La Colombe d'Or, the favorite restaurant and hotel of Picasso and Miró on the Côte d'Azur

Anonim

Reading time 4 minutes

Summer 1949. Actress Simone Signoret spends a quiet holiday with her husband, director Yves Allégret, in St. Paul de Vence, a small town that climbs a hill in the Maritime Alps, between Nice and Cannes. They are staying in the most chic hotel of the place and of the entire French coast, Picasso, Chagall and Matisse said before this French cinema lady, La Colombe d'Or. Nearby, a potential gala star, Yves Montand, is invited to a dinner there by his friend, the writer Jacques Prévert. Yes, the French intelligentsia loves this corner of the Côte d'Azur. They say it was love at first sight. Simone Signoret and Yves Montand met in the halls of La Colombe, maybe they walked around their pool and fell in love. Two years later they married in that same town and would return dozens of times to the place that joined them. There, perhaps, she forgot about his sonic affair (which included Marilyn Monroe).

La Colombe d'Or

Almost 100 years of history. © @ Jacques Gomot

Like this one, there are a thousand stories between the walls of La Colombe d'Or (The golden dove). Some known, many, sure, secret. Today, almost a century after its opening as Chez Robinson in 1920, this hotel and restaurant continues to witness romances and friendships, visits by geniuses and artists. Now it is no longer a refuge for French icons, but worldwide.

Its proximity to Cannes makes it a favorite destination restaurant for all the stars that go through the Film Festival every May for 71 years. From Tarantino to Brad Pitt. From Paul Newman to Sophia Loren. "It is the most chic brothel on the Côte d'Azur, " his parishioners say with irony, for those idylls to which they invite their stone walls that were once the walls of a castle in Aix-en-Provence.

Chez Robinson was, during the 20s, a café bar with a terrace where the neighbors would dance on weekends. The success made its owners, Paul Roux and his wife Baptistine, "Titine" think , that they should expand it. Thus La Colombe d'Or was born in 1931, just outside St. Paul de Vence, as a restaurant and three-room inn that housed "horses, men and painters." La Colombe d'Or

Picasso paid with his paintings. © Jacques Gomot

Roux, son of a farmer, was a great fan of art. “He was a self-taught and a man of charming enthusiasm who, having started buying works, did not hesitate to offer accommodation to some painters in exchange for his work, ” says Martine Assouline in the book La Colombe d'Or (1995).

During World War I, many artists protected themselves on the Cote d'Azur and there was Paul Roux to give them shelter and food in exchange for a painting, a sculpture. The first to arrive were Georges Braque, Fernand Léger and an old Henri Matisse.

Matisse did not even enter La Colombe. He came with his limousine to his door and asked Paul to have tea with him in the car.

La Colombe d'Or

Fernand Léger mural in the garden. © La Colombe d'Or

With World War II, regular customers were made Joan Miró, Marc Chagall, César Baldaccini … They paid for their stays or their meals with pictures. Paul Roux wanted it that way. And all those paintings now decorate the walls of the main hall, of the hallways. You can dine under a Miró, next to a Braque and a Chagall, and lie on the edge of the pool in the shadow of a Calder cell phone and under the watchful eye of the mosaic of Léger.

Picasso was the only one in all the times he was there and, despite his friendship with Paul Roux, he had never paid 'in spices'. But that changed the day Roux got very sick, his wife then claimed the picture he had always promised. He offered them three and Paul chose The Vase that hangs proudly in the restaurant today.

La Colombe d'Or

Alain Delon in the 60s: Cannes and La Colombe was and is the plan. © Jacques Gomot

The 1960s was the beginning of La Colombe's success as a refuge for movie stars when they passed through Cannes or simply the Cote d'Azur: Chaplin, Orson Welles, Sophia Loren, Paul Newman, Alain Delon and Romy Schneider and Simone Signoret and Yves Montand, of course. Also there have been writers (James Baldwin, Simone de Beauvoir and Sartre), architects (Jean Nouvel), musicians (Elton John) …

Francis Roux, the son of Paul and Titine, took the reins of La Colombe and had to spend one of the worst nights in the history of the place when, in 1959, he woke up and all the works of art had disappeared … except a Chagall. The artist was the next day, angry that they had not appreciated his work as to steal it. Luckily, everything appeared again.

La Colombe d'Or

A Calder in the pool, hopefully! © La Colombe d'Or

Today, La Colombe d'Or is still run by the Roux family, the third generation. François and his wife Daniele, maintain the charm of the place where artists and curious people continue to go. And they continue to collect art, Sean Scully's sculpture near the pool has been his last acquisition.

Dining there is still a great experience for the stories, romances and friendships that have occurred there and for a market menu that goes from vegetable entrees and marinades to blunt meat stews. You can also stay at the hotel (which only closes between October 22 and December 22), it is no longer a three-room inn, but a boutique of 25, where you will sleep where the geniuses of the twentieth century slept.

La Colombe d'Or

Joan Miró, another regular from La Colombe. © Jacques Gomot

La Colombe d'Or, das beliebteste Restaurant und Hotel von Picasso und Miró an der Côte d'Azur | Erfahrungen 2020

Anonim

Lesezeit 4 Minuten

Sommer 1949. Die Schauspielerin Simone Signoret verbringt einen ruhigen Urlaub mit ihrem Ehemann, Regisseur Yves Allégret, in St. Paul de Vence, einer kleinen Stadt, die auf einem Hügel in den Seealpen zwischen Nizza und Cannes liegt. Sie wohnen im schicksten Hotel des Ortes und der gesamten französischen Küste, sagten Picasso, Chagall und Matisse vor dieser französischen Kinodame, La Colombe d'Or. In der Nähe wird ein potenzieller Galastar, Yves Montand, von seinem Freund, dem Schriftsteller Jacques Prévert, zu einem Abendessen eingeladen. Ja, die französische Intelligenz liebt diese Ecke der Côte d'Azur. Sie sagen, es war Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Simone Signoret und Yves Montand trafen sich in den Hallen von La Colombe, vielleicht gingen sie um ihren Pool herum und verliebten sich. Zwei Jahre später heirateten sie in der gleichen Stadt und kehrten dutzende Male an den Ort zurück, an den sie gekommen waren. Dort vergaß sie vielleicht seine Sonic-Affäre (zu der auch Marilyn Monroe gehörte).

La Colombe d'Or

Fast 100 Jahre Geschichte. © @ Jacques Gomot

So gibt es tausend Geschichten zwischen den Mauern von La Colombe d'Or (Die goldene Taube). Einige bekannt, viele sicher, geheim. Heute, fast ein Jahrhundert nach seiner Eröffnung als Chez Robinson im Jahr 1920, ist dieses Hotel und Restaurant immer noch Zeuge von Romanzen und Freundschaften, Besuchen von Genies und Künstlern. Jetzt ist es kein Refugium mehr für französische Ikonen, sondern weltweit.

Die Nähe zu Cannes macht es zu einem beliebten Zielrestaurant für alle Stars, die 71 Jahre lang jedes Jahr im Mai die Filmfestspiele besuchen. Von Tarantino nach Brad Pitt. Von Paul Newman bis Sophia Loren. "Es ist das schickste Bordell an der Côte d'Azur", sagen seine Gemeindemitglieder ironisch für jene Idyllen, zu denen sie ihre Steinmauern einladen, die einst die Mauern eines Schlosses in Aix-en-Provence waren.

Chez Robinson war in den 20er Jahren eine Café-Bar mit einer Terrasse, auf der die Nachbarn am Wochenende tanzen konnten. Der Erfolg veranlasste seine Besitzer, Paul Roux und seine Frau Baptistine "Titine", zu der Überlegung , dass sie es erweitern sollten. So wurde La Colombe d'Or 1931 vor den Toren von St. Paul de Vence als Restaurant und Gasthaus mit drei Zimmern geboren, in denen "Pferde, Männer und Maler" untergebracht waren. La Colombe d'Or

Picasso bezahlte mit seinen Gemälden. © Jacques Gomot

Roux, der Sohn eines Bauern, war ein großer Kunstfan. "Er war ein Autodidakt und ein Mann mit charmanter Begeisterung, der, nachdem er begonnen hatte, Werke zu kaufen, nicht zögerte, einigen Malern im Austausch für seine Arbeit eine Unterkunft anzubieten", sagt Martine Assouline in dem Buch La Colombe d'Or (1995).

Während des Ersten Weltkriegs schützten sich viele Künstler an der Côte d'Azur, und Paul Roux bot ihnen Schutz und Nahrung im Austausch für ein Gemälde, eine Skulptur. Die Ersten, die ankamen, waren Georges Braque, Fernand Léger und ein alter Henri Matisse.

Matisse betrat nicht einmal La Colombe. Er kam mit seiner Limousine an seine Tür und bat Paul, mit ihm im Auto Tee zu trinken.

La Colombe d'Or

Fernand Léger Wandgemälde im Garten. © La Colombe d'Or

Mit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden Stammkunden zu Joan Miró, Marc Chagall, César Baldaccini gemacht ... Sie bezahlten ihren Aufenthalt oder ihr Essen mit Bildern. Paul Roux wollte es so. Und all diese Gemälde schmücken jetzt die Wände der Haupthalle, der Gänge. Sie können unter einem Miró neben einem Braque und einem Chagall speisen und am Rand des Pools im Schatten eines Calder-Handys und unter dem wachsamen Auge des Mosaiks von Léger liegen.

Picasso war der einzige in all den Zeiten, in denen er dort war, und trotz seiner Freundschaft mit Paul Roux hatte er nie mit Gewürzen bezahlt. Aber das änderte sich an dem Tag, an dem Roux sehr krank wurde. Seine Frau behauptete dann das Bild, das er immer versprochen hatte. Er bot ihnen drei an und Paul entschied sich für die Vase, die heute stolz im Restaurant hängt.

La Colombe d'Or

Alain Delon in den 60er Jahren: Cannes und La Colombe war und ist der Plan. © Jacques Gomot

Die 1960er Jahre waren der Beginn von La Colombes Erfolg als Zufluchtsort für Filmstars, als sie Cannes oder einfach die Côte d'Azur passierten: Chaplin, Orson Welles, Sophia Loren, Paul Newman, Alain Delon und Romy Schneider und Natürlich Simone Signoret und Yves Montand. Es gab auch Schriftsteller (James Baldwin, Simone de Beauvoir und Sartre), Architekten (Jean Nouvel), Musiker (Elton John) ...

Francis Roux, der Sohn von Paul und Titine, übernahm die Leitung von La Colombe und musste eine der schlimmsten Nächte in der Geschichte des Ortes verbringen, als er 1959 aufwachte und alle Kunstwerke verschwunden waren ... mit Ausnahme eines Chagall. Der Künstler war am nächsten Tag wütend, dass er seine Arbeit nicht als Diebstahl gewürdigt hatte. Zum Glück erschien alles wieder.

La Colombe d'Or

Hoffentlich ein Calder im Pool! © La Colombe d'Or

Heute wird La Colombe d'Or noch in dritter Generation von der Familie Roux geführt. François und seine Frau Daniele bewahren den Charme des Ortes, an den Künstler und Neugierige weiterreisen. Und sie sammeln weiterhin Kunst. Sean Scullys Skulptur in der Nähe des Pools war seine letzte Anschaffung.

Das Essen dort ist immer noch ein großartiges Erlebnis für die Geschichten, Romanzen und Freundschaften, die sich dort ereignet haben, und für ein Marktmenü, das von Gemüsespeisen und Marinaden bis hin zu stumpfen Fleischeintöpfen reicht. Sie können auch im Hotel übernachten (das nur zwischen dem 22. Oktober und dem 22. Dezember geschlossen ist). Es ist kein Gasthaus mit drei Zimmern mehr, sondern eine Boutique mit 25 Zimmern, in der Sie übernachten werden, wo die Genies des 20. Jahrhunderts geschlafen haben.

La Colombe d'Or

Joan Miró, ein weiterer Stammgast aus La Colombe. © Jacques Gomot