Nicaragua: find out before it's Trending Topic

Anonim

Reading time 11 minutes

Connie and Andrew Chas, a couple in their thirties, want to know where in Nicaragua it would be a good idea to settle in the (not so) hypothetical case they were thinking of moving with their small organic bistro, The Fammeri, from the Hudson Valley, in The upstate of New York.

They have been traveling the country for five days, long enough to be clear that they would love to live here. Would Granada be the best option? Any beach town around San Juan del Sur? Or maybe Leon? The question is thrown at Yvan Cussigh, Tribal hotel owner .

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Tribal Hotel Pool © Ana Nance

He already did it a few years ago, when he left behind his life as a benchmark for the night in Manhattan in the early 21st century to ride, together with his partner Jean-Marc Houmard - still owner of the famous Indochine -, the Tribal hotel in Granada .

In the conversation, which takes place on a warm night in late January in the colonial courtyard of the Tribal, between lush tropical vegetation and pieces of art from the world, we also participate Matt Dickinson, aka Dickie, the very young Canadian co-owner of Maderas Village, an eco-lodge with rustic cabins and recording studio in one of the main surfing enclaves of the Pacific, photographer Ana Nance and me.

Dickie, who thinks about replicating the concept in another surfing place in the world, maybe in the surroundings of Lisbon, maybe in Spain, has come to Granada to pick up musicians and producers from Brooklyn and California who will participate in one of the aims of collaborative creation week that organizes the lodge as an artistic residence.

We began a journey that has brought us to investigate why Nicaragua is the fashion destination of Latin America. The voices and laughter increase in volume as the bottles of wine give way to those of rum. Shouldn't you consume local product?

This scene sums up the moment Nicaragua is living. Entrepreneurs, pioneers, the bounced of the big city, the less traveled roads search engines, the travel magazine eager for genuine destinations.

Campanario de la Iglesia de la Merced

Bell tower of the Church of La Merced © Ana Nance

And it is that the world is very big but, in reality, it is not so usual to find places that guarantee good weather throughout the year, with a stable economy that allows you to pay with (few) dollars and that offer such a balanced combination between beach and mountain, adventure and rest, disconnection and wifi and, most importantly, security.

But is Nicaragua safe? A lot. Nicaragua may be a poor country - 8, 000 córdobas, about 210 euros, it is the basic salary - and that its decades of dictatorship and civil war still seem recent to us - it ended 25 years ago - but it sure is, and quite a lot: the third of the continent, just behind Canada and Chile. Are you surprised? Well read on.

With a size similar to that of England and just six million inhabitants, Nicaragua has the largest primary forest in the north of the Amazon and 7% of the world's natural biodiversity, two splendidly preserved colonial cities, a chain of volcanoes, six of they are active, some of which one can even overlook, two large navigable lakes, cocoa and coffee plantations, the best rum in the world and almost a thousand kilometers of beaches divided between two oceans.

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Volcanoes of Ometepe Island seen from the Jícaro Island Lodge © Ana Nance

Two worlds, the Pacific and the Caribbean, in one country. Despite all this, tourism is something relatively new. Until a few years ago, three, five at most, until this corner of Central America only the usual ones arrived: long-distance travelers, with plenty of time and limited budget, NGO volunteers, surfers - the waves of Popoyo stand out as some of the most challenging in the world - and the odd billionaire who knew about the existence of Yemaya, the paradisiacal resort on the Caribbean island of Little Corn Island.

Now, however, the opening of new boutique hotels, such as Tribal, Maderas Village or Meson Nadi, and extreme luxury resorts such as Mukul, Nekupe, Aqua Wellness or Rancho Santana, is attracting other travelers to its pristine beaches and its cheerful colonial cities.

In addition, with St. Barths out of play after Hurricane Irma, more and more rich and famous people like Scarlett Johansson, who spent New Year's Eve in Mukul, choose the 'unique' coast to tan on their winter break. For them, Calala Island opened last summer on a tiny private Caribbean island.

Announced as the most expensive resort in Central America and a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Calala is what one imagines when you think of the perfect tropical island: four cabins with hammocks hung between palm trees and a menu prepared by an heir chef Buckingham Palace recipes .

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Reflections in the cabins of Calala Island © Ana Nance

But the privilege of sleeping in Calala means being willing to navigate an hour and a half in a panga. When the wind blows rebel, arriving by helicopter is not an option. According to the World Tourism Organization, Nicaragua is the eighth largest tourist growing country in the world. Last year it received 1.7 million tourists, 18.8% more than the previous year.

And more that will arrive now that Iberia opens direct route from Madrid in October and that the international airport of the so-called Costa Smeralda, in the Pacific, is already operational.

The “come before it's too late” recommendation, before the country loses its innocence, before it ceases to be so cheap, is repeated as a word of mouth mantra between globetrotters and travel websites.

Yvan Cussigh laughs at the rush, he has long learned here to live at another pace: "It is true that houses are going up in price but: how many good restaurants do you really think there are in Granada?"

The Espressionista Café, housed in a house where you dine by candlelight, is the creation of Andrés Lazar, a chef educated in several Michelin-starred kitchens in London and New York. The original proposals (coconut ceviche, cheek at Bourguignonne …) and the presentation are up to the best tables in Mexico City or Madrid.

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Espresso Coffee Salad © Ana Nance

With the golden lights of the sunset, the women pull their rocking chairs at the door of their houses, it is the moment of the 'port', while the song of the carrots and the screaming of the children playing between ice cream stands and scratches add in revelry the main square of Granada.

With tourism still in its infancy, this city of colorful cobbled streets is the unofficial capital of the country. From the first hours of the day the sun is so insolent that it is necessary to protect the eyesight (and the skin). But the facades of Granada were not always colored.

In the 80s, the city was all painted white and such was the glow that blinded the airplanes. It is just a theory. There is more. Another, less likely, ensures that the colors were added to the facades after the newspapers published that a northern lights had been seen in the skies of Managua.

In Nicaragua, curious theories and unique stories abound. It is said that if a woman is pregnant she cannot go to a funeral because the cold of the dead would harm the fetus; that, if a scorpion bites you, the child will become deaf; that if you iron and open the fridge it gives you an air; that snakes are only poisonous at a certain time …

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

La Casona © Ana Nance

I review all the unusual ideas that Angeles and Fernando, the Spanish owners of the African-inspired restaurant and shop Ke De Ke, told me , while I re-think how the breeze caresses in slow motion the curtains of La Casona. It seems that, at any moment, the protagonists of a García Márquez novel will appear walking along the checkerboard floor .

Owned by Patricia Castellanos, a Colombian photographer, art collector, shoe lasts, antique toys and Panama hats (sorry, toquilla straw hats), this is the most classy accommodation we've ever been to. The house is rented whole, service included, when Patricia is not. But La Casona does not stop coming out competitors. To Granada too.

And it is that more and more travelers prefer the tranquility of the still little known Leon over the success of Granada. Located between the beach and the Cerro Negro volcano - the descent of its slopes aboard a kind of sled is a very popular activity - León is a city ​​of intellectuals and poets, the birthplace of Rubén Darío and the ideologues of the Sandinista Revolution.

There are also hotel news in León : La Perla recently opened in a beautiful house dating from 1858; and the Marín Saravia family , owner of the historic El Sesteo café, social and gastronomic center and compass by which addresses in the city are guided, last details in an accommodation full of history that aims to become a reference, with permission from the hotel-museum Convent.

Centro de Arte Fundación Ortiz Guardián

Ortiz Guardián Foundation Art Center © Ana Nance

Marcelo Marín Saravia, raised in Canada, speaks with the same ease, in English or Spanish, of the typical sweets of his land than of the works exhibited in the rooms of the Ortiz Gurdián Foundation, one of the most important centers of contemporary art of Latinamerica.

In Nicaragua, comparisons with Costa Rica and Mexico are inevitable. "Like Costa Rica 20 years ago, but with more flavor, " say some; "The next Tulum, " say others. And although it lacks the pre-Columbian ruins and the infrastructure and services of its neighbors, they compensate it with large doses of sympathy and sugar, of poetry and magical realism. And with an environmental awareness that flows organic and natural.

It is that lack of stratified protocols that gives the differential value and genuine taste to the country, which requires the traveler to shed stress and demands.

“We have the example at hand to learn what has been done well and make it even better, ” says Andrey Gómez, director of Morgan's Rock. Andrey is Costa Rican, like many of Nicaragua's hotel managers.

Tablas en la playa de Morgan's Rock

Tables on Morgan's Rock Beach © Ana Nance

For four years he has been responsible for the visionary concept of this pioneer eco-resort - “comfort converted into nature” - in which two thousand hectares of private nature reserve are combined with a beautiful virgin crescent-shaped beach. The 18 cabins peek out from the slopes of a leafy hill . No cement was used in its construction, only carved stone and certified wood.

Nor do they have air conditioning, but an 'air scale', a kind of canopy that wraps the beds with a quiet breeze. Morgan's Rock owes its name to the geographical point where, at the end of the s. XVIII, Senator John Taylor Morgan projected an alternative channel to that of Panama that has never been built. Morgan's Rock's architect is multi-award-winning Matthew Faulkner, the same as Jícaro Island Lodge.

Located in one of the 350 islets of Lake Nicaragua, a few minutes from Granada, here the intervention in nature is almost non-existent. Built with woods rescued from Hurricane Felix (1988), without paint or varnishes, it works with solar panels, the bar is focused on the local product, rum, and in the store they sell baskets made by cooperatives of indigenous women, fabrics of the only loom country manual, ceramics made according to pre-Columbian techniques …

Their cabins among the vegetation are the ideal place to retire to write a book - sure it would be a best seller! - and get carried away by the days without a clock, approaching the birds in canoe and jumping headlong into the lake, with the omnipresent Mombacho volcano as a backdrop.

Desde los árborles de Tree Casa, uno de los cafés más conocidos de Granada

From Tree Tree trees, one of the best known cafes in Granada © Ana Nance

“Travelers arrive with the desire to help, to leave their mark and create connections, and this country gives the opportunity to create your own dreams and to live in a genuine way. This means a lot when you come suffocated from the big metropolis, ” says Claudia Silva, a hotel consultant. Silva, who participated in the opening of Mukul, the country's first luxury product, is the current advisor to the new Tree House.

Around a large ceiba on whose branches hangs a panoramic platform, this luxury lodging houses the first high-quality volunteer center, "to receive artists and visionary people who support sustainable community programs."

Its director, Alan Cordeno, knows that Nicaragua falls in love. "We don't know very well why, but I hope we never find out." We assume that, as in a couple's life, it is the little things, those defects that usually irritate you, which you then miss when they are gone.

* This article and the attached gallery was published in number 117 of the Condé Nast Traveler Magazine (May). Subscribe to the print edition (11 printed numbers and digital version for € 24.75, by calling 902 53 55 57 or from our website ) and enjoy free access to the digital version of Condé Nast Traveler for iPad. The May Condé Nast Traveler number is available in its digital version to enjoy on your preferred device.

Atardecer en Calala Island

Sunset on Calala Island © Ana Nance

Nicaragua: Finden Sie es heraus, bevor es zum Trendthema wird | Reisende 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 11 Minuten

Connie und Andrew Chas, ein Paar in den Dreißigern, möchten wissen, wo in Nicaragua es eine gute Idee wäre, sich mit dem (nicht so) hypothetischen Fall abzufinden, dass sie mit ihrem kleinen Bio - Bistro The Fammeri aus dem Hudson Valley in Nicaragua umziehen wollten Der Bundesstaat New York.

Sie bereisen das Land seit fünf Tagen, lange genug, um sich zu versichern, dass sie gerne hier leben würden. Wäre Granada die beste Option? Gibt es eine Strandstadt in der Nähe von San Juan del Sur? Oder vielleicht Leon? Die Frage wird an Yvan Cussigh, Stammeshotelinhaber, geworfen .

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Stammes-Hotel-Pool © Ana Nance

Er tat es bereits vor einigen Jahren, als er sein Leben als Benchmark für die Nacht in Manhattan im frühen 21. Jahrhundert hinter sich ließ, um zusammen mit seinem Partner Jean-Marc Houmard - der immer noch Besitzer des berühmten Indochine - das Tribal Hotel in Granada zu fahren .

An dem Gespräch, das in einer warmen Nacht Ende Januar im kolonialen Hof des Tribal zwischen üppiger tropischer Vegetation und Kunstwerken aus der halben Welt stattfindet, beteiligen wir uns auch Matt Dickinson, auch bekannt als Dickie, der sehr junge kanadische Miteigentümer von Maderas Village, eine Öko-Lodge mit rustikalen Hütten und Aufnahmestudio in einer der wichtigsten Surf-Enklaven des Pazifiks, Fotografin Ana Nance und ich.

Dickie, der darüber nachdenkt, das Konzept an einem anderen Surf-Ort der Welt, vielleicht in der Umgebung von Lissabon, vielleicht in Spanien, zu wiederholen, ist nach Granada gekommen, um Musiker und Produzenten aus Brooklyn und Kalifornien abzuholen, die an einem der Ziele von teilnehmen werden kollaborative Kreationswoche, die die Lodge als künstlerische Residenz organisiert.

Wir begannen eine Reise, die uns dazu brachte, zu untersuchen, warum Nicaragua das Modeziel Lateinamerikas ist. Die Stimmen und das Lachen werden lauter, während die Flaschen Wein denen von Rum weichen. Sollten Sie kein lokales Produkt konsumieren?

Diese Szene fasst den Moment zusammen, in dem Nicaragua lebt. Unternehmer, Pioniere, die aufgeregte Großstadt, die Suchmaschinen für weniger befahrene Straßen, das Reisemagazin, das echte Ziele sucht .

Campanario de la Iglesia de la Merced

Glockenturm der Kirche von La Merced © Ana Nance

Und es ist so, dass die Welt sehr groß ist, aber in Wirklichkeit ist es nicht so üblich, Orte zu finden, die das ganze Jahr über gutes Wetter garantieren, mit einer stabilen Wirtschaft, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, mit (wenigen) Dollar zu zahlen und eine so ausgewogene Kombination zwischen Strand und Meer zu bieten Berg, Abenteuer und Ruhe, Trennung und WLAN und vor allem Sicherheit.

Aber ist Nicaragua sicher? Viel. Nicaragua mag ein armes Land sein - 8.000 Córdobas, etwa 210 Euro, sind das Grundgehalt - und dass seine jahrzehntelange Diktatur und sein Bürgerkrieg uns immer noch neu erscheinen - es endete vor 25 Jahren - aber es ist sicher, und ziemlich viel: das dritte der Kontinent, gleich hinter Kanada und Chile. Wunderst du dich Nun lesen Sie weiter.

Mit einer ähnlichen Größe wie England und nur sechs Millionen Einwohnern hat Nicaragua den größten Primärwald im Norden des Amazonas und 7% der natürlichen Artenvielfalt der Welt, zwei prächtig erhaltene Kolonialstädte, eine Kette von Vulkanen, sechs davon Sie sind aktiv, von denen einige sogar übersehen werden können, zwei große schiffbare Seen, Kakao- und Kaffeeplantagen, der beste Rum der Welt und fast tausend Kilometer Strände, die auf zwei Ozeane verteilt sind.

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Vulkane der Insel Ometepe von der Jícaro Island Lodge aus gesehen © Ana Nance

Zwei Welten, der Pazifik und die Karibik, in einem Land. Trotzdem ist der Tourismus etwas relativ Neues. Bis vor ein paar Jahren waren es drei, höchstens fünf, bis in diese Ecke Mittelamerikas nur die üblichen gekommen: Langstreckenreisende mit viel Zeit und begrenztem Budget, Freiwillige von Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Surfer - die Wellen von Popoyo stechen hervor Die größte Herausforderung der Welt - und der eine oder andere Milliardär, der von der Existenz von Yemaya wusste, dem paradiesischen Ferienort auf der karibischen Insel Little Corn Island.

Die Eröffnung neuer Boutique-Hotels wie Tribal, Maderas Village oder Meson Nadi sowie extremer Luxusresorts wie Mukul, Nekupe, Aqua Wellness oder Rancho Santana lockt jedoch andere Reisende an die unberührten Strände und seine fröhlichen Kolonialstädte.

Da St. Barths nach dem Hurrikan Irma aus dem Spiel ist, wählen immer mehr reiche und berühmte Leute wie Scarlett Johansson, die Silvester in Mukul verbracht haben, die "einzigartige" Küste, um sich in ihrer Winterpause zu bräunen . Für sie hat Calala Island letzten Sommer auf einer winzigen privaten Karibikinsel eröffnet.

Calala, das als das teuerste Resort in Mittelamerika und Mitglied der Small Luxury Hotels der Welt gilt, stellt sich vor, wie man sich die perfekte tropische Insel vorstellt : vier Hütten mit Hängematten zwischen Palmen und ein Menü, das von einem Erbenkoch zubereitet wird Buckingham Palace Rezepte .

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Reflexionen in den Hütten der Insel Calala © Ana Nance

Aber das Privileg, in Calala zu schlafen, bedeutet, bereit zu sein , eineinhalb Stunden in einem Panga zu navigieren. Wenn der Wind rebellisch weht, ist die Ankunft mit dem Hubschrauber keine Option. Nach Angaben der Welttourismusorganisation ist Nicaragua das achtgrößte touristische Anbauland der Welt. Im vergangenen Jahr wurden 1, 7 Millionen Touristen aufgenommen, 18, 8% mehr als im Vorjahr.

Und mehr noch, sie werden ankommen, sobald Iberia im Oktober eine Direktverbindung von Madrid aus eröffnet und der internationale Flughafen der sogenannten Costa Smeralda im Pazifik bereits in Betrieb ist.

Die Empfehlung „Komm, bevor es zu spät ist“, bevor das Land seine Unschuld verliert, bevor es nicht mehr so ​​billig ist, wird als Mundpropaganda zwischen Globetrottern und Reisewebsites wiederholt .

Yvan Cussigh lacht über die Eile, er hat hier längst gelernt, in einem anderen Tempo zu leben: "Es ist wahr, dass die Preise für Häuser steigen, aber: Wie viele gute Restaurants gibt es deiner Meinung nach in Granada?"

Das Espressionista Café befindet sich in einem Haus, in dem Sie bei Kerzenschein speisen. Es wurde von Andrés Lazar kreiert, einem Koch, der in mehreren mit Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichneten Küchen in London und New York ausgebildet wurde. Die Originalvorschläge (Coconut Ceviche, Cheek at Bourguignonne ...) und die Präsentation sind bis zu den besten Tischen in Mexiko-Stadt oder Madrid.

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

Espressokaffeesalat © Ana Nance

Mit den goldenen Lichtern des Sonnenuntergangs ziehen die Frauen ihre Schaukelstühle an die Tür ihres Hauses, es ist der Moment des "Hafens", während das Lied der Karotten und das Schreien der Kinder, die zwischen Eisständen und Kratzern spielen, zum Jubeln beitragen Hauptplatz von Granada.

Da der Tourismus noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt, ist diese Stadt mit ihren bunten Kopfsteinpflasterstraßen die inoffizielle Hauptstadt des Landes. Von den ersten Stunden des Tages an ist die Sonne so frech, dass es notwendig ist, das Sehvermögen (und die Haut) zu schützen. Die Fassaden von Granada waren jedoch nicht immer farbig.

In den 80er Jahren war die Stadt ganz weiß gestrichen, und der Schein blendete die Flugzeuge. Es ist nur eine Theorie. Es gibt noch mehr. Eine andere, weniger wahrscheinliche Methode sorgt dafür, dass die Fassaden mit den Farben versehen wurden, nachdem die Zeitungen veröffentlicht hatten, dass in den Himmeln von Managua Nordlichter zu sehen waren .

In Nicaragua gibt es viele neugierige Theorien und einzigartige Geschichten. Sie sagen, wenn eine Frau schwanger ist, kann sie nicht zu einer Beerdigung gehen, weil die Erkältung der Toten dem Fötus schaden würde; dass, wenn ein Skorpion dich beißt, das Kind taub wird; dass, wenn Sie den Kühlschrank bügeln und öffnen, es Ihnen Luft gibt; dass Schlangen nur zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt giftig sind ...

Una aurora boreal en el Caribe

La Casona © Ana Nance

Ich überprüfe alle ungewöhnlichen Ideen, die Angeles und Fernando, die spanischen Eigentümer des von Afrika inspirierten Restaurants und Geschäfts Ke De Ke, mir mitteilten , während ich mir überlege, wie die Brise in Zeitlupe die Vorhänge von La Casona streichelt . Es scheint, dass die Protagonisten eines Romans von García Márquez jeden Moment auf dem Schachbrettboden auftauchen werden .

Es gehört Patricia Castellanos, einer kolumbianischen Fotografin, Kunstsammlerin, Schuhleisten, antiken Spielsachen und Panama-Hüten (sorry, Toquilla-Strohhüte). Dies ist die nobelste Unterkunft, in der wir je waren. Das Haus wird komplett vermietet, Service inklusive, wenn Patricia es nicht ist. Aber La Casona hört nicht auf, sich gegen Mitbewerber durchzusetzen . Auch nach Granada.

Und es ist so, dass immer mehr Reisende die Ruhe des noch wenig bekannten Leon dem Erfolg Granadas vorziehen. León liegt zwischen dem Strand und dem Vulkan Cerro Negro - die Abfahrt seiner Hänge auf einer Art Schlitten ist eine sehr beliebte Aktivität. León ist die Stadt der Intellektuellen und Dichter, der Geburtsort von Rubén Darío und der Ideologen von die sandinistische Revolution.

Es gibt auch Hotelnachrichten in León : La Perla wurde kürzlich in einem schönen Haus aus dem Jahr 1858 eröffnet; und die Familie Marín Saravia, Inhaber des historischen Cafés El Sesteo, des sozialen und gastronomischen Zentrums und des Kompasses, an dem sich die Adressen in der Stadt orientieren, letzte Details in einer Unterkunft voller Geschichte, die mit Genehmigung des Hotelmuseums zu einer Referenz werden soll Das Kloster

Centro de Arte Fundación Ortiz Guardián

Kunstzentrum der Ortiz Guardián Foundation © Ana Nance

Der in Kanada aufgewachsene Marcelo Marín Saravia spricht mit der gleichen Leichtigkeit auf Englisch oder Spanisch von den typischen Süßigkeiten seines Landes wie von den in den Räumen der Ortiz Gurdián Foundation, einem der wichtigsten Zentren für zeitgenössische Kunst, ausgestellten Werken aus Lateinamerika.

In Nicaragua sind Vergleiche mit Costa Rica und Mexiko unvermeidlich. "Wie Costa Rica vor 20 Jahren, aber mit mehr Geschmack", sagen einige; "Das nächste Tulum", sagen andere. Und obwohl ihm die präkolumbianischen Ruinen sowie die Infrastruktur und die Dienstleistungen seiner Nachbarn fehlen, kompensieren sie dies mit einer großen Dosis Sympathie und Zucker, Poesie und magischem Realismus. Und mit einem Umweltbewusstsein, das organisch und natürlich fließt.

Es ist das Fehlen geschichteter Protokolle, das dem Land den unterschiedlichen Wert und den echten Geschmack verleiht , der es erfordert , dass der Reisende Stress und Forderungen ablegt.

"Wir haben das Beispiel zur Hand, um zu lernen, was gut gemacht wurde und noch besser zu machen", sagt Andrey Gomez, Direktor von Morgan's Rock. Andrej ist Costa-Ricaner, wie viele Hotelmanager in Nicaragua.

Tablas en la playa de Morgan's Rock

Tische am Morgan's Rock Beach © Ana Nance

Seit vier Jahren ist er verantwortlich für das visionäre Konzept dieses Pionier-Öko-Resorts - „Komfort in Natur verwandelt“ - in dem zweitausend Hektar privates Naturschutzgebiet mit einem wunderschönen unberührten, sichelförmigen Strand kombiniert werden . Die 18 Hütten ragen aus den Hängen eines grünen Hügels heraus . Für den Bau wurde kein Zement verwendet, sondern nur geschnitzter Stein und zertifiziertes Holz.

Sie haben auch keine Klimaanlage, sondern eine Luftwaage, eine Art Baldachin, der die Betten mit einer leisen Brise umhüllt. Morgan's Rock verdankt seinen Namen dem geografischen Punkt, an dem am Ende des s. Senator John Taylor Morgan plante einen alternativen Kanal zu dem von Panama, der nie gebaut wurde. Der Architekt von Morgan's Rock ist der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Matthew Faulkner, genau wie die Jícaro Island Lodge.

Auf einer der 350 Inseln des Nicaragua-Sees gelegen, nur wenige Minuten von Granada entfernt, gibt es hier kaum Eingriffe in die Natur. Die Bar wurde aus Holz gebaut, das vor dem Hurrikan Felix (1988) gerettet wurde, ohne Farben oder Lacke. Sie arbeitet mit Sonnenkollektoren. Die Bar konzentriert sich auf das lokale Produkt Rum. Im Geschäft werden Körbe verkauft, die von Genossenschaften einheimischer Frauen hergestellt wurden, Stoffe des einzigen Webstuhls Country Manual, Keramik nach präkolumbianischen Techniken ...

Ihre Hütten inmitten der Vegetation sind der ideale Ort, um sich zurückzuziehen und ein Buch zu schreiben - mit Sicherheit ein Verkaufsschlager! - und sich von den Tagen ohne Uhr mitreißen zu lassen , sich den Vögeln im Kanu zu nähern und mit der Allgegenwart kopfüber in den See zu springen Mombacho-Vulkan als Hintergrund.

Desde los árborles de Tree Casa, uno de los cafés más conocidos de Granada

Von Tree Tree Bäume, eines der bekanntesten Cafés in Granada © Ana Nance

„Reisende kommen mit dem Wunsch, zu helfen, Spuren zu hinterlassen und Verbindungen zu knüpfen, und dieses Land bietet die Möglichkeit, eigene Träume zu verwirklichen und aufrichtig zu leben. Das bedeutet viel, wenn man aus der großen Metropole erstickt ist “, sagt Claudia Silva, Hotelberaterin. Silva, der an der Eröffnung von Mukul, dem ersten Luxusprodukt des Landes, teilgenommen hat, ist der derzeitige Berater des neuen Baumhauses.

Diese Luxusunterkunft umgibt eine große Ceiba, an deren Filialen eine Aussichtsplattform hängt , und beherbergt das erste hochwertige Freiwilligenzentrum, "das Künstler und Visionäre empfängt, die nachhaltige Gemeinschaftsprogramme unterstützen".

Sein Direktor Alan Cordeno weiß, dass Nicaragua sich verliebt. "Wir wissen nicht genau warum, aber ich hoffe, wir werden es nie herausfinden." Wir gehen davon aus, dass es wie im Leben eines Paares die kleinen Dinge sind, die einen normalerweise irritieren und die man dann übersieht, wenn sie weg sind.

* Dieser Artikel und die beigefügte Galerie wurden in Nummer 117 des Condé Nast Traveller Magazins (Mai) veröffentlicht. Abonnieren Sie die Printausgabe (11 gedruckte Nummern und digitale Version für 24, 75 €, telefonisch unter 902 53 55 57 oder über unsere Website ) und genießen Sie den kostenlosen Zugang zur digitalen Version von Condé Nast Traveler für iPad. Die May Condé Nast Traveler-Nummer ist in ihrer digitalen Version verfügbar und kann auf Ihrem bevorzugten Gerät verwendet werden.

Atardecer en Calala Island

Sonnenuntergang auf der Insel Calala © Ana Nance