Wicklow: the most bucolic and overwhelming Dublin

Anonim

Reading time 7 minutes

When you are tired of listening to Molly Malone at Temple Bar, posing as a university student at Trinity College or taking Pints ​​of Guiness (if anyone can), we suggest you take the bus or car, start thinking green and Dublin escapes.

But don't go too far either. That a place has been baptized as the "garden of Ireland" on the emerald island, has much merit and has aroused our curiosity. Reality or tourist product? Let's get out of doubt.

A little over an hour (30 km) south of the Irish capital, Wicklow County is the weekend paradise of the dubliners for its green hills covered with gorse and ferns, vast moors where you can not see more that won, a colorful countryside dotted with Palladian gardens and estates and glacial valleys where enigmatic paleochristian deposits appear in the mist .

Paisaje de Wicklow

Wicklow landscape © Getty Images

THE SWEET IRISH CAMPIÑA

At O'Connell Street we take the bus to Wicklow. It is early and the clouds do not predict the sunniest of days but John, our driver and guide, is able to lift the mood of a dead man with his jokes about Irish and his harsh voice to sing folk.

From the south we leave the city to travel the road (R-118) that borders the coast. On the left, we can see the Howth peninsula, shaped like a cup, while John starts with a list of irish pub-style music that he says never fails.

12 km from Dublin is Dún Laoghaire, a beautiful port city from where ferries depart for Liverpool and Wales and where walkers travel the East Pier, a long breakwater that goes into the sea.

Puerto de Dún Laoghaire

Port of Dún Laoghaire © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

We make a stop to contemplate the skyline of the port in front of the beach of the “lunatics”, named after John, because every day (whether winter or summer) comes a group of brave people to bathe. They are not lunatics, John, they are Irish. The DART train (€ 2.50) arrives here from Dublin.

The road continues next to the sea-side mansions of the Killiney neighborhood. We imagine what it would be like to live like Enya, Sinead O'Connor or Bono, in a small house on a hill alone for us overlooking the sea. Although that of the U2 vocalist seems more like a sanctuary, at least its gate, decorated with messages from fans and lyrics.

Already in Wicklow County, the landscape becomes (even) friendlier, with elegant haciendas and colorful Italian-style gardens such as Powerscourt Estate (€ 5 entrance), an impressive Palladian palace. In Kilmacanogue we discovered the Avoca Handweavers, the wool textile empire that has dominated the island since 1723.

Restaurante Avoca Handweavers

Avoca Handweavers Restaurant © Javier Martínez Mansilla

THE VALLEY OF THE TWO LAKES

The enclosure looks like a giant glass- covered Victorian greenhouse where we find a cafeteria, foodmarket, nursery, florist, a design studio and elegant restaurant. Freshly baked honey and spelled bread? A piece of shepherd's pie (lamb) or chicken and broccoli crumble?

To accompany the tea we will bet on the classic lemon cake, to decorate the house an original Buttoms ceramic vase or a ficus and to try on a linen shirt or anything of wool already thinking of autumn. Here in the middle of this landscaped environment next to centuries-old forests and lonely mountains like the Sugar Loaf everything seems very fresh and very vital. Yes it looks like the garden of Ireland Wicklow.

La cocina de San Kevin entre lápidas y cruces celtas

St. Kevin's kitchen between gravestones and Celtic crosses © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

Valle de Glendalough

Glendalough Valley © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

A DESOLADOR PARK

The idyllic landscape becomes increasingly rough as we go along the Old Military Road (R-115) and a sense of desolation is taking over us and everything that reaches our sight.

We cross an undulating territory of green hills, which they call mountains, but which are hills, since the highest , Lugnaquilla, does not exceed 924 m. The fog comes and goes like a curtain that discovers and hides small villages of just two or three separate houses, with farms surrounded by primitive stone walls where goats devour the spiny gorse (tojo), increasingly widespread in the region.

Lugnaquilla alt=

Lugnaquilla in the background, reigning over the landscape © Getty Images

The Old Military Road was built by the English in the s. XIX to hunt for Irish rebels fleeing through this maze of coniferous forests and valleys dominated by heather and fern over the dark peat land. Without leaving the bus we can feel the humidity of the soil that absorbs the water and the streams that descend from the shale slopes.

We have entered the Wicklow Mountains National Park (200 km2) formed by the moors and bogs of the Glendalough Valley, between mountains and glacial lakes, and by the thick forests of oaks that hide deer, squirrels, badgers, and foxes . This rugged spot has been the scene of films like Excalibur or Braveheart and series like Vikings.

To explore this area in depth, the Wicklow Way is the most popular hiking trail in Ireland of 40 km through these remote moors from Glendalough to Augrhim. Quiet that it is not necessary to cross it all at once.

Old Military Road

Old Military Road © Getty Images

Just before reaching the Glendalough Valley we went to the delicious stew at the Guiness ("Biddy's Guinness Beef Stew") of the Jakes Bar at the Lynhams of Laragh hotel.

Newspaper clippings of rugby and football matches, shields, flags, bull antlers, posters and old photographs decorate the walls. As it is an Irish pub, we tried the Snitwicks beer, the stew is already well loaded with Guiness, and so are we.

The origins of Glendalough (248 inhabitants) revolve around the figure of St. Kevin. In the middle of the 6th century this noble Irishman decided to renounce a life of opulence and lust in court to take the monastic habit and flee to the deepest part of the forest to meditate in full communion with nature.

Lower Lake

Lower Lake © Javier Martínez Mansilla

He took refuge in the hollow of a tree next to an ancient Celtic altar and from there began to preach with the word of God, to work miracles, convert pagans and found a monastery. This mythical place was protected by steep mountains that formed "the valley of the two lakes", in Gaelic: Glendalough.

The monastery (16th century) would soon become an important pilgrimage center that suffered terrible sieges of Vikings (922) and Normans (1176), until the English, in 1398, finally destroyed this symbol of Irish culture.

We cross the walls that lead us to the ruins of Glendalough cornered by a relentless nature that gives it a romantic component while sinister. Normally this is a movie set. The rocky vestiges are interspersed with the Celtic crosses, gravestones and slabs of the cemetery that is still in use, where two perfectly preserved buildings stand out above the valley.

El Upper Lake era un lugar de culto para los celtas

The Upper Lake was a place of worship for the Celts © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

The cylindrical tower (sX), 33 meters high, was used to store food, manuscripts and gold in the face of a Viking attack while their bells rang loudly to alert the monks. At the southern end of the enclosure, the small St. Kevin Kitchen, is a beautiful stone hermitage with a tiny cylindrical bell tower and fireplace reminiscent of that of a home.

From the cross of San Kevin we distinguish the remains of the old cathedral of San Pedro and San Pablo (12th century) and in the background a gravel path that is lost in the thicket of the forest next to Lake Lower. We take the route between ancient oaks dominated by moss and jumping deer until we reach the Upper Lake, at the bottom of the valley, topped by an impressive waterfall surrounded by two cliffs in its southern part.

On the bank of this dark lagoon is the bed of St. Kevin (Teampall na Skellig), the original settlement where the hermit lived for years. A pity that can only be accessed by boat (and no one is seen), so we will settle for contemplating it from the walkway next to the shore.

The sun rises and the whole valley is filled with green, yellow, gray and brown colors that embrace the black waters of the Upper Lake. Celtic legends tell us that in this lake lived a gigantic reptile-shaped monster. Where have we heard that already?

Paseando por los bosques de Wicklow

Walking through the forests of Wicklow © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Wicklow: das bukolischste und überwältigendste Dublin | Natur 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 7 Minuten

Wenn Sie es satt haben, Molly Malone in Temple Bar zuzuhören , als Studentin am Trinity College zu posieren oder Pints ​​of Guiness zu nehmen (wenn irgendjemand kann), empfehlen wir Ihnen, mit dem Bus oder dem Auto anzufangen und grün zu denken Dublin entkommt.

Aber geh auch nicht zu weit. Dass ein Ort als "Garten Irlands" auf der smaragdgrünen Insel getauft wurde, hat viel Verdienst und hat unsere Neugier geweckt. Realität oder touristisches Produkt? Lassen Sie uns aus dem Zweifel geraten.

Etwas mehr als eine Stunde (30 km) südlich der irischen Hauptstadt liegt Wicklow County, das Wochenendparadies der Dubliner mit seinen grünen Hügeln voller Stechginster und Farne das siegte, eine farbenfrohe Landschaft mit Gärten und palladianischen Haciendas und Gletschertälern, in denen rätselhafte paläochristliche Ablagerungen im Nebel auftauchen .

Paisaje de Wicklow

Wicklow-Landschaft © Getty Images

DAS SÜßE IRISCHE CAMPIÑA

In der O'Connell Street fahren wir mit dem Bus nach Wicklow. Es ist früh und die Wolken sagen nicht den sonnigsten Tag voraus, aber John, unser Fahrer und Führer, ist in der Lage, die Stimmung eines Toten mit seinen Witzen über Irisch und seine raue Stimme zu heben, um Leute zu singen.

Aus dem Süden verlassen wir die Stadt, um die Straße (R-118) entlang der Küste zu fahren. Links sehen wir die Halbinsel Howth, die wie eine Tasse geformt ist, während John mit einer Liste irischer Musik im Pub-Stil beginnt, von der er sagt, dass sie niemals versagt.

12 km von Dublin entfernt liegt Dún Laoghaire, eine wunderschöne Hafenstadt, von der aus Fähren nach Liverpool und Wales ablegen und von der aus Wanderer den East Pier befahren, einen langen Wellenbrecher, der ins Meer mündet.

Puerto de Dún Laoghaire

Hafen von Dún Laoghaire © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

Wir machen einen Zwischenstopp, um die Skyline des Hafens vor dem Strand der „Irren“ zu betrachten, der nach John benannt wurde, weil jeden Tag (ob Winter oder Sommer) eine Gruppe mutiger Leute zum Baden kommt. Sie sind keine Wahnsinnigen, John, sie sind Iren. Der DART-Zug (2, 50 €) kommt hier aus Dublin an.

Die Straße führt weiter zu den Villen am Meer im Viertel Killiney. Wir stellen uns vor, wie es wäre, wie Enya, Sinead O'Connor oder Bono in einem kleinen Haus auf einem Hügel mit Blick auf das Meer zu leben. Obwohl das des U2-Sängers eher wie ein Zufluchtsort erscheint, ist es zumindest ein Tor, das mit Botschaften von Fans und Texten geschmückt ist.

Bereits im Wicklow County wird die Landschaft (noch) freundlicher, mit eleganten Haciendas und farbenfrohen Gärten im italienischen Stil wie dem Powerscourt Estate (5 € Eintritt), einem beeindruckenden palladianischen Palast. In Kilmacanogue entdeckten wir die Avoca Handweavers, das Wolltextilimperium, das die Insel seit 1723 beherrscht.

Restaurante Avoca Handweavers

Avoca Handweavers Restaurant © Javier Martínez Mansilla

DAS TAL DER ZWEI SEEN

Das Gehege sieht aus wie ein riesiges, verglastes viktorianisches Gewächshaus, in dem sich eine Cafeteria, ein Lebensmittelmarkt, ein Kindergarten, ein Blumengeschäft, ein Designstudio und ein elegantes Restaurant befinden. Frisch gebackener Honig und Dinkelbrot? Ein Stück Hirtenkuchen (Lamm) oder Hähnchen-Brokkoli-Streusel?

Zum Tee setzen wir auf den klassischen Zitronenkuchen, dekorieren das Haus mit einer originalen Buttoms-Keramikvase oder einem Ficus und probieren ein Leinenhemd oder etwas Wolliges an, das schon an den Herbst denkt. Hier inmitten dieser Landschaft, neben jahrhundertealten Wäldern und einsamen Bergen wie dem Zuckerhut, wirkt alles sehr frisch und sehr vital. Ja, es sieht aus wie der Garten von Irland Wicklow.

La cocina de San Kevin entre lápidas y cruces celtas

St. Kevins Küche zwischen Grabsteinen und keltischen Kreuzen © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

Valle de Glendalough

Tal von Glendalough © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

EIN DESOLADOR-PARK

Die idyllische Landschaft wird auf der Old Military Road (R-115) immer rauer und ein Gefühl der Trostlosigkeit überkommt uns und alles, was uns zu Gesicht kommt.

Wir durchqueren ein welliges Gebiet von grünen Hügeln, die sie Berge nennen, die aber Hügel sind, da die höchste , Lugnaquilla, 924 m nicht überschreitet. Der Nebel kommt und geht wie ein Vorhang, der kleine Dörfer mit nur zwei oder drei getrennten Häusern entdeckt und verbirgt, mit Bauernhöfen, die von primitiven Steinmauern umgeben sind, in denen Ziegen den Stechginster (tojo) verschlingen, der in der Region zunehmend verbreitet ist.

Lugnaquilla title=

Lugnaquilla im Hintergrund über der Landschaft © Getty Images

Die Old Military Road wurde von den Engländern in den s gebaut. XIX auf der Jagd nach irischen Rebellen, die durch dieses Labyrinth von Nadelwäldern und Tälern fliehen, das von Heidekraut und Farn über dem dunklen Torfland dominiert wird . Ohne den Bus zu verlassen, spüren wir die Feuchtigkeit des Bodens, der das Wasser aufnimmt, und die Bäche, die von den Schieferhängen herabfließen.

Wir haben den Wicklow Mountains National Park (200 km2) betreten, der durch die Moore und Sümpfe des Glendalough Valley zwischen Bergen und Gletscherseen und durch die dichten Eichenwälder gebildet wird, in denen Hirsche, Eichhörnchen, Dachse und Füchse versteckt sind . Dieser raue Ort war Schauplatz von Filmen wie Excalibur oder Braveheart und Serien wie Vikings.

Der Wicklow Way ist mit 40 km Länge der beliebteste Wanderweg in Irland, der von Glendalough nach Augrhim führt. Ruhig, dass es nicht nötig ist, alles auf einmal zu überqueren.

Old Military Road

Alte Militärstraße © Getty Images

Kurz bevor wir im Glendalough Valley ankamen, gingen wir zum köstlichen Eintopf im Guiness ("Biddy's Guinness Beef Stew") der Jakes Bar im Lynhams of Laragh Hotel.

Zeitungsausschnitte von Rugby- und Fußballspielen, Schilde, Flaggen, Stiergeweihe, Plakate und alte Fotografien zieren die Wände. Da es sich um eine irische Kneipe handelt, probierten wir das Snitwicks-Bier, der Eintopf ist bereits reich an Guiness, und wir auch.

Die Ursprünge von Glendalough (248 Einwohner) drehen sich um die Figur des Heiligen Kevin. In der Mitte des 6. Jahrhunderts entschloss sich dieser edle Ire, ein Leben voller Opulenz und Begierde vor Gericht aufzugeben, um die klösterliche Gewohnheit aufzugeben und in den tiefsten Teil des Waldes zu fliehen, um in völliger Gemeinschaft mit der Natur zu meditieren .

Lower Lake

Unterer See © Javier Martínez Mansilla

Er suchte Zuflucht in der Baumhöhle neben einem alten keltischen Altar und begann von dort mit dem Wort Gottes zu predigen, Wunder zu wirken, Heiden zu bekehren und ein Kloster zu gründen. Dieser mythische Ort wurde von steilen Bergen geschützt, die auf Gälisch "das Tal der beiden Seen" bildeten : Glendalough.

Das Kloster (16. Jahrhundert) sollte bald ein wichtiges Pilgerzentrum werden, das schreckliche Belagerungen durch Wikinger (922) und Normannen (1176) erlebte, bis die Engländer 1398 dieses Symbol der irischen Kultur endgültig zerstörten .

Wir überqueren die Mauern, die uns zu den Ruinen von Glendalough führen, die von einer unbarmherzigen Natur umgeben sind, die ihm eine romantische Komponente verleiht, während sie finster ist. Normalerweise ist dies eine Filmkulisse. Die felsigen Überreste sind mit den keltischen Kreuzen, Grabsteinen und Platten des Friedhofs durchsetzt, der noch heute genutzt wird. Über dem Tal ragen zwei perfekt erhaltene Gebäude heraus.

El Upper Lake era un lugar de culto para los celtas

Der Obere See war eine Kultstätte der Kelten © Javier Mártinez Mansilla

In dem 33 Meter hohen zylindrischen Turm (sX) wurden Lebensmittel, Manuskripte und Gold aufbewahrt, während die Glocken laut läuteten, um die Mönche zu alarmieren. Am südlichen Ende des Geheges befindet sich die kleine St.-Kevin-Küche, eine wunderschöne Einsiedelei aus Stein mit einem kleinen zylindrischen Glockenturm und einem Kamin, der an ein Zuhause erinnert.

Vom Kreuz von San Kevin unterscheiden wir die Überreste der alten Kathedrale von San Pedro und San Pablo (12. Jahrhundert) und im Hintergrund einen Schotterweg, der sich im Dickicht des Waldes am unteren Seeufer verliert. Wir wandern zwischen uralten Eichen, die von Moos und springenden Rehen dominiert werden, bis wir den Oberen See erreichen, der sich auf der Talsohle befindet und von einem beeindruckenden Wasserfall umgeben ist, der im Süden von zwei Klippen umgeben ist.

Am Ufer dieser dunklen Lagune liegt das Bett des Heiligen Kevin (Teampall na Skellig), der ursprünglichen Siedlung, in der der Einsiedler jahrelang lebte. Schade, dass nur mit dem Boot zugegriffen werden kann (und niemand gesehen wird), also werden wir uns damit begnügen, es vom Gehweg neben dem Ufer aus zu betrachten.

Die Sonne geht auf und das ganze Tal ist voller grüner, gelber, grauer und brauner Farben, die das schwarze Wasser des Oberen Sees umarmen . Keltische Legenden erzählen, dass in diesem See ein riesiges Monster in Reptilienform lebte. Wo haben wir das schon gehört?

Paseando por los bosques de Wicklow

Wandern durch die Wälder von Wicklow © Javier Martínez Mansilla