The Book Fair told from inside a booth

Anonim

Reading time 9 minutes

The Madrid Book Fair has given much of itself for 9 decades. Today we discover its history and talk to its protagonists from inside the booth.

See 37 photos

Traveling bibliophilia: the most beautiful bookstores in the world

THE ORIGIN OF THE MADRID BOOK FAIR

The Madrid Book Fair turns 85, as Yoko Ono and Roman Polanski have done, but it has only been held 77 times. He was born on April 23, 1933 in the Republican Spain of Alcalá Zamora, convulsed and determined, when 20 publishing firms gathered on the left side of Recoletos in their respective booths.

Books with a value of 43, 339.75 pesetas (a feat in those years) were sold in those colored booths where speakers were installed to listen to the writers of the moment reciting verses and harangues.

77 ediciones dan para mucha feria

77 editions give a lot of fair © Photo by freddie marriage on Unsplash

Such was the success of the first edition that the following year it was decided to target Mexico to give it an international boost. The prominence of the language was becoming increasingly evident, leaving its mark in successive years until the Civil War broke out in 1936 .

We would not have the Book Fair until 1944, under the name of the National Book Fair, making the distinctive dictatorship evident. In these years the Fair traveled to several cities, settling in Barcelona in 1946 and 1952 and in Seville in 1948 .

During the decade of the 50s, several initiatives appeared, such as dedicating each day of the Fair to a certain genre, already exceeding the number of booths one hundred.

Cuesta Moyano: la feria permanente

Cuesta Moyano: the permanent fair © Alamy

In the 60s, the Book Fair moved to its current location, El Retiro (1967), and began to be organized in other provinces simultaneously. This growth did not stop throughout the 70s, in which sales already exceeded 37 million pesetas (€ 222, 000) and began to look for new locations due to lack of space.

It was in 1979 when he had the fatal idea of ​​moving the Fair to the Country House, a failure that returned the Fair to El Retiro Park just one year later.

The 80s returned the name of the Madrid Book Fair to the event and brought the Royal House to the opening ceremony .

In the 90s the first web pages dedicated to the Book Fair appear and the “best-selling” fever that has so obscured the literary spirit begins.

A shared publication of the Madrid Book Fair (@ferialibromadrid) on Apr 27, 2018 at 4:21 p.m. PDT

The arrival of the new millennium causes a beastly change at the Fair. Cultural activities multiply.

In Madrid the Book Fair has already been associated as something very much from here, which speaks a lot about the customs of the city. Although we travel between lights and shadows.

Celebrities of the couché paper and stars of social networks come to capture much of the attention of readers to the detriment of established authors and novel writers who seek a place in the publishing world.

But that, better be told by those inside the booths this year.

A shared publication of the Madrid Book Fair (@ferialibromadrid) on May 25, 2017 at 10:51 PDT

Gema Nieto: from Romania with love

Gema nieto is a restless Madrilenian graduated in Hispanic Philology and Theory of Literature and Comparative Literature by the Complutense University .

He currently works in the world of publishing and collaborates in magazines, writing articles about books, comics and video games. His first novel , Belonging, was published by Trojan Horse in 2016 by Alberto Olmos.

This year, Gema will not sign copies of his novel, although he tells us that his second novel will be released shortly by Dos Mustaches.

"Membership" in the showcase of @Fnac_ESP in Callao. Run, fools, they run out! @CaballoTroyaEd pic.twitter.com/XGC0rN58EP - Gema Nieto (@ GemaNieto81) February 18, 2016

The guest country of the Fair will be Romania, taking the witness that Portugal left last year. The Romanian Cultural Institute has asked Nieto to participate in two of the activities they have organized (which he will be delighted) on Monday 4 in the presentation of the book Sick Relationships, by Cecilia Stefanescu, and on Wednesday 6 moderating a round table of writers Romanians who have published in our country.

During his first years in the publishing world he worked some weekends in the booths of the Fair, accompanying authors, recommending books or serving the public . For her, the Book Fair is a good cultural claim and that says a lot about Madrid's love for books, although there are also its shadows, due to certain purely commercial interests, supersaturation of the publishing market, show and famous emptiness.

The Book Fair is undoubtedly for Nieto an ideal meeting place between writers, publishers and booksellers and where you can greet acquaintances, recommend books and do interesting activities, to bring reading to the little ones too.

“If I am so critical, it is precisely because I would like the Fair to recover its original literary and cultural character and forget about celebrities and youtubers. Hopefully the best-selling books were those that contribute to love real literature, the one that hits us and does not leave us indifferent, the one that serves to ask us questions, learn, think and question everything, and not those that move readers away from it to accommodate them between toxic or harmless pages, ”explains Nieto.

An essential book for Gema Nieto? The noise and the fury, of William Faulkner.

A GIRL PRODIGIO: SABINA URRACA

Writer and journalist, collaborates with countless media. He has also given (and gives) writing workshops at La Casa Encendida and Fuentetaja . In 2017, coinciding with the Book Fair, he published his first novel, Las Prodigio Girls, edited by Fulgencio Pimentel . Now the errabunda is about to leave. First Iberian treatise on heterodox therapy, published by Lindo & Espinosa, an anthology of several authors in which he participates. He is currently writing his second book.

The first experience at the Book Fair was for Sabina very intense. He took the time to take photos from his peculiar point of view, with the indispensable company of his dog. And he signed many copies, perhaps more than he expected.

“The feeling of signing at the Fair, especially as a writer recently published for the first time, is strange: suddenly it turns out that all those unknown people who suddenly appear in the booth have read your book, or are reading it, or He is about to read it. I remember that feeling caused me constant nerves, a strange feeling, like helplessness. I slept badly at night. How was I going to sleep, if maybe there were people reading my book at that precise moment? It would have been like sleeping while someone unknown stared at me, ”says the author.

Sabina Urraca

Sabina Urraca © Cami Vidal Escobar

For Sabina, the Madrid Book Fair is still a reflection of ourselves: “ What there is is a love for customs, for the walk, to drop by the places we already know, the pleasure of the ritual of each repeating year And that, sometimes, is very beautiful, and it works to create very beautiful things, like the Book Fair, ”he explains.

In fact, that feeling of constant movement of people wandering around the places looking around, and being incipient interest in the books is possibly a sign of health in our literature for her.

The prodigy girls, who will sign this year at the Fair, is a work in which Sabina wants to show everything prodigious and dark in the life of a person who, from the outside, seems not to shine at all.

An essential book for Sabina Urraca? The Complete Stories of Lydia Davis (Seix Barral).

'Las niñas prodigio' de Sabina Urraca

'The prodigy girls' by Sabina Urraca © Sabina Urraca

THE WRITER NOVEL: JOHAN VARÓ

Onubense living in Madrid. He graduated in Law and then specialized in Business Legal Advice at Carlos III University. From a young age, his path was linked to literature, as he wrote short films, short stories, newspapers .

“I have always liked to write, although I never seriously thought about publishing until I had more than half a written novel, it was then that I began to consider the possibility, ” the young man said.

And it is that, just a month and a half after the sale of his first novel, he is already on his way to the second edition and expresses a deep gratitude to the publishing house Max Estrella, which gave him the opportunity.

The hidden language of the waves is his first published novel. “It is a novel that plunges between the tragic and the romantic . A work that has been described by some readers as 'necessary'. I do not dare to say that it is necessary, but I would dare to ensure that it is a story that will not leave anyone indifferent after reading it, although more than a story I would say it is a journey, a path to inner discovery, towards progress ”, the author tells us.

And also, he marks his work as innocent and daring, suitable for all audiences, with characters that leave their mark, used as a link to freedom of thought, representation of the most beautiful things and a sample of the cultural and traditional complexity of the century in The one we live

Johan opens at the Book Fair convinced that it is a great opportunity to promote those titles that enjoy less publicity due to lack of resources. “From my humble point of view, I think that the big publishing groups saturate the market sometimes with books that contribute little or nothing and whose advertising avalanche ends up shading works by unknown authors that could bring great added value to Spanish literature and they don't get it just because they remain anonymous, ”says the young writer.

An essential book for Johan? The portrait of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

A shared publication of? READER? (@librosconsentido) on May 22, 2018 at 10:26 PDT

* Celebrate the Book Fair with Condé Nast Traveler: use the code SOYLECTOR and enjoy 40% in magazine subscriptions until June 10

See 37 photos

Traveling bibliophilia: the most beautiful bookstores in the world

Die Buchmesse wurde von einem Stand aus erzählt | Städtereisen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 9 Minuten

Die Madrider Buchmesse hat sich seit 9 Jahrzehnten viel vorgenommen. Heute entdecken wir seine Geschichte und sprechen von innen mit seinen Protagonisten .

Siehe 37 Fotos

Travelling Bibliophilia: die schönsten Buchhandlungen der Welt

DER URSPRUNG DER MADRID BOOK FAIR

Die Madrider Buchmesse wird 85 Jahre alt, wie es Yoko Ono und Roman Polanski getan haben, aber sie wurde nur 77 Mal abgehalten. Er wurde am 23. April 1933 im republikanischen Spanien von Alcalá Zamora geboren, als sich 20 Verlage auf der linken Seite von Recoletos an ihren jeweiligen Ständen versammelten.

Bücher mit einem Wert von 43.339, 75 Peseten (eine Leistung in jenen Jahren) wurden in diesen farbigen Kabinen verkauft, in denen Lautsprecher installiert waren, um den Autoren des Augenblicks zuzuhören, die Verse und Redewendungen rezitierten.

77 ediciones dan para mucha feria

77 Ausgaben sorgen für viel Fairness © Foto von freddie marriage on Unsplash

Der Erfolg der ersten Ausgabe war so groß, dass im darauffolgenden Jahr beschlossen wurde, Mexiko ins Visier zu nehmen, um es international zu stärken. Die Bedeutung der Sprache wurde immer deutlicher und hinterließ ihre Spuren in den folgenden Jahren, bis der Bürgerkrieg 1936 ausbrach .

Wir würden die Buchmesse erst 1944 unter dem Namen der Nationalen Buchmesse haben, wodurch die besondere Diktatur deutlich wird. In diesen Jahren reiste die Messe in verschiedene Städte und ließ sich 1946 und 1952 in Barcelona und 1948 in Sevilla nieder .

Während des Jahrzehnts der 50er Jahre wurden verschiedene Initiativen ins Leben gerufen, wie zum Beispiel, jeden Messetag einem bestimmten Genre zu widmen, das bereits die Zahl von einhundert Ständen überstieg.

Cuesta Moyano: la feria permanente

Cuesta Moyano: die Dauerausstellung © Alamy

In den 60er Jahren zog die Buchmesse an ihren heutigen Standort, El Retiro (1967), und begann gleichzeitig, in anderen Provinzen organisiert zu werden. Dieses Wachstum hörte in den 70er Jahren nicht auf, als der Umsatz bereits 37 Millionen Peseten (222.000 €) überstieg, und suchte aus Platzmangel nach neuen Standorten.

1979 hatte er die fatale Idee, die Messe in das Country House zu verlegen, ein Misserfolg, der die Messe nur ein Jahr später in den El Retiro Park zurückbrachte.

Die 80er Jahre brachten den Namen der Madrider Buchmesse auf die Veranstaltung zurück und brachten das Königshaus zur Eröffnungsfeier .

In den 90er Jahren erscheinen die ersten Webseiten, die der Buchmesse gewidmet sind, und das „meistverkaufte“ Fieber, das den literarischen Geist so verdunkelt hat, beginnt.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung der Madrider Buchmesse (@ferialibromadrid) am 27. April 2018 um 16:21 Uhr PDT

Die Ankunft des neuen Jahrtausends bewirkt eine tierische Veränderung auf der Messe. Kulturelle Aktivitäten multiplizieren sich.

In Madrid wurde die Buchmesse bereits als etwas sehr viel von hier assoziiert, was viel über die Bräuche der Stadt aussagt. Obwohl wir zwischen Licht und Schatten reisen.

Prominente der Couché-Zeitung und Stars sozialer Netzwerke erwecken die Aufmerksamkeit der Leser zum Nachteil etablierter Autoren und Romanautoren, die einen Platz in der Verlagswelt suchen.

Aber das sollten die Standbesucher in diesem Jahr sagen.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung der Madrider Buchmesse (@ferialibromadrid) am 25. Mai 2017 um 10:51 PDT

Gema Nieto: aus Rumänien mit Liebe

Gema nieto ist eine unruhige Madrilene, die an der Complutense-Universität einen Abschluss in spanischer Philologie und Theorie der Literaturwissenschaft und Vergleichenden Literaturwissenschaft besitzt .

Gegenwärtig arbeitet er in der Verlagswelt und arbeitet in Magazinen mit. Er schreibt Artikel über Bücher, Comics und Videospiele. Sein erster Roman , Belonging, erschien 2016 bei Trojan Horse bei Alberto Olmos.

In diesem Jahr wird Gema keine Kopien seines Romans signieren, obwohl er uns mitteilt, dass sein zweiter Roman in Kürze von Dos Moustaches veröffentlicht wird.

"Mitgliedschaft" im Schaufenster von @Fnac_ESP in Callao. Lauf, Idioten, sie rennen raus! @CaballoTroyaEd pic.twitter.com/XGC0rN58EP - Gema Nieto (@ GemaNieto81) 18. Februar 2016

Das Gastland der Messe wird Rumänien sein, das Zeugnis dafür, dass Portugal im vergangenen Jahr abgereist ist. Das rumänische Kulturinstitut hat Nieto gebeten, an zwei der von ihm organisierten Aktivitäten teilzunehmen (über die er sich freuen wird), und zwar am Montag 4 bei der Vorstellung des Buches Sick Relationships von Cecilia Stefanescu und am Mittwoch 6 bei der Moderation eines runden Schreibertisches Rumänen, die in unserem Land veröffentlicht haben.

Während seiner ersten Jahre in der Verlagswelt arbeitete er einige Wochenenden an den Ständen der Messe, begleitete Autoren, empfahl Bücher oder diente der Öffentlichkeit . Für sie ist die Buchmesse ein guter kultureller Anspruch und das sagt viel über Madrids Liebe zu Büchern aus, obwohl es auch Schatten gibt, die auf bestimmte rein kommerzielle Interessen, Übersättigung des Verlagsmarktes, Show und berühmte Leere zurückzuführen sind.

Zweifellos ist die Buchmesse für Nieto ein idealer Treffpunkt zwischen Schriftstellern, Verlegern und Buchhändlern, an dem Sie Bekannte begrüßen, Bücher empfehlen und interessante Aktivitäten durchführen können, um auch die Kleinen zum Lesen zu bringen.

„Wenn ich so kritisch bin, dann gerade deshalb, weil ich möchte, dass die Messe ihren ursprünglichen literarischen und kulturellen Charakter wiedererlangt und Prominente und junge Leute vergessen. Hoffentlich waren die meistverkauften Bücher diejenigen, die dazu beitragen, echte Literatur zu lieben, die uns trifft und uns nicht gleichgültig lässt, die uns Fragen stellt, lernt, denkt und hinterfragt, und nicht diejenigen, die die Leser davon abbringen um sie zwischen giftigen oder harmlosen Seiten unterzubringen “, erklärt Nieto.

Ein essentielles Buch für Gema Nieto? Der Lärm und die Wut von William Faulkner.

EIN MÄDCHEN-PRODIGIO: SABINA URRACA

Schriftsteller und Journalist, arbeitet mit unzähligen Medien zusammen. Er gab (und gibt) Schreibworkshops in La Casa Encendida und Fuentetaja . Anlässlich der Buchmesse veröffentlichte er 2017 seinen ersten Roman, Las Prodigio Girls, herausgegeben von Fulgencio Pimentel . Jetzt geht die Errabunda . Erste iberische Abhandlung über heterodoxe Therapie, herausgegeben von Lindo & Espinosa, einer Anthologie mehrerer Autoren, an der er beteiligt ist. Derzeit schreibt er sein zweites Buch.

Das erste Erlebnis auf der Buchmesse war für Sabina sehr intensiv. Er nahm sich die Zeit, um mit der unverzichtbaren Begleitung seines Hundes Fotos aus seiner besonderen Perspektive zu machen. Und er signierte viele Exemplare, vielleicht mehr als er erwartet hatte.

„Das Gefühl, auf der Messe zu unterschreiben, insbesondere als erst kürzlich veröffentlichter Schriftsteller, ist merkwürdig: Es stellt sich plötzlich heraus, dass alle unbekannten Personen, die plötzlich am Stand auftauchen, Ihr Buch gelesen haben oder lesen, oder Er ist dabei, es zu lesen. Ich erinnere mich, dass dieses Gefühl mir ständige Nerven verursachte, ein seltsames Gefühl, wie Hilflosigkeit. Ich habe nachts schlecht geschlafen. Wie würde ich schlafen gehen, wenn vielleicht gerade Leute mein Buch lesen würden? Es wäre, als hätte man geschlafen, während mich jemand Unbekanntes anstarrte “, sagt der Autor.

Sabina Urraca

Sabina Urraca © Cami Vidal Escobar

Für Sabina ist die Madrider Buchmesse immer noch ein Spiegelbild unserer selbst: „ Was es gibt, ist die Liebe zum Brauchtum, zum Gehen, zum Vorbeischauen an den Orten, die wir bereits kennen, die Freude am Ritual eines jeden sich wiederholendes Jahr Und das ist manchmal sehr schön und schafft sehr schöne Dinge wie die Buchmesse “, erklärt er.

Tatsächlich ist das Gefühl der ständigen Bewegung von Menschen, die sich an den Orten umsehen, und das beginnende Interesse an den Büchern möglicherweise ein Zeichen der Gesundheit in unserer Literatur für sie.

Die Wunderkindermädchen, die dieses Jahr auf der Messe unterschreiben, sind eine Arbeit, in der Sabina alles Wunderbare und Dunkle im Leben eines Menschen zeigen will, der von außen überhaupt nicht zu glänzen scheint.

Ein essentielles Buch für Sabina Urraca? Die vollständigen Geschichten von Lydia Davis (Seix Barral).

'Las niñas prodigio' de Sabina Urraca

'Die Wunderkindermädchen' von Sabina Urraca © Sabina Urraca

DIE SCHRIFTLICHE NEUE: JOHAN VARÓ

Onubense lebt in Madrid. Er absolvierte ein Jurastudium und spezialisierte sich dann auf Wirtschaftsrechtsberatung an der Universität Carlos III. Schon in jungen Jahren war sein Weg mit der Literatur verbunden, als er Kurzfilme , Kurzgeschichten und Zeitungen schrieb .

„Ich habe schon immer gern geschrieben, obwohl ich nie ernsthaft über das Veröffentlichen nachgedacht habe, bis ich mehr als einen halben Roman geschrieben hatte, habe ich dann angefangen, über die Möglichkeit nachzudenken“, sagte der junge Mann.

Und gerade anderthalb Monate nach dem Verkauf seines ersten Romans ist er bereits auf dem Weg zur zweiten Auflage und bedankt sich bei dem Verlag Max Estrella, der ihm die Gelegenheit dazu gegeben hat.

Die verborgene Sprache der Wellen ist sein erster veröffentlichter Roman. „Es ist ein Roman, der zwischen Tragik und Romantik schwankt . Eine Arbeit, die von einigen Lesern als 'notwendig' beschrieben wurde. Ich wage es nicht zu sagen, dass es notwendig ist, aber ich würde es wagen sicherzustellen, dass es eine Geschichte ist, die niemanden gleichgültig lässt, nachdem ich sie gelesen habe, obwohl ich mehr als eine Geschichte sagen würde, dass es eine Reise ist, ein Weg zur inneren Entdeckung, Auf dem Weg zum Fortschritt “, sagt der Autor.

Außerdem kennzeichnet er seine Arbeit als unschuldig und gewagt, für alle Zuschauer geeignet, mit Charakteren, die ihre Spuren hinterlassen, als Bindeglied zur Gedankenfreiheit, zur Darstellung der schönsten Dinge und als Beispiel für die kulturelle und traditionelle Komplexität des Jahrhunderts in Die wir leben

Johan eröffnet auf der Buchmesse in der Überzeugung, dass dies eine großartige Gelegenheit ist, Titel zu bewerben, die aufgrund mangelnder Ressourcen weniger bekannt sind. „Aus meiner bescheidenen Perspektive denke ich, dass die großen Verlagsgruppen den Markt manchmal mit Büchern überfluten, die wenig oder gar nichts beitragen und deren Werbelawine Schattierungsarbeiten von unbekannten Autoren ergibt, die der spanischen Literatur einen großen Mehrwert bringen könnten und Sie verstehen es nicht, nur weil sie anonym bleiben “, sagt der junge Schriftsteller.

Ein essentielles Buch für Johan? Das Porträt von Dorian Gray von Oscar Wilde.

Eine gemeinsame Veröffentlichung von? READER? (@librosconsentido) am 22. Mai 2018 um 10:26 PDT

* Feiern Sie die Buchmesse mit Condé Nast Traveller: Verwenden Sie den Code SOYLECTOR und erhalten Sie bis zum 10. Juni 40% Rabatt auf Zeitschriftenabonnements

Siehe 37 Fotos

Travelling Bibliophilia: die schönsten Buchhandlungen der Welt