They traveled alone

Anonim

Reading time 6 minutes

They traveled alone. That does not mean that they did it without servants (there were trunks, many trunks), but without a husband, or husband, or lover; that is, without a man acting as an interlocutor in the face of a foreign environment, making decisions about stays, itineraries, means of transportation and, of course, paying the bills.

Even today it is not easy for a woman to travel alone to certain destinations . Looks, gestures and attitudes generate a vulnerability that can lead to flight, rejection or blockage. But restlessness and search expire. It was also like that then.

Gertrude Bell

Gertrude Bell talking to an Arab leader during his trip to Mesopotamia © Getty Images

In the second half of the nineteenth century and the first decades of the twentieth century, the means of transport had advanced sufficiently to guarantee a fluid communication with the colonies and, consequently, facilitate the journey to the restless spirits.

Explorers, cartographers, merchants and scientists traveled territories whose paths, languages ​​and customs were unknown. Upon returning to the metropolis, they published their findings in societies that, on occasion, had financed their mission.

The women were waiting for them at home. If they traveled, they did so under the heading of a wife or missionary. The exploration alone, justified or not from the scientific, was for them an act of affirmation of the freedom that was denied to them in their immediate surroundings.

Those who did it undertook the trip as a personal imperative, without the support that geographic institutions offered to their male colleagues. All of them shared a transgressive spirit, the claim of their autonomy and an overwhelming ability to break the rules.

Mujeres en bici

Explorers, adventurers, writers, archaeologists … they all shared the traveling gene! © Alamy

GERTRUDE BELL

It was fabulously rich, and that has always been a great help to launch into the world. Daughter of an English metal tycoon, in his travels in the Middle East he never abandoned his porcelain dishes, his wardrobe or his portable bathtub.

He was an archaeologist, arabist and writer. His relationship with the sheikhs of the local tribes placed her in a privileged position for the English Arab Office in Cairo, for which he collaborated as a spy in the First World War.

His most controversial mission was to set the borders of Iraq; work that was then revealed bitter.

Gertrude Bell

Gertrude Bell, archaeologist, arabist, writer and spy in World War I © Getty Images

ISABELLA BIRD

Poor health led Isabella Bird to travel. An undefined nervous picture propelled her into sports and the outdoors. As a remedy for her ills, in 1872 her family encouraged her to travel to Australia, Hawaii and the United States.

In Colorado he wrote Life of a Lady in the Rocky Mountains, where he describes his relationship with the outlaw Rocky Mountain Jim: a man that any woman would fall in love with, but with whom none would marry.

On his return to England he joined without excessive enthusiasm a surgeon who died shortly after, which allowed him to start a missionary journey through India, Persia, Kurdistan and Turkey.

Isabella Bird

Isabella Bird and two native elephants in a swamp, in Perak, Malaya, circa 1883 © Alamy

NELLY BLY

Nelly Bly began her career by pretending to be crazy to write a chronic gonzo about the Blackwell's Island asylum in New York, but her consecration would come with the challenge to the novel Around the World in Eighty Days.

Nelly felt that she could improve Julio Verne's brand. He left alone from Manhattan with a small suitcase and a coat.

He sailed to England and crossed to France, where he visited Verne; from Brindisi he crossed the Suez Canal with stops in Ceylon, Singapore and Japan, and arrived in New Jersey on January 25, 1890, 72 days after his departure.

Nelly Bly

Nelly Bly challenged Julio Verne around the world in 72 days © Getty Images

ALEXANDRA DAVID-NÉEL

Alexandra David-Néel's youth was dotted with mystical experiences. Militant anarchist, lyrical singer and consecrated pianist, undertook a personal pilgrimage to the Himalayas after the friendly dissolution of their marriage.

From India he traveled to Sikkim in 1912, where he began his apprenticeship as a disciple of a lama with paranormal powers.

Along with the young Yongden, three servants and seven mules crossed Tibet with the face blackened and pigtails of yak hair. She was the first western woman to reach the city Lhasa, forbidden to foreigners.

His knowledge of Tibetan allowed him to access manuscripts and teachers who introduced him to esoteric practices such as tummo, or internal heat generation, levitation and telepathy.

Alexandra David-Néel

Alexandra David-Néel, militant anarchist, lyrical singer and consecrated pianist © Getty Images

MAY FRENCH SHELDON

May French Sheldon, daughter of southern planters, wondered why a woman could not organize an expedition to Africa.

The social opposition reaffirmed it in its purpose and, in 1891, with the support of her husband, embarked to Mombasa. There he managed to get the 150 porters needed to transport a bulky baggage that included a zinc bathtub.

As she affirms in her work From Sultan to Sultan, the explorer believed in the dignity and intellectual capacity of the natives, so she favored dialogue and exchange in the form of gifts.

He presented himself to the Maasai chiefs with a white wig, a rhinestones dress and a saber. It worked. Bibi Bwana, the white queen, circumvented Lake Chala, at the foot of Kilimanjaro, in a wicker palanquin.

May French Sheldon

May French Sheldon, the woman who put Africa at her feet © Wikimedia Commons (with CC license) Wikimedia Commons

MARY KINGSLEY

The natives called Mary Kingsley only me because she always traveled alone, without servants, with a tea bag, a toothbrush, a comb and a pillow.

His concern was ethnographic. The reading fueled an interest that flourished when his parents, a London doctor and a middle-class cook, died in 1892. After a stopover in the Canary Islands he entered Sierra Leone, Luanda and Angola.

Her training as a nurse allowed her to help local populations and learn about their customs. He hunted antelopes with the fang cannibals, which used dogs with jingle bells, and dipped his Victorian outfit in swamps saturated with leeches in search of specimens of fish that he would take, in formalin, to the British Museum.

Mary Kingsley

Mary Kingsley always traveled alone, without servants, with a tea bag, a toothbrush, a comb and a pillow © Getty Images

ANNIE LONDONDERRY

Annie Londonderry could be considered the first traveler with sponsor: Londonderry Lithia, a mineral soda that offered to change her name to that of her brand. A poster of his sponsor hung on the back of the bicycle with which he would go around the world.

A man had already done it in 1887, but a group of Bostonian notables bet that a woman would not be able to achieve it. The term was fifteen months and offered $ 10, 000.

Annie departed in June 1894. The contract did not indicate the kilometers she had to ride, so she traveled a large part of the embarked journey.

He visited Alexandria, Colombo, Singapore, Saigon, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Nagasaki, Kobe. He crossed much of the United States on two wheels. In Iowa, near his destination, he crashed into a herd and broke his wrist, so he arrived in plaster to collect his prize.

Annie Londonderry

Annie Londonderry, the first woman who pedaled around the world © Alamy

EMILIA SERRANO DE WILSON

Emilia Serrano de Granada's Granada family had moved to Paris following Queen Maria Cristina in exile. His circle, which included Lamartine, Francisco Martínez de la Rosa and Alejandro Dumas, encouraged his fondness for literature.

When he envied Baron Wilson without offspring, he focused his attention on America. He read Columbus, Bartolome de las Casas, Humboldt and, in 1865, embarked on a trip through Cuba and Puerto Rico.

That would be the germ of America and its women, a work that grew as it traveled the continent. In his pages he recounts his meetings with politicians and peasants, but especially with militant writers like Juana Manuela Gorriti in Argentina, the Peruvian Clorinda Matto de Turner or Soledad Acosta de Samper in Colombia. Women activists and conservatives; Feminism would come later.

Emilia Serrano de Wilson

Emilia Serrano de Wilson, author of America and her women, a work that grew as it traveled the continent © Wikimedia Commons (with CC license)

Sie reisten alleine | Reisende 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 6 Minuten

Sie reisten alleine. Das bedeutet nicht, dass sie es ohne Bedienstete taten (es gab Stämme, viele Stämme), sondern ohne Ehemann oder Ehemann oder Liebhaber; Das heißt, ohne dass ein Mann angesichts einer fremden Umgebung als Gesprächspartner auftritt und Entscheidungen über Aufenthalte, Reiserouten, Transportmittel und natürlich die Bezahlung der Rechnungen trifft.

Selbst heute ist es für eine Frau nicht einfach, allein zu bestimmten Zielen zu reisen . Blicke, Gesten und Einstellungen erzeugen eine Verwundbarkeit, die zu Flucht, Zurückweisung oder Blockierung führen kann. Aber Unruhe und Suche laufen aus. Das war damals auch so.

Gertrude Bell

Gertrude Bell im Gespräch mit einem arabischen Führer während seiner Reise nach Mesopotamien © Getty Images

In der zweiten Hälfte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts und in den ersten Jahrzehnten des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts war das Transportmittel so weit fortgeschritten, dass eine fließende Kommunikation mit den Kolonien gewährleistet und folglich die Reise zu den unruhigen Geistern erleichtert wurde.

Entdecker, Kartographen, Kaufleute und Wissenschaftler bereisten Gebiete, deren Wege, Sprachen und Bräuche unbekannt waren. Bei ihrer Rückkehr in die Metropole veröffentlichten sie ihre Ergebnisse in Gesellschaften, die gelegentlich ihre Mission finanziert hatten.

Die Frauen warteten zu Hause auf sie. Wenn sie reisten, taten sie dies unter der Leitung einer Frau oder eines Missionars. Die Erforschung allein, gerechtfertigt oder nicht aus dem wissenschaftlichen, war für sie ein Akt der Bestätigung der Freiheit, die ihnen in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung verweigert wurde.

Diejenigen, die dies taten, unternahmen die Reise als persönlichen Imperativ, ohne die Unterstützung, die geografische Institutionen ihren männlichen Kollegen boten. Sie alle teilten einen transgressiven Geist, den Anspruch ihrer Autonomie und die überwältigende Fähigkeit, die Regeln zu brechen.

Mujeres en bici

Entdecker, Abenteurer, Schriftsteller, Archäologen ... sie alle teilten das Reisegen! © Alamy

GERTRUDE BELL

Es war fabelhaft reich, und das war schon immer eine große Hilfe, um in die Welt zu starten. Als Tochter eines englischen Metallmagnaten hat er auf seinen Reisen in den Nahen Osten sein Porzellangeschirr, seinen Kleiderschrank oder seine tragbare Badewanne nie aufgegeben.

Er war Archäologe, Arabist und Schriftsteller. Seine Beziehung zu den Scheichs der lokalen Stämme brachte sie in eine privilegierte Position für das englisch-arabische Büro in Kairo, für das er als Spion im Ersten Weltkrieg zusammenarbeitete.

Sein umstrittenster Auftrag war es , die Grenzen des Irak festzulegen. Arbeit, die dann bitter enthüllt wurde.

Gertrude Bell

Gertrude Bell, Archäologin, Arabistin, Schriftstellerin und Spionin im Ersten Weltkrieg © Getty Images

ISABELLA VOGEL

Schlechte Gesundheit führte dazu, dass Isabella Bird reiste. Ein undefiniertes nervöses Bild trieb sie zum Sport und in die Natur. Als Heilmittel für ihre Krankheiten ermutigte sie ihre Familie 1872 , nach Australien, Hawaii und in die Vereinigten Staaten zu reisen.

In Colorado schrieb er das Leben einer Dame in den Rocky Mountains, wo er seine Beziehung zum geächteten Rocky Mountain Jim beschreibt: Ein Mann, in den sich jede Frau verlieben würde, in den aber keine heiraten würde.

Bei seiner Rückkehr nach England schloss er sich ohne große Begeisterung einem kurz darauf verstorbenen Chirurgen an, der es ihm ermöglichte, eine Missionsreise durch Indien, Persien, Kurdistan und die Türkei zu unternehmen.

Isabella Bird

Isabella Bird und zwei einheimische Elefanten in einem Sumpf in Perak, Malaya, um 1883 © Alamy

NELLY BLY

Nelly Bly begann ihre Karriere damit, dass sie vorgab, verrückt zu sein, um einen chronischen Gonzo über das Asyl auf Blackwell's Island in New York zu schreiben, aber ihre Weihe brachte die Herausforderung für den Roman In achtzig Tagen um die Welt mit sich.

Nelly hatte das Gefühl, dass sie Julio Vernes Marke verbessern könnte. Er reiste mit einem kleinen Koffer und einem Mantel allein aus Manhattan ab.

Er segelte nach England und ging nach Frankreich, wo er Verne besuchte; Von Brindisi aus überquerte er den Suezkanal mit Zwischenstopps in Ceylon, Singapur und Japan und kam am 25. Januar 1890, 72 Tage nach seiner Abreise, in New Jersey an .

Nelly Bly

Nelly Bly forderte Julio Verne in 72 Tagen auf der ganzen Welt heraus. © Getty Images

ALEXANDRA DAVID-NÉEL

Alexandra David-Néels Jugend war voller mystischer Erfahrungen. Der militante Anarchist, lyrische Sänger und geweihte Pianist unternahm nach der freundlichen Auflösung ihrer Ehe eine persönliche Pilgerreise in den Himalaya .

Von Indien reiste er 1912 nach Sikkim, wo er seine Lehre als Schüler eines Lama mit paranormalen Kräften begann.

Zusammen mit dem jungen Yongden durchquerten drei Diener und sieben Maultiere Tibet mit geschwärztem Gesicht und Yakhaarzöpfen. Sie war die erste westliche Frau, die die für Ausländer verbotene Stadt Lhasa erreichte.

Seine tibetischen Kenntnisse ermöglichten ihm den Zugang zu Manuskripten und Lehrern, die ihn in esoterische Praktiken wie Tummo oder interne Wärmeerzeugung, Levitation und Telepathie einführten.

Alexandra David-Néel

Alexandra David-Néel, militante Anarchistin, lyrische Sängerin und geweihte Pianistin © Getty Images

MAI FRANZÖSISCHER SHELDON

Möge die Französin Sheldon, Tochter südländischer Pflanzer, sich fragen, warum eine Frau keine Expedition nach Afrika organisieren könne.

Die soziale Opposition bekräftigte ihren Zweck und begab sich 1891 mit Unterstützung ihres Mannes nach Mombasa. Dort gelang es ihm, die 150 Gepäckträger zu besorgen, die für den Transport eines sperrigen Gepäcks mit Zinkbadewanne benötigt wurden.

Während sie in ihrer Arbeit Von Sultan zu Sultan bekräftigt, glaubte die Forscherin an die Würde und die intellektuelle Fähigkeit der Eingeborenen, und so bevorzugte sie den Dialog und den Austausch in Form von Geschenken.

Er präsentierte sich den Maasai-Häuptlingen mit einer weißen Perücke, einem Strasskleid und einem Säbel. Es hat funktioniert Bibi Bwana, die weiße Königin, umging den Chala-See am Fuße des Kilimandscharo in einer Korbsänfte.

May French Sheldon

Mai Französisch Sheldon, die Frau, die Afrika zu Füßen legte. © Wikimedia Commons (mit CC-Lizenz) Wikimedia Commons

MARY KINGSLEY

Die Eingeborenen nannten Mary Kingsley nur mich, weil sie ohne Bedienstete, mit einem Teebeutel, einer Zahnbürste, einem Kamm und einem Kopfkissen immer allein unterwegs war.

Sein Anliegen war ethnographisch. Die Lektüre weckte ein reges Interesse, als seine Eltern, ein Londoner Arzt und ein bürgerlicher Koch, 1892 starben. Nach einem Zwischenstopp auf den Kanarischen Inseln gelangte er nach Sierra Leone, Luanda und Angola.

Ihre Ausbildung zur Krankenschwester ermöglichte es ihr, der Bevölkerung vor Ort zu helfen und ihre Bräuche kennenzulernen. Er jagte Antilopen mit den Kannibalen, die Hunde mit Glöckchen benutzten, und tauchte sein viktorianisches Outfit in mit Blutegeln gesättigte Sümpfe, um nach Exemplaren von Fischen zu suchen, die er mit Formalin ins Britische Museum bringen würde.

Mary Kingsley

Mary Kingsley reiste immer allein ohne Bedienstete mit einem Teebeutel, einer Zahnbürste, einem Kamm und einem Kissen. © Getty Images

ANNIE LONDONDERRY

Annie Londonderry könnte als erste Reisende mit Sponsor angesehen werden: Londonderry Lithia, ein Mineralwasser, das anbot, ihren Namen in den ihrer Marke zu ändern. Ein Plakat seines Sponsors hing auf der Rückseite des Fahrrads, mit dem er die Welt umrunden würde.

Ein Mann hatte es bereits 1887 getan, aber eine Gruppe von Bostoner Würdenträgern wettete, dass eine Frau es nicht schaffen würde. Die Laufzeit betrug fünfzehn Monate und bot 10.000 US-Dollar.

Annie reiste im Juni 1894 ab. Der Vertrag enthielt keine Angaben zu den Kilometern, die sie zurücklegen musste, sodass sie einen großen Teil der eingeschifften Reise zurücklegte.

Er besuchte Alexandria, Colombo, Singapur, Saigon, Hongkong, Shanghai, Nagasaki, Kobe. Er überquerte einen Großteil der USA auf zwei Rädern. In Iowa, in der Nähe seines Ziels, stürzte er in eine Herde und brach sich das Handgelenk, sodass er in Gips ankam, um seinen Preis abzuholen.

Annie Londonderry

Annie Londonderry, die erste Frau, die um die Welt radelte © Alamy

EMILIA SERRANO DE WILSON

Emilia Serrano de Granadas Familie Granada war nach Paris gezogen, nachdem Königin Maria Cristina im Exil war. Sein Kreis, zu dem Lamartine, Francisco Martínez de la Rosa und Alejandro Dumas gehörten, förderte seine Vorliebe für Literatur.

Als er Baron Wilson ohne Nachkommen beneidete, richtete er seine Aufmerksamkeit auf Amerika. Er las Kolumbus, Bartolome de las Casas und Humboldt und unternahm 1865 eine Reise durch Kuba und Puerto Rico.

Das wäre der Keim Amerikas und seiner Frauen, eine Arbeit, die wuchs, als sie den Kontinent bereiste. Auf seinen Seiten berichtet er von seinen Treffen mit Politikern und Bauern, insbesondere aber mit militanten Schriftstellern wie Juana Manuela Gorriti in Argentinien, der peruanischen Clorinda Matto de Turner oder Soledad Acosta de Samper in Kolumbien. Aktivistinnen und Konservative; Der Feminismus würde später kommen.

Emilia Serrano de Wilson

Emilia Serrano de Wilson, Autorin von Amerika und ihren Frauen, eine Arbeit, die wuchs, als sie den Kontinent bereiste. © Wikimedia Commons (mit CC-Lizenz)