy. And Lume is to go any day of the week, snack, informal, enjoy how people are cooking for you, people for whom cooking is your life. ”

* Article published on June 13, 2018 and updated on November 22, 2018 after the publication of the new Michelin stars.

See 53 photos

The most influential women on the planet of gastronomy

Lucía Freitas, Erneuerung der galizischen Küche in Santiago (und in New York) | Gastronomie 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 6 Minuten

Wie so viele andere Köche entdeckte Lucia Freitas das Kochen in ihrer Familie. „Wann immer etwas Besonderes gekocht werden musste, haben mein Vater und ich es in Bilbao, dem Holzofen, gemacht“, sagt er. Sein Vater war derjenige, der das Feuer und auch den Rohstoff entdeckte.

Siehe 53 Fotos

Die einflussreichsten Frauen auf dem Planeten der Gastronomie

„Er hat den kleinen Samen für mich als Koch hingelegt. Obwohl in meinem Haus alle Briefe waren, wurde ihnen sofort klar, dass ich gerne allein in die Küche ging und die Stunden dort verbrachte “, sagt er telefonisch und kehrt von Madrid nach Santiago zurück, nachdem er auf der Pop-up-Messe gekocht hatte Galizisches Handwerk und Gastronomie bringen Wissen und Aromen auf den Punkt. Und heute können Sie sich mit Ihrem ersten Michelin-Stern rühmen.

Aber niemand sagte, dass es einfach sei, zur Auszeichnung zu kommen. Wenn ich nicht in der Küche war, war Freitas im Fernsehen bei "The Arguiñano Program" oder "The Kitchen Channel" zu sehen. Das Arzak-Buch, das sie ihm gaben, wurde zu seiner Bettlesung. Als er sich beruflich dem widmete, was mehr als ein Hobby von Mädchen und Teenagern war, war es deshalb am offensichtlichsten, im Baskenland zu studieren. "Und es war Unwissenheit", gibt er jetzt zu. „Ich wusste nicht, dass es in Santiago eine der besten Schulen in Spanien gibt. Aber meine Idee vom Kochen kam immer von dort: Mein Buch von Arzak, Arguiñano… Für mich war das Baskenland eine Referenz und es war ein Traum, dorthin zu gehen. “

A Tafona

Das Meer und der Garten ist seine Welt. © Arxina

Von Bilbao ging er nach Barcelona in die Konditorei von Jordi Butrón. „Ich habe mir immer Ziele gesetzt, ich analysiere mein Leben im Voraus und mein Leben bestand immer darin, ein Restaurant zu haben. Das war schon immer mein Traum “, erklärt er. „Ich habe nie richtig verstanden, warum Kochen und Gebäck nicht zusammenpassen, für mich gehen sie Hand in Hand, es war unverständlich, ein Restaurant zu haben und kein Koch und ein guter Konditor zu sein. Sie möchten, dass im Restaurant alles Ihnen gehört. “

Lucia Freitas genießt sowohl das Kochen als auch das Backen. „Ich mag es nicht, gefesselt zu sein, wenn ich für andere gearbeitet habe - er hat bei Celler Can Roca, Mugaritz, Tàpies, El Bohío gearbeitet -, er hat sich verändert, er konnte nicht allein in der Küche oder nur in der Bäckerei sein. Ich definiere mich als Koch und Konditor “, sagt er.

Und er fügt hinzu: „Wenn man ein Restaurant hat, muss man ein guter Koch sein, ein guter Konditor, ein guter Manager, um einen Pica zu organisieren, muss man alles genießen. Ich mag es, ein paar Wangen zu kochen und das Abwaschen von Geschirr zu organisieren wirksam. Es ist alles, es ist ein Leben, man muss alle Teile eines Restaurants genießen. “

Lucía Freitas

Immer zuerst das Rohmaterial. © Ovid Aldegunde

Weil Kochen kein Beruf ist, ist es dein Leben. Sie kocht nicht die Stunden, die sie in der Küche ihres Hauses verbringt, A Tafona, ihrem Restaurant, ihrem Traum, sie ist immer Köchin und Konditorin.

Nach Jahren außerhalb seiner Heimat, als es Zeit war, seinen Traum zu verwirklichen, entschloss er sich, nach Galizien, nach Santiago zurückzukehren. „Ich habe auf Mallorca gearbeitet und war seit meinem 19. Lebensjahr auf dem Morriña-Strip. Wenn du in diesem Sektor arbeitest, hast du nicht viel Zeit, um deine Familie zu besuchen“, sagt er.

Seine Idee war, "für andere zu arbeiten". Mit 27 Jahren schien er bereit zu sein, ein eigenes Restaurant zu errichten, aber er hatte keine andere Wahl. "Es gab keine Restaurants, die das wollten, was ich getan habe", erinnert er sich. Heute gibt er auch zu, dass es auch nicht einfach ist, eine Frau auf diesem Niveau zu sein: "Weil sie dir nicht vertrauen, dir ein Restaurant zu geben."

"Und manchmal fahren Züge vorbei und man muss sie erwischen: Ich hatte die Gelegenheit, mich um ein Restaurant zu kümmern, ich hatte das Geld, das ich hatte, was nicht viel war." Er eröffnete A Tafona und begann, seine Küche zu entwickeln , die er als "sehr auf dem Meer und der Saisonalität basierend" definiert. Aber wie bei jedem Galizier, sagt er.

Lucia Freitas

Lockige Auster Freitas ist eine Köchin aus dem Meer, aus ihrem galizischen Meer. © Wissen und Aromen

Der Markt an der Plaza de Abastos, gleich nebenan, ist sein Lieferant und das Herz der Küche, in der es nicht aufhört zu kreieren. "In meinem Haus gebe ich gerne Dinge, die nicht üblich sind, um Dinge zu kochen, die die Leute in ihren Häusern nicht tun", sagte er am vergangenen Montag in Madrid, während er eine geschweifte Auster oder ein Hahnwappen zubereitete.

"Ein kreativer Koch, der nur Bube, Pferd und König macht, muss schrecklich sein", sagte er auch. Freitas glaubt, dass sie das Glück hat, Kunden zu haben, die es ihr ermöglichen, weiter zu kreieren und zu wachsen. Ein Tafona begann als Restaurant mit „einem guten Menü des Tages und einem gastronomischen Teil“. Bis vor zwei Jahren hat sich alles geändert.

A Tafona

© Arxina

„Ich war vor zwei Jahren und drei Monaten Mutter, einen Monat nachdem ich Mutter geworden war, haben einige Amerikaner in meinem Haus gegessen und ich hatte die Gelegenheit, über die Eröffnung eines galizischen Restaurants in New York zu beraten - Tomiño -. Ich war verantwortlich für die Gestaltung der Speisekarte, die Küche, die Suche nach Lieferanten ... Es hat mich sehr getröstet, denn in schlechten Zeiten stärkt mich eine solche Gelegenheit, wenn es darum geht, Ihre Arbeit zu bewerten. Und wirtschaftlich sollte er mich ermutigen, in meinen Traum zu investieren. “

Er reformierte A Tafona, entfernte das Menü des Tages und konzentrierte sich auf den gastronomischen Teil. Neuneinhalb Jahre nach der Eröffnung war die Erfahrung "sehr schwer, aber auch sehr lohnend". Jetzt hat er sich seinen Traum vollständig erfüllt und glaubt es jeden Tag, wenn er ihn betritt, immer noch nicht.

Lucía Freitas ist eine der Köche, die die galizische Küche über ihr Produkt hinaus schätzt. Vielleicht, was in Galizien viele Jahre lang versagt hat, glaubt er. Und die Aufgabe, die sie und andere Köche jetzt haben, ist es, „die Tradition wiederzugewinnen und sie zu erneuern “.

Lucía Freitas

Nach Tafona, Tomiño in New York und jetzt nach Lume. © Ovid Aldegunde

Und aus dieser Rücksicht auf das Produkt und seinen Wunsch, in "etwas mehr als anderthalb Monaten" weiter zu wachsen, öffnet sich sein zweiter Traum, der dem ersten sehr nahe kommt, der nur durch seinen Lieblingsplatz, die Plaza de Abastos de Santiago, getrennt ist: Es heißt Lume wird in Rúa das Ameas sein, "einer der kulinarischsten " der Stadt, und wird für alle Zuschauer sein, erklärt er.

"Es wird eine direkte Küche sein, es ist das Zentrum, so sehr, dass die Gäste nur und exklusiv auf die Küche schauen . Es ist wie in einem Theater, zu sehen, wie die Köche die Zutaten zubereiten, die wir jeden Tag mit dem Feuer kaufen." auf dem Platz. Es wird eine informellere Version sein, in der Sie ein paar Gerichte zum Teilen einnehmen können. “

„Also schließe ich den Kreis, ich bin vollständig, ich muss keinen Kunden mehr aufgeben, ich möchte, dass Tafona als etwas Besonderes angesehen wird, nicht jeden Tag, um zu kommen, sich hinreißen zu lassen und zu genießen. Und Lume soll jeden Tag in der Woche essen, ungezwungen sein, genießen, wie die Leute für Sie kochen, für die das Kochen Ihr Leben ist. “

* Artikel veröffentlicht am 13. Juni 2018 und aktualisiert am 22. November 2018 nach der Veröffentlichung der neuen Michelin-Sterne.

Siehe 53 Fotos

Die einflussreichsten Frauen auf dem Planeten der Gastronomie