On the road through Mallorca: the Sa Calobra road

Anonim

Reading time 5 minutes

The processions of tourists do not take away an iota of charm to the road of Sa Calobra, qualified as one of the most beautiful, spectacular, dangerous and demanding of Spain … and the world You have to try it!

The MA-2141 road, on the island of Mallorca, It only has 14 kilometers of travel, but it is 14 kilometers devilish, full of sharp and linked curves, on precipices cut to the peak, by a narrow road, without a central line, with few 'quitamiedos' and with traffic of cyclists, cars and buses. A stimulating experience in a spectacular landscape.

Getting to Sa Calobra (La Culebra), a small town and cove in the Sierra de Tramuntana, on the northwest coast of the island of Mallorca, is not easy, it tests the hands and nerves of the most experienced drivers. But the effort deserve the sorrow.

La carretera de Sa Calobra se esconde en la sierra de Tramuntana

The road of Sa Calobra is hidden in the Tramuntana mountains © Getty Images

POSTCARD DESTINATION

Encased among the cuts of the mountains, with rocky walls up to 200 meters high and with spectacular turquoise waters, it is a postcard cove where you can enjoy wonderful sunsets.

That is why it appears in the excursions of all tour operators by land, but also by sea, to prevent customers from getting dizzy. The result is that in the summer months it is so crowded that you wonder if the photos you have seen in the brochures or on the Internet have been retouched with Photoshop to eliminate humans.

La cala del pequeño pueblo de Sa Calobra

The cove of the small town of Sa Calobra © Getty Images

The MA-2141 starts from the MA-10 road, which crosses the entire mountain range from Andratx to Pollensa, in the town of Escorca, 38 km from Sóller and at the foot of Puig Major, the highest point in the Balearic Islands (about 1, 500 meters ) and the Puig de Massanella.

It ends in a paid parking on the beach of Cala Tuent, but before arriving there is a deviation to access the cove of Sa Calobra, which gives its name to the road. In the last kilometers it is called 'Carrer Port de Sa Calobra' and is one-way.

The cove has been formed over thousands of years and although the sand is rather stony it is one of the few beaches in the Tramuntana Mountains.

La carretera de Sa Calobra se esconde en la sierra de Tramuntana

The road of Sa Calobra is hidden in the Tramuntana mountains © Getty Images

TURNS UP TO 360 DEGREES

The road unfolds between two ravines, the Morro de Sa Vaca and the Morro de Ses Fel-les, in 14 kilometers of vertigo descent that allow to save the around 800 meters of unevenness.

Curves linked to right and left, 12 of 180 degrees in horseshoe and one that has its own name, as in a circuit, that of the Tie Knot (Nus de Sa Corbata), a complete 360 ​​degree turn in which the road passes under itself with a small bridge. At this point there is a viewpoint from which you can see in perspective the curves that we have overcome or that we still have to draw.

ENGINEERING 1932

The design of this road madness, which is curled in the landscape stones, was the work of the engineer Antonio Parietti, also responsible for the road that leads to Cape Formentor, northeast of the island.

It was built in 1932, only with the strength of man, without machinery and without any tunnel, which makes it even more spectacular. The chronicles tell that for its construction they moved more than 30, 000 cubic meters of stones. It covers the 800 meters of slope with slopes in some sections of 7% and with others surprisingly narrow, encased between the rock walls.

Un cartel indica la dirección a Sa Calobra

A sign indicates the direction to Sa Calobra © Getty Images

From Sa Calobra you can access the nearby mouth of the Torrente de Pareis, which runs through a deep canyon for three kilometers. To reach the point where it merges with the sea there is a narrow walkway of about 300 meters with a tunnel carved into the rock. This torrent has been a National Monument since 2003.

The Mallorcan Sierra de Tramuntana has been a focus of tourist attraction since the 19th century. Archduke Luis Salvador de Habsburg was the first hippie in northern Europe who bought possessions in the Tramuntana and invited his cousin Elizabeth of Austria, Sissi, to visit him . Both were ahead of the masses of Germans who now populate the island of Mallorca.

The musician Frédéric Chopin and his partner, the writer George Sand, spent a winter in Mallorca in 1838 and stayed in Valldemossa. That year the weather was terrible, maybe like this, but it was very prolific for both authors. The British writer Robert Graves, author of Yo, Claudio lived intermittently in Deià from 1929 until his death in 1985.

And the Argentine writer Julio Cortázar thought he saw the green ray of a sunset, of which Julio Verne spoke, when he visited the Tramuntana.

The American actor Michael Douglas acquired in 1989 a spectacular mansion near Valldemossa, S'Estaca. There he spent the summer with his wife at the time, Diandra, and then with Catherine Zeta-Jones.

Las curvas de la carretera de Sa Calobra

The curves of the Sa Calobra road © Getty Images

To serve the illustrious visitors of the 21st century, the Mallorcan Sierra is dotted with elegant hotels such as Es Molí, which occupies a stately 17th-century house, or Belmond La Residencia, with an art gallery and spa.

READINGS IN PONIENTE

Carme Riera's latest novel, The Last Words, is a story about Archduke Luis Salvador written as a fictional manuscript where he talks about his life in Mallorca and his participation in the turbulent politics of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Lea Vélez set in 1835 an investigation of murder carried out by the woman of the coroner of Mallorca in La Cirjana de Palma . In Mallorca there is also part of the novel Blitz by David Trueba.

La carretera de Sa Calobra está reservada para los más atrevidos

The Sa Calobra road is reserved for the most daring © Getty Images

Auf der Straße durch Mallorca: die Sa Calobra Straße | Natur 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 5 Minuten

Die Prozessionen der Touristen nehmen nicht viel Charme die Straße von Sa Calobra, die als eine der schönsten, spektakulärsten, gefährlichsten und anspruchsvollsten Spaniens gilt ... und die Welt, die Sie ausprobieren müssen!

Die MA-2141 Straße, auf der Insel Mallorca, Es hat nur 14 Kilometer Fahrt, aber es ist 14 Kilometer teuflisch, voller scharfer und verbundener Kurven, auf Abgründen, die durch eine schmale Straße ohne Mittellinie mit wenigen Quitamiedos und mit dem Verkehr von Radfahrern, Autos und Bussen bis zum Gipfel geschnitten sind . Ein anregendes Erlebnis in einer spektakulären Landschaft.

Es ist nicht einfach, nach Sa Calobra (La Culebra) zu gelangen, einer kleinen Stadt und Bucht in der Sierra de Tramuntana an der Nordwestküste der Insel Mallorca. Hier werden die Hände und die Nerven der erfahrensten Fahrer auf die Probe gestellt. Aber der Aufwand lohnt sich.

La carretera de Sa Calobra se esconde en la sierra de Tramuntana

Die Straße von Sa Calobra ist im Tramuntana-Gebirge versteckt. © Getty Images

POSTKARTEN-ZIEL

Inmitten der Berge, mit bis zu 200 Meter hohen Felswänden und spektakulärem türkisfarbenem Wasser ist es eine Postkartenbucht, in der Sie wunderbare Sonnenuntergänge genießen können.

Deshalb taucht es bei Ausflügen aller Reiseveranstalter auf dem Land-, aber auch auf dem Seeweg auf, um das Schwindelgefühl der Kunden zu vermeiden. Das Ergebnis ist, dass es in den Sommermonaten so voll ist, dass Sie sich fragen, ob die Fotos, die Sie in den Broschüren oder im Internet gesehen haben, mit Photoshop bearbeitet wurden, um Menschen zu eliminieren.

La cala del pequeño pueblo de Sa Calobra

Die Bucht der kleinen Stadt Sa Calobra © Getty Images

Die MA-2141 beginnt an der MA-10, die die gesamte Bergkette von Andratx nach Pollensa durchquert, in der Stadt Escorca, 38 km von Sóller entfernt und am Fuße des Puig Major, dem höchsten Punkt der Balearen (ca. 1.500 m) ) und der Puig de Massanella.

Es endet mit einem kostenpflichtigen Parkplatz am Strand von Cala Tuent, doch bevor Sie ankommen, müssen Sie eine Abzweigung zur Bucht von Sa Calobra machen, die der Straße ihren Namen gibt. Auf den letzten Kilometern heißt es "Carrer Port de Sa Calobra" und ist in eine Richtung.

Die Bucht wurde über Tausende von Jahren geformt und obwohl der Sand ziemlich steinig ist, ist er einer der wenigen Strände im Tramuntana-Gebirge.

La carretera de Sa Calobra se esconde en la sierra de Tramuntana

Die Straße von Sa Calobra ist im Tramuntana-Gebirge versteckt. © Getty Images

DREHT SICH BIS ZU 360 GRAD

Die Straße verläuft zwischen zwei Schluchten, dem Morro de Sa Vaca und dem Morro de Ses Fel-les, in 14 Kilometern schwindelerregender Abfahrt, um die rund 800 Meter Unebenheit zu retten.

Rechts und links verbundene Kurven, 12 von 180 Grad in Hufeisenform und eine Kurve, die ihren eigenen Namen hat, wie in einem Rundkurs, der des Krawattenknotens (Nus de Sa Corbata), eine vollständige 360-Grad-Kurve, in der die Straße verläuft unter sich mit einer kleinen Brücke. An diesem Punkt gibt es einen Blickwinkel, von dem aus Sie die Kurven, die wir überwunden haben oder die wir noch zeichnen müssen, perspektivisch sehen können.

ENGINEERING 1932

Das Design dieses Straßenwahnsinns, der sich in den Landschaftssteinen zusammenrollt, war das Werk des Ingenieurs Antonio Parietti, der auch für die Straße verantwortlich ist, die zum Kap Formentor im Nordosten der Insel führt.

Es wurde 1932 gebaut, nur mit menschlicher Kraft, ohne Maschinen und ohne Tunnel, was es noch spektakulärer macht. Aus den Chroniken geht hervor, dass sie für ihren Bau mehr als 30.000 Kubikmeter Steine ​​bewegt haben. Es erstreckt sich über 800 m Hänge mit teilweise 7% Gefälle und mit überraschend schmalen Hängen zwischen den Felswänden.

Un cartel indica la dirección a Sa Calobra

Ein Schild zeigt die Richtung nach Sa Calobra © Getty Images

Von Sa Calobra aus erreichen Sie die nahe gelegene Mündung des Torrente de Pareis, die drei Kilometer durch eine tiefe Schlucht führt. Um den Punkt zu erreichen, an dem es mit dem Meer verschmilzt, gibt es einen schmalen, etwa 300 Meter langen Fußweg mit einem in den Felsen gehauenen Tunnel. Dieser Strom ist seit 2003 ein nationales Denkmal.

Die mallorquinische Sierra de Tramuntana ist seit dem 19. Jahrhundert ein touristischer Anziehungspunkt. Erzherzog Luis Salvador de Habsburg war der erste Hippie in Nordeuropa, der Besitztümer in der Tramuntana kaufte und seine Cousine Elizabeth von Österreich, Sissi, zu einem Besuch einlud . Beide standen vor der Masse der Deutschen, die jetzt die Insel Mallorca bevölkern.

Der Musiker Frédéric Chopin und sein Partner, der Schriftsteller George Sand, verbrachten 1838 einen Winter auf Mallorca und blieben in Valldemossa. In diesem Jahr war das Wetter schrecklich, vielleicht so, aber es war für beide Autoren sehr produktiv. Der britische Schriftsteller Robert Graves, Autor von Yo, Claudio, lebte von 1929 bis zu seinem Tod 1985 zeitweise in Deià.

Und der argentinische Schriftsteller Julio Cortázar glaubte den grünen Strahl eines Sonnenuntergangs zu sehen, von dem Julio Verne sprach, als er die Tramuntana besuchte.

Der amerikanische Schauspieler Michael Douglas erwarb 1989 ein spektakuläres Herrenhaus in der Nähe von Valldemossa, S'Estaca. Dort verbrachte er den Sommer mit seiner damaligen Frau Diandra und dann mit Catherine Zeta-Jones.

Las curvas de la carretera de Sa Calobra

Die Kurven der Straße von Sa Calobra © Getty Images

Um den berühmten Besuchern des 21. Jahrhunderts gerecht zu werden, finden Sie in der mallorquinischen Sierra elegante Hotels wie das Es Molí in einem stattlichen Haus aus dem 17. Jahrhundert oder das Belmond La Residencia mit einer Kunstgalerie und einem Spa.

LESUNGEN IN PONIENTE

Carme Rieras neuester Roman, The Last Words, handelt von Erzherzog Luis Salvador, der als fiktives Manuskript über sein Leben auf Mallorca und seine Teilnahme an der turbulenten Politik des späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts berichtet.

Lea Vélez leitete 1835 eine Morduntersuchung ein, die von der Frau des Gerichtsmediziners von Mallorca in La Cirjana de Palma durchgeführt wurde . Auf Mallorca gibt es auch einen Teil des Romans Blitz von David Trueba.

La carretera de Sa Calobra está reservada para los más atrevidos

Die Straße von Sa Calobra ist den Wagemutigsten vorbehalten. © Getty Images