The other version of the ultramodern Singapore you don't know

Anonim

Reading time 3 minutes

Tall buildings, ultramodern, traffic and almost spaceships … is that your image of Singapore? Leave stereotypes behind because this photographer is going to show you another face of the country, the one that has fallen in love with hundreds of people and that has positioned it as one of the best countries to live in and where the expatriates are happiest. Why will it be?

Mystical, colorful, delicate, calm, sensitive, ect. We could never finish describing Nguan's photography, which he not only collects on his Instagram with 138 thousand followers but also in a book "Singapore" book by Nguan . And in exhibitions all over the world, a job and a love for photography that he describes as "compulsive" for 15 years.

Recoge sus fotografía en el libro 'Singapore' book by Nguan.

He collects his photography in the book 'Singapore' book by Nguan. © Nguan

His work in Asia is quite peculiar and unusual, we assume that he has received numerous awards and awards. He believes he offers a mystical and real version of his country.

“I use the methods of traditional street photography, but my photographs possess the qualities of the formal portrait. I think of all my photos as portraits, even if there are no people in them, ”he tells Traveler.es.

“I was not happy with the way Singapore is often portrayed in conventional narratives. It is usually described as a sterile, ultramodern city of glass and steel. My version of Singapore is a dream world where the harshness of reality continues to interfere, ”he describes.

A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Apr 22, 2018 at 3:48 PDT
A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Mar 2, 2018 at 7:05 PST

We can't stop looking at those teenagers eating noodles after school, the delicate flowers in spring, children dressed in uniforms and taken from a story of children's manga, the most crazy versions of human beings in urban art, colorful buildings and symmetrical … why does Singapore not seem the same now?

Nguan keeps the eastern part of the city, Geylang . “It's a fascinating mix of restaurants, temples and brothels. I have taken many photographs in the area, but unfortunately gentrification is infiltrating rapidly, ”he adds.

Because the bad thing about Singapore, for the photographer, is that everything is going too fast and perhaps the only way to stop time is through photography.

A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on May 11, 2017 at 11:04 PDT

“Many Singaporean people have thanked me for helping them appreciate their daily life and the surroundings. A large percentage of our population lives in high-rise public housing, and I don't think anyone has emphasized the beauty of this landscape… ”

And how beautiful the buildings are from the perspective of Nguan. A poetic perspective that comes as he says working as a footballer. Shooting only in the last 90 minutes of the day, when the sun is low and the world is shining.

Right now he is in New York, like every summer, doing a job on Coney Island, Times Square and Staten Ferry. While we wait for his version of the cosmopolitan New York we can dream of images like this one taken in Changi Beach, in which Nguan tries to capture one of the main features of the Singaporeans: his wandering heart and the desire to be in a different place and time.

A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Jul 22, 2017 at 11:08 PDT
A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Nov 9, 2016 at 5:01 PST
A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Jan 17, 2018 at 12:29 PST
A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Nov 5, 2017 at 12:28 PDT
A shared post by Nguan (@_nguan_) on Jan 9, 2018 at 12:56 PST

Die andere Version des ultramodernen Singapurs, die Sie nicht kennen | Erfahrungen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 3 Minuten

Hohe Gebäude, hochmodern, Verkehr und fast Raumschiffe ... ist das Ihr Bild von Singapur? Lassen Sie Klischees hinter sich, denn dieser Fotograf zeigt Ihnen ein anderes Gesicht des Landes, das sich in Hunderte von Menschen verliebt hat und das es als eines der besten Länder zum Leben positioniert hat und in dem die Auswanderer am glücklichsten sind. Warum wird es sein?

Mystisch, farbenfroh, zart, ruhig, einfühlsam, ect. Wir konnten Nguans Fotografie, die er nicht nur auf seinem Instagram mit 138.000 Followern sammelt, sondern auch in einem Buch "Singapore" von Nguan beschreiben . Und in Ausstellungen auf der ganzen Welt ein Beruf und eine Liebe zur Fotografie, die er seit 15 Jahren als "zwanghaft" bezeichnet.

Recoge sus fotografía en el libro 'Singapore' book by Nguan.

Er sammelt seine Fotografien im Buch "Singapore" von Nguan. © Nguan

Seine Arbeit in Asien ist ziemlich eigenartig und ungewöhnlich, wir gehen davon aus, dass er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise erhalten hat. Er glaubt, eine mystische und reale Version seines Landes anzubieten.

„Ich benutze die Methoden der traditionellen Straßenfotografie, aber meine Fotografien besitzen die Qualitäten des formalen Porträts. Ich stelle mir alle meine Fotos als Porträts vor, auch wenn sich keine Menschen darin befinden “, erzählt er Traveler.es.

„Ich war nicht zufrieden mit der Art und Weise, wie Singapur in herkömmlichen Erzählungen dargestellt wird. Es wird gewöhnlich als sterile, hochmoderne Stadt aus Glas und Stahl beschrieben. Meine Version von Singapur ist eine Traumwelt, in der sich die Härte der Realität weiterhin einmischt “, beschreibt er.

Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 22. April 2018 um 3:48 PDT
Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 2. März 2018 um 7:05 PST

Wir können nicht aufhören, diese Teenager zu betrachten, die nach der Schule Nudeln essen, die zarten Blumen im Frühling, Kinder in Uniformen und aus einer Geschichte über Kinder- Mangas, die verrücktesten Versionen von Menschen in urbaner Kunst, bunte Gebäude und symmetrisch ... warum scheint Singapur jetzt nicht dasselbe zu sein?

Nguan hält den östlichen Teil der Stadt, Geylang . „Es ist eine faszinierende Mischung aus Restaurants, Tempeln und Bordellen. Ich habe in der Gegend viele Fotos gemacht, aber leider dringt die Gentrifizierung immer schneller vor “, fügt er hinzu.

Denn das Schlechte an Singapur ist für den Fotografen, dass alles zu schnell geht und die einzige Möglichkeit, die Zeit anzuhalten, vielleicht die Fotografie ist.

Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 11. Mai 2017 um 11:04 PDT

„Viele Singapurer haben mir dafür gedankt, dass ich ihnen geholfen habe, ihr tägliches Leben und die Umgebung zu schätzen. Ein großer Prozentsatz unserer Bevölkerung lebt in öffentlichen Hochhäusern, und ich glaube, niemand hat die Schönheit dieser Landschaft hervorgehoben… “

Und wie schön die Gebäude aus der Sicht von Nguan sind. Eine poetische Perspektive, wie er sagt, als Fußballer zu arbeiten. Schießen Sie nur in den letzten 90 Minuten des Tages, wenn die Sonne tief steht und die Welt scheint.

Wie jeden Sommer ist er in New York und arbeitet auf Coney Island, dem Times Square und Staten Ferry. Während wir auf seine Version des kosmopolitischen New York warten, können wir von Bildern wie diesem in Changi Beach träumen, in denen Nguan versucht, eines der Hauptmerkmale der Singapurer einzufangen: sein wanderndes Herz und den Wunsch, an einem anderen Ort und zu einer anderen Zeit zu sein.

Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 22. Juli 2017 um 11:08 PDT
Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 9. November 2016 um 5:01 PST
Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 17. Januar 2018 um 12:29 PST
Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 5. November 2017 um 12:28 PDT
Ein geteilter Beitrag von Nguan (@_nguan_) am 9. Januar 2018 um 12:56 PST